An accommodation form

An accommodation form

Learn how to fill in an accommodation preference form.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.


Reading text

University accommodation preference form

First name Lucy
Surname Watts
Student number S4085301
Gender female  
Date of birth 25/07/2000
Nationality British
Email address
Phone 0123 456 789

What type of accommodation would you prefer?

  • Single room with bathroom ✔
  • Single room with shared bathroom (with two or more other students)
  • Shared room (with one other student)
  • Family flat (adults __  children __)

Which location would you prefer?

  • On-campus ✔
  • Off-campus

Are you a smoker?

  • Yes
  • No ✔

Do you have any health needs that affect your housing request?

  • Yes ✔   (If yes, a university officer will contact you for more information.)
  • No

Please list your interests and hobbies, for example sport, music or other social interests. You can also say if you prefer to stay up late as this information may be useful when we are allocating rooms. Please note that we cannot guarantee we will be able to offer accommodation to match your preferences.

I played football for my sixth-form school and I am hoping to join a university team. I'm a morning person and I get up early to train and go to the gym. So I would prefer to share with other people who don't like late nights either! Also I am vegetarian and, if possible, I would prefer to share a kitchen with other non-meat eaters.


  1. If the form is on paper, write clearly. Use capital letters if your handwriting isn't clear.
  2. If there is not much space to write, make a list instead of writing full sentences.
  3. Check it. It's easy to make small mistakes!

Task 1

Task 2

Task 3


Worksheet129.34 KB

Language level

Average: 4.9 (9 votes)

Submitted by The Hung on Thu, 12/12/2019 - 07:36

I like playing football, this is my passion, so I prefer to share my apartment with another one who is interested in football too. Also, I don't smoke, therefore, I prefer sharing facilities with people who are a non-smoking person. I would like to have a roommate who is a foreigner because I'm an English learner, so I want to practice English as much as possible.

Submitted by Pacodelucia on Sat, 05/10/2019 - 17:18

Hi guys. I prefer to share facilities with other. I like to have many freinds with other culture and other personality. I think it's so funny:) I'm guitarist and it's so important that my flatmate to be a guitarist , because i practice allday long and it's a disaster for non musicians people. At the end i am applying for Concordia university for winter season and i am so excited :))))))

Submitted by brayan on Mon, 30/09/2019 - 01:39

I’m single person, I played football for the team of my country and I am hoping to study English in the university. I’m a clean person and like to spend time to reading books. So I wouldn’t like to share with other people who like play rugby. I love the noodles and I usually make it.

Submitted by aliyazdan on Sat, 28/09/2019 - 20:23

Hello evrybody I'm an early bird person, Then I prefer not to share night owl person. I'm interested in quiet Atmosphere then I'm not suitable case for noisy roommates. I don't smoking so I can't indure smokers.

Submitted by Dawn on Sun, 08/09/2019 - 05:52

Hello, Please could you correct my writing!! I prefer a single room off campus, because we spend a lot of time at university, so it is a little bit challenging if I live off campus. I don’t mind to share facilities, so we can try different kind of food. I am a non smoker, I hate smoke’s smell, I can’t even share facilities with smoking people. I like to go for a walk in nature and also I like to gather with my friends and have a drink once a week.
Profile picture for user Peter M.

Submitted by Peter M. on Sun, 08/09/2019 - 06:58

In reply to by Dawn


Hi Dawn,

Welcome to LearnEnglish! I'm afraid we don't correct users' writing on the site. I know it would be very useful but unfortunately we are a small team here and we have many thousands of users, so it's just not possible. We do try to answer all questions we get, however, and provide explanations where we can.



The LearnEnglish Team

Submitted by salehisalehi65 on Wed, 28/08/2019 - 04:21

i can say, i always spleep early and weak up morning and i like to walking, sometimes i smoke a sigrate but i prefer to avoid smoking people, i enjoy to have silent room but i have'nt problem with share facilities, and i loved with meat eatter and also like vegetarian, and finally i prefer to have a female flatmate if i force to choice a shared flat,

Submitted by Huyen on Mon, 26/08/2019 - 14:37

I like to share my room with non-talkative people. Because I want to live in a clean room, I don't want to share with careless people.
Profile picture for user TP

Submitted by TP on Sun, 18/08/2019 - 04:38

I don't mind sharing facilities and I'd like to request a shared room. I don't smoke, so I want non-smoking accommodation. I'm a morning person and get up early to do exercises. I don't stay up too late.