Professional profile summaries

Professional profile summaries

Read two professional profile summaries to practise and improve your reading skills.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and do the exercises.

Reading text


I am an architect with 20 years' experience of designing and developing spaces. I am a partner in the award-winning STG Architects Ltd, which is famous for its work on the Galroy Building in London. I enjoy working with people from all over the world and have international experience of working in Italy, Greece, Thailand, Australia and Brazil. I have a Master of Science from Sheffield University and a BA in Architecture from Hull University. I also speak Italian and Thai. When I am not working, I spend my time hiking, skiing and diving.


I am an experienced sales manager with 12 years' experience of developing customer service teams. I am skilled in negotiation, team motivation and building successful sales teams. After ten years of working in sales and customer service at Halo Bank, I am now the sales office manager of a team of 120 at Southern General Plastics Ltd. I have an MBA from Stanford University and a degree in Business Studies from Cornell University. I am creative and hardworking, and enjoy working with others.


Worksheet75.41 KB

Language level


Average: 4.6 (16 votes)

Submitted by R on Tue, 30/06/2020 - 16:44

I'm a university student, so I'm not working now. I belong to a foreign language department at university. I'm studying Chinese as a second foreign language as well as English. I just started studying Chinese and can only understand the basics. It's difficult to study Chinese, but it's very interesting. So when I get to work in the future, I want to get a job where I can make use of the foreign language I studied. I want to get a lot of knowledge at university and play an active role in work.

Submitted by NANAKA on Mon, 29/06/2020 - 14:20

Hello! Everyone. I'm a first-year university student. My field of study is literature and my major is foreign languages. I'm studying Korea as a second language. I'm having a hard time finishing homework, but I feel fulfilled everyday. Even though I have the qualifications, I can't actually use what I know. I'd like to improve my language ability, and work as a tour guide outside of Japan in the future. I'll keep getting better. Please root for me!!

Submitted by Yonemura Tomoya on Mon, 29/06/2020 - 09:19

Hello. I am a first year university student in Japan. I study some languages and other counties' culture. It is difficult, but also fun for me. My goal is to be able to speak some languages well, and to get a job that is useful for people. I am a first year student, so I don't have expriences at university. From now on, I want to exprience various things. When I choice a job three years leter, skills and exprience would be useful. I want to be cherish the present and work hard.

Submitted by Yuri Chida on Mon, 29/06/2020 - 08:29

I don’t have a job now because I am a student. I am studying English at university so I want a job which can make use of English in the future. Also, I would like to enjoy a job and work hard with others. I will describe what I learned and experienced up to now for example, I leaned English at university and I have been to study abroad. Also, I will describe my English skills for example, I can speak English, I am good at writing, I practiced listening to English and so on. I would a job that suit me.

Submitted by mahiro on Mon, 29/06/2020 - 06:48

This sentence summary that is sentence about work for each one. Maria is architect with 20 years' experience of designing and developing spaces. She is enjoys working with people from all over the world. She can speak two language. Emily is an experienced sales manager with 12 years' experience of developing customer service teams. She is skilled in negotiation, team motivation and building successful sales teams. She enjoy working with someone.

Submitted by Dilnoza Sulaymonova on Fri, 12/06/2020 - 08:44

I am an English teacher at Institute of Irrigation and Agriculture

Submitted by Sharif Tayyebi on Thu, 04/06/2020 - 14:02

I am an eight years experienced lecturer in the field of criminal law. I acted as a lecturer in many private universities and higher educational institutes. I have been a lecturer of human rights in an Institute since 2012, and I have worked as a lecturer of criminal procedure in two universities since 2015. Moreover, I am an assistant professor in another university where I have been there for four years, and lectured human rights and children delinquency. All these subjects are interesting for me and I love them. I have written a book which is about human rights. It published in 2017, and I hope that it will republish in the fall season of this year. I am hopefully waiting that my next book will publish next semester, which is about Criminal procedure of Afghanistan. I got my LLM in the field of political science and law from Kabul university and I have MA in Criminal Law. Best wishes, Tayyebi

Submitted by mouna99 on Tue, 19/05/2020 - 15:24

i don't have a job, I am a student

Submitted by Muhammad Bagir on Sun, 17/05/2020 - 04:47

I'm a fresh graduate of High School. During this pandemic, i can't get any job. So here I am, just lying on the bed, drink a cup of tea every day, and learn any skills that might be useful for my future.

Submitted by SAW on Tue, 05/05/2020 - 11:38

I am an engineer with 10years experience of site operation and inspection. I am now working in construction as an inspector. At the moment I have been working in a Japanese Consultant Company that it is constructed under the JICA Project. I enjoy site operation and site inspection. I have international experience like Singapore and Japan. I enjoy working in an international company with the foreigner because I can get skills and experience. I speak English and Burmese. I play football in my free time.