An accommodation form

An accommodation form

Learn how to fill in an accommodation preference form.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.


Reading text

University accommodation preference form

First name Lucy
Surname Watts
Student number S4085301
Gender female  
Date of birth 25/07/2000
Nationality British
Email address
Phone 0123 456 789

What type of accommodation would you prefer?

  • Single room with bathroom ✔
  • Single room with shared bathroom (with two or more other students)
  • Shared room (with one other student)
  • Family flat (adults __  children __)

Which location would you prefer?

  • On-campus ✔
  • Off-campus

Are you a smoker?

  • Yes
  • No ✔

Do you have any health needs that affect your housing request?

  • Yes ✔   (If yes, a university officer will contact you for more information.)
  • No

Please list your interests and hobbies, for example sport, music or other social interests. You can also say if you prefer to stay up late as this information may be useful when we are allocating rooms. Please note that we cannot guarantee we will be able to offer accommodation to match your preferences.

I played football for my sixth-form school and I am hoping to join a university team. I'm a morning person and I get up early to train and go to the gym. So I would prefer to share with other people who don't like late nights either! Also I am vegetarian and, if possible, I would prefer to share a kitchen with other non-meat eaters.


  1. If the form is on paper, write clearly. Use capital letters if your handwriting isn't clear.
  2. If there is not much space to write, make a list instead of writing full sentences.
  3. Check it. It's easy to make small mistakes!

Task 1

Task 2

Task 3


Worksheet129.34 KB

Language level

Average: 4.9 (9 votes)
Profile picture for user Red Sus

Submitted by Red Sus on Mon, 06/07/2020 - 11:49

- Shared room (with one other student) - Off-campus - No smoke I like to play videos game, do things on the computer, listen to music, and love to travel. My English is still not good, it’s better if my flatmates have the same level as me so we can practice together. I prefer to stay up late, so please allocate me with other people who have no problem with that. Also, I want the place to be quiet, people can listen to music but not too loud.

Submitted by Omer_moh on Mon, 29/06/2020 - 12:07

It is better to share accommodation with different nationality in order to know about their culture and their language.

Submitted by aml96 on Sat, 27/06/2020 - 17:27

i am Sudanese i want to live with Sudanese students i prefer single room with two or more student i want exercise by walking to university so i prefer off campus accommodation i am meat eater i prefer kitchen with other meat eater i am not smoker i would like to live with non smoke people i get up early i prefer share room with other don,t like night

Submitted by eshan.saif on Thu, 25/06/2020 - 18:07

As I'm trying to give up smoking that's why I would prefer to share a house or flat with a non-smoker guy. I have no problem with whether the mate is vegetarian or not because I'm am suitable with both of them. Besides, I would like a flat-mate who may come from different countries. I have another preference which is the mate should not to go to bed late as I am trying to make myself early-riser.

Submitted by Gehan on Thu, 04/06/2020 - 20:31

Since I am learning the English language, I prefer to share a house or flat with people from different countries that I can practice my English.

Submitted by Yusei Takechi on Wed, 03/06/2020 - 06:24

I have some requirements for sharing a house or flat with. Firstly, the people is friendly. That's why I think I can not endure the awkward space. If I share it with anyone, it would be better if I could have fun chatting. Secondly, people who do not eat much vegetables. I do not like vegetables so much I have a lot of likes and dislikes at this age. I especially hate eating vegetables, so I would like to share with people who eat only meat or hate vegetables. Finally, a people who is willing to smoke. I am a smoker. I would like to smoke in my spare time, when I would like to change my mind and to relax. However, if there were only people who couldn't smoke, I could stand it at all. In addition, there are some other small requirements. For example, someone who likes sports because I like playing soccer and tennis, people from different countries because I would like to get along with people from various foreigner, and a clean person because I am a clean freak, and so on. After all, I would like to share with people who are bright and friendly.

Submitted by Takaya on Wed, 03/06/2020 - 02:12

I don't smoke, so I prefer people who quit smoking. Also, I like cleanliness so I don't like people who don't tidy up the shared space. I can cook a little, so if anyone likes cooking, I would like to cook with them. I have a hobby of running, so I like people who have a hobby of running. I especially like those who like running shoes. I like people who run for the rest of their lives on holidays and in the morning. I'm in the morning, so I don't think I can live with someone who doesn't like getting up early. Since I go to bed early, it is impossible for me especially for nighttime people. I have experience of training camps, etc., but I do not even have the experience of living alone . I think it is difficult for me to live with someone else. Therefore, if you want to share and live, I would like to start with someone who you know and are close to. After that, I'd like to share and live with various people I like.

Submitted by Nanami Tsuchiya on Tue, 02/06/2020 - 18:56

I would like to share a house with people from different countries. I have three reasons. First, I want to be Japanese teacher so, if I am in the same room as people from different countries, I can teach Japanese. I can improve my skills that teaching Japanese for foreigners. Second, I want to make foreign friends. If I can make friends with foreigner, my English skills improve. The amount of conversation increases, especially my listening and speaking skills will be good. Not only that, but it should be also improve pronunciation. Finally, foreigners should let me learn the new way to see things through cross-cultural understanding. I have always been raised in Japan so, my way of thinking is only Japanese. I want to change that. I want to know way of thinking of people from different countries, because internationalization is progressing. I want to work with them that to learn by people from different countries in the future. To sum up, I would like to live with foreigns.

Submitted by jhn__26 on Tue, 02/06/2020 - 15:09

If I live in a house or flat with someone, I would like to share with non-smoker and people from different countries, and sensible people. First, I don't smoke, so I prefer someone in the room who doesn't smoke. If you're going to smoke outside, it's okay. Second, I want friends who from different countries. Of course, it's easier for people from my own country to speak, but I want to try to learn various languages. If I had come to study abroad, I would have spoken that language in class, but if I had spoken in my room with my roommate from the same country, it wouldn't mean anything to have come to study abroad. Finally, I prefer a sensible person. Because of, if I set rules among my roommates, I think roommates who will keep them is good. It's easier to spend time if the roommates keep your personal space.

Submitted by gachatama26 on Mon, 01/06/2020 - 16:08

 The experience of living with people other than family is so precious. Although not always, I think it may depend on the person who lives with us.  I have 2 important points to live with someone other than family. At first, I would like to share a house or a flat with someone who can talk about serious story like study, life, future and social issues. I think this point is the most important. Because living with someone other than family isn’t easy. So, someone who can talk about serious story is a very big existence for us.  Second, I would like to share a house or a flat with someone from different countries. Because I like to know and experience new things. And the experience will be for me to grow up as a human. Of course, living with someone from different counties will have some problems such as culture, religion and food. But I think it’s very important to accept them.  It’s important for us to experience of living with someone other than family. And then I believe the experience will be a big treasure of life. And accepting what we don’t like will also be an irreplaceable experience for us. So, I would like to share a house or a flat with someone!