An accommodation form

An accommodation form

Learn how to fill in an accommodation preference form.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.


Reading text

University accommodation preference form

First name Lucy
Surname Watts
Student number S4085301
Gender female  
Date of birth 25/07/2000
Nationality British
Email address
Phone 0123 456 789

What type of accommodation would you prefer?

  • Single room with bathroom ✔
  • Single room with shared bathroom (with two or more other students)
  • Shared room (with one other student)
  • Family flat (adults __  children __)

Which location would you prefer?

  • On-campus ✔
  • Off-campus

Are you a smoker?

  • Yes
  • No ✔

Do you have any health needs that affect your housing request?

  • Yes ✔   (If yes, a university officer will contact you for more information.)
  • No

Please list your interests and hobbies, for example sport, music or other social interests. You can also say if you prefer to stay up late as this information may be useful when we are allocating rooms. Please note that we cannot guarantee we will be able to offer accommodation to match your preferences.

I played football for my sixth-form school and I am hoping to join a university team. I'm a morning person and I get up early to train and go to the gym. So I would prefer to share with other people who don't like late nights either! Also I am vegetarian and, if possible, I would prefer to share a kitchen with other non-meat eaters.


  1. If the form is on paper, write clearly. Use capital letters if your handwriting isn't clear.
  2. If there is not much space to write, make a list instead of writing full sentences.
  3. Check it. It's easy to make small mistakes!

Task 1

Task 2

Task 3


Worksheet129.34 KB

Language level

Average: 4.9 (9 votes)

Submitted by Giahaitruong on Tue, 01/09/2020 - 17:04

On honest, I'm a vegetarian, a morning guy and a non-smoking person so I would like to share my accommodation with a person who like non-meat-eating and be able to wake up early to exercise with me. I'm also looking forward to live a optimistic and glass-half full person as we can talk about positive story.

Submitted by Matt18 on Mon, 24/08/2020 - 09:41

I'd rather have an ensuite room in a campus among the people because I would like to meet people and make a friend. I am an early bird person and go bed early as well. I would prefer share a kitchen with non smoker and healthy eater person. I am a computer user and I play music instrument too.

Submitted by shironeiko on Sun, 23/08/2020 - 08:57

If possible, I want to share room with a beautiful girl who do exercises everyday so I could be affected. About food, I don't like snack so it's better if her don't like it, too.

Submitted by Rinaa on Sun, 16/08/2020 - 22:15

I would like to have a Single room with a bathroom. I mind sharing facilities so I will request a room with no shared bathroom. I have a special need for the food, I'm allergic in nuts so I want to be sure, that my meals won't include any nuts ingredients. Usually, I stay up late because I study at night so I would like to share the apartment with someone who isn’t a morning person. I love swimming and I have a problem with my back pain, so I want to have access to the swimming pool. I'm ready to pay extra fees for the pool. I would like to share the apartment with non-smoking, reasonable, tidy and quiet flatmates.

Submitted by Venus on Sun, 09/08/2020 - 16:57

Being a respecting person of personal space myself, it is obvious that a talkative and nosy person will never be a suitable match as my flatmate. I believe that having a like-minded flatmate is just as valuable as finding a soulmate. A person who has a comfortable level of openness blended together with an appropriate amount of maturity to share the chores and stories is whom I am looking for.

Submitted by Phan Bao Dung on Tue, 04/08/2020 - 18:41

I like everything neat and tidy so I prefer to share my house or flat with other people the same as me. I only share the living room and the kitchen because all three bedrooms in the flat are en suite. I don't care if my roommate is a vegetarian or not, a night owl, or an early bird but necessarily a non-smoker. I hope my flatmates to be honest, friendly, diligent, and especially good at foreign languages. I can learn a lot of things from them.
Profile picture for user Monserrat HES

Submitted by Monserrat HES on Thu, 30/07/2020 - 00:28

I would like to share room with people from another countries that me. I like meeting people! I am not a smoker. So, I would like to share no smoke acommodation. I'm a morning person and I like to be alone. I want the place to be quiet.

Submitted by Mai Khin Nway Shein on Tue, 28/07/2020 - 06:55

I would like to share room or flat or house who has same characters with me if possible. I don't like those people who likes late night, I also don't like talkative people and I can't sleep if the light is on.
Profile picture for user Hennadii

Submitted by Hennadii on Fri, 17/07/2020 - 18:18

Eek! It's a tough question. I'm kind of introvert person so I'm not a pally kind of guy if you ask. No, I like to talk to someone, share some funny stuff or laugh at something but I like to be alone sometimes. I like reading or listening to music without anybody. So I glad I didn't share a room with someone in my university days. If I had to? Well, it's definitely should be a morning person, I get up quite early and it's good to feel comfortable and not trying to stay quiet. Non-smoker, of course. As for me, I'm a social smoker and can treat myself with a cigar in the company but I hate cigarette smoke. And of course, it must be someone with sense of humor. I can't share the room with someone boring ))