Understand your English level

Understand your English level

In this section, learn more about the different CEFR levels and what learners at each level can do.

What are the CEFR levels?

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is a way of describing language ability and is often used to help language learners choose learning materials and courses at the right level.

The CEFR has six levels, from A1 for beginners, up to C2 for users who are proficient in the language. For each level, the CEFR describes what a learner can do when speaking, reading, listening and writing in English. 

The British Council has produced a useful table for learners to understand the levels of British Council courses, the CEFR levels and different exams.

English levels

You can take our online level test to get an approximate indication of the English level you are working towards or completing. You can use the test result to help you find suitable learning materials or online courses at your level.

Choose a CEFR level