Listen to the film reviews to practise and improve your listening skills.

Do the preparation task first. Then listen to the audio and do the exercises.

Transcript

Obviously, this is the sequel to Fun in the City, which is a film I didn't like so it's fair to say my expectations were low. So, you could say I wasn't disappointed, as it met my expectations. It was awful! It was so awful, I'd rather not spend any more time on it by talking about it. But, that wouldn't be a film review and I think I owe you all a review to save you wasting your money going to see it.

So, it starts off with this big wedding scene. And, I won't go into why, but the whole scene is just there so they can make this one joke. It's not even a funny joke ... it's just, ah, it's just terrible. It's got nothing to do with the rest of the film. Anyway, it starts there. Then, instead of the characters and the plot staying in New York where the original film was set, one of them wins a ticket to India and decides to take all her friends. It's what directors do when they've run out of ideas … let's take our characters on tour!

Anyway, they gossip, cry and shop, and they repeat this until the end. No real people would ever act like this. I didn't have any sympathy for their problems or even care what happened to them. Don't go and see it, you'll only encourage them to make another sequel. The world doesn't need three of these films. Please save your money and go and see the other big film this week: Twilight Mirror.

So, if you're a fan of the book it's based on, you're probably as excited as I was about this. For everyone else, this is a film fans have been waiting ten years to see. I have to confess, I was a bit nervous. I'd seen the posters and they didn't look right. I didn't love them at all. And I wasn't sure about the actors they cast either. So I went in not sure what to expect. But … I loved it.

One thing I really liked about it was the pace. They went backwards and forwards between the real world and the computer world and it worked really well. The special effects brought the computer world to life and I totally believed in it. But, more than that, I felt emotionally connected to the story and the characters. The whole film worked on so many levels. It reminded me of going to the cinema as a child – how much fun that was. I can't recommend it enough.

Take your language skills and your career to the next level
Get unlimited access to our self-study courses for only £5.99/month.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet85.83 Ko

Language level

Soumis par danielbacelar le mer 17/11/2021 - 23:18

Permalien

I love watching movies, especially Pulp Fiction, yesterday I watched it for the eighteenth time.

Soumis par siddhuk le mar 19/10/2021 - 09:01

Permalien

The last movie I saw was "High School Musical The musical the holiday special". I watched this on Disney+ Hotstar, the Indian arm of Disney+. The production is really good even in midst of COVID-19. I felt sympathetic towards the cast of the TV series, especially emotional stories. There are a lot of songs

Soumis par Suraj paliwal le mar 12/10/2021 - 09:32

Permalien

My last film was one day ago. Film was based on true events. I like watch movies.

Soumis par Yureki_11 le mer 29/09/2021 - 22:56

Permalien

What was the last film you watched? What did you think of it?

The last film I watched was "Free Guy". This kind of science fiction movies are wondrous, so Free Guy shows us how artificial intelligence comes alive throught a game. The main caracther "Guy" is conscious about his own existence, and I believe it is one of my favorite ideas in film. However, "Free Guy" is a comedy movie with an amazing cast such as Ryan Reynolds that plays "Guy". This film is for everyone, so I recommend it to you.

Soumis par Abrarhussain le ven 10/09/2021 - 00:09

Permalien
The last film I watched was The Iron Man. This film is about a brave and strong man. He is never defeated and does not fear anything. He uses his power and strength in positive ways.

Soumis par Rehanh le mer 01/09/2021 - 14:12

Permalien
the last film that i have watched was about the war in the desert, The name of the movie is (expresstion) It was about a handsome man who had a mission in an Indian country, in the middle of the movie he has met a young man and got problems with him, to sum up, I really recommended this movie guys.

Soumis par GiulianaAndy le mer 04/08/2021 - 14:58

Permalien
Hello, excuse me, I have an jssu with the audio I can't hear anything when I click on play

Hello GiulianaAndy,

Are you still not able to hear the audio? I've just checked it and it works for me.

If you still can't hear it, I'd suggest trying a different browser or different device.

All the best,

Kirk

The LearnEnglish Team

Soumis par lucianocastle le sam 12/06/2021 - 21:39

Permalien
The last film I saw was "The woman in the window". It's a psychological thriller. The story centers around a woman who lives in a suburban home, which is agoraphobic taking medication, and suffers from anxiety due to an unexplained trauma. She is unable to go outside her home because of her phobia. Ironically enough she used to be a child psychologist. When a new family moves into her neighborhood in front of her house, she receives a visit from the family's teen son, which shows unusual behavior. After that, she receives another visit from a strange woman! Due to her mental state, she can't help but start spying on the new strange neighbors. This causes her to observe an awful event! The movie keeps you guessing all the time if what she's seeing is real or if she is hallucinating it all. Great acting by the lead role and a superb supporting cast makes this a must for psychological thriller lovers. I loved it, and I highly recommend it!

Soumis par Antoni Luna le lun 17/05/2021 - 21:08

Permalien
The last film I watched was Oxygene, a drama thriller about a woman who wake up inside a capsule and doesn't have a way to get out. At a general point it doesn't look like an interesting trama, but when the story begins it encourage you to keep on there. The plot is sorprising interesting and with so much suspense on what's happening. I really recommend it.

Soumis par German le mar 04/05/2021 - 03:19

Permalien
The last movie that I watched was Soul (A disney movie). I had expectactative about this film because I had references that it was a good movie, but, I have to say that actually I don´t seem it so good. I think that its message is a message that is in another movies and hence for me, this movie wasn´t diferent than others.

Soumis par cesar_alex le ven 09/04/2021 - 05:45

Permalien
In the last sentence of the transcript, it should go "can" instead of "can't", this makes sense of the paragraph.

Hi cesar_alex,

Actually, this is a fixed phrase: I can't recommend it (highly) enough. The meaning is that the film was so good that no matter how much I recommend it, it's not sufficient to show how good the film was (i.e. the film was better than I am able to describe). It doesn't mean 'I can't recommend it' :) 

Does that make sense?

Jonathan

The LearnEnglish Team

Soumis par Mari Dyrko le dim 07/03/2021 - 16:31

Permalien
Hello friends. The last thing I have watched is not a film but a series. I want to share with you the feelings, experiences and life of this series, which has been going on for over 15 years. I will even say more, few people are able to keep such a bar and not fall during this time ... A story about two brothers who fought against evil. Their acting struck to the depths of the soul. At first I watched him through my favorite actor - Jenson Ackles. This series was a certain mainstream. each series was filled with an interesting idea, and the realization of all the props and scenes was impressive. Its name is “Supernatural”. «Supernatural ”is a cult American TV series from 2005 to 2020, which combines elements of mysticism, drama, detective and horror. I highly recommend watching it.

Soumis par Olenka Hruba le jeu 04/03/2021 - 19:12

Permalien
The last film I saw "The Holiday". This film is a romantic comedy. Besides this film is about two women who do not know each other, living 10,000 kilometres apart, find themselves in a similar situation. But they find each other: on the Internet, on a vacation housing exchange site. Before Christmas, Iris and Amanda decide to take a break from their problems and agree to swap continents and live in each other's house for two weeks. Iris moves to Amanda's house in a sunny California, and Amanda arrives in the snow-covered English countryside... And each of them meets her Christmas in her new place. If you are sad on Christmas evenings I recommend you to watch this movie, it will cheer you up and the evening will not be so boring.

Soumis par iriska le jeu 04/03/2021 - 18:46

Permalien
Frankly, I`m so obsessed with watching movies and drama is my weak spot. The last film I watched was «Last Christmas». This touched my heart, made me smile, laugh and, yes, cry of course. There are some silly as well as far-fetched moments but generally it has special atmosphere of love and Christmas. This one more Christmas Eve is going to be usual for young Kate, a frustrated and pessimistic Londoner who works as an elf in a Christmas shop. She doesn`t expect sth special for this day. But things soon take a turn for the better when she meets Tom. If you`re fond of charming Emilia Clarke and charismatic Henry Golding you here. Kate begins to realize how to live happily and not to spend her life for silly fears. She has to make a choice to give her heart to kind and weird stranger or to stay in her own grey routine. This movie is light and tough for our emotional state at the same time but it teaches us to appreciate every moment of life.

Soumis par Roma Hrytsyshyn le jeu 04/03/2021 - 17:25

Permalien
The last film I watched was “Once upon a Time ... in Hollywood”. That was a genre of comedy and drama. From the very beginning, I didn't plan to watch the whole film in one sitting, I thought I would watch half an hour and then go to bed. But I didn't notice that a little more than an hour had passed! The story was about TV actor Rick Dalton in 1969 in Los Angeles and his backup Cliff Booth, and how they are moving through the film industry. That plot was based on real events because then the actress Sharon Tate was killed. Thus, the director of the film, Quentin Tarantino, decided to remake the ending of the real story and showed a different version of events. Acting, directing techniques, music - all at the highest level. Actors fitted their roles like never before. Besides, they were both ones of my favorites - Leonardo Di Caprio and Brad Pitt. In a nutshell, sometimes the plot of the film had a surprising twist and it was amusing and exciting at the same time. There were jaw-dropping and breathtaking pictures of the events. Especially I liked the director's style. It is a masterpiece of its kind. I definitely recommend watching this film once.

Soumis par Konsul Ann le jeu 04/03/2021 - 16:18

Permalien
My last film that has given me the creep is "Wonder". By genre, it's a drama. The film is based on a novel by writer Palacio. This is the story of a boy named Augustus who has a congenital disease called Collins' tricher syndrome. due to this disease he underwent 27 operations. The events unfold on how he first went to school. In my opinion, this film is very instructive and sincere. He teaches us how to communicate with people. THIS film will be close to everyone, because each character has their own problems that at least one person could have. A very good film that will make you cry and think about your life.

Soumis par Veronichka le jeu 04/03/2021 - 12:32

Permalien
The last film I watched was Me before you. This is a romantic drama. The plot is based on a book by English writer Jojo Moyes. According to the plot of the film, this is a story about Louisa Clark, who unfortunately lost her job and now she takes care of Will Traynor. Ну is paralyzed after a motorcycle accident. He no longer feels the joy of living , he hates himself and everyone around him and goes through each day doing nothing but taking his medicine. But when Louise appears in his home , she brings a new light to his life and the film shows how their relationship develops. The main role was played by Emilia Clarke - the well-known mother of dragons from the Game of Thrones series. I really like the way she expresses her emotions. During and after watching the movie in my eyes were tears. This is a fantastic love story, a story of the struggle between life and death, but unfortunately without a happy ending. Тhis film makes us think about how happy we are if we can see, hear, walk and feel. I experienced all the emotions of this film. And I recommend it to everyone who like to cry, as well as to those who love sensitive love stories that go through life's troubles.

Soumis par Adriana Botvynnyk le jeu 04/03/2021 - 08:12

Permalien
Hello, friends! Last time I saw a very interesting cartoon, "Soul". It’s a family cartoon, a little fantasy and an adventure. In the film’s plot, it is the story of a music teacher who had long dreamed of performing jazz music on the stage, and he got this chance. But after the accident, his soul is separated from his body and transferred to the Seminar "You" in which the souls develop. There he meets the soul 22 and teaches her how to live in the world around him. For me, this cartoon has become very instructive, because not every human being gives his or her right to life to another human being. After watching the cartoon, we should all think about the value of life.

Soumis par sone4ko345 le lun 01/03/2021 - 16:37

Permalien
The last time I watched Doolittle. This is a fantastic adventure comedy. The plot is based on a series of books by English writer Hugh Lofting. According to the plot of the film, this is a story about Dr. Doolittle, who can talk to animals. He lost his wife seven years ago and has been living with animals in his large house ever since. Only the illness of the young queen forces him to go in search of medicine, where he gets into various adventures. This film is suitable for both adults and children. In my opinion, this film teaches us love for animals and the ability to help other people, despite different life circumstances. If you love comedy and animals, this movie is for you.

Soumis par El Cuy Mágico le mer 03/02/2021 - 21:06

Permalien
Last movie I saw was “Dracula untold”. Even though I only could see a part I found it an entertaining movie. Despite of Its plot has a lot of fantasy I enjoyed it as I really like history and I found some historical references on it.

Soumis par kawa le dim 31/01/2021 - 11:23

Permalien
That last film I watched was Vikings. After seeing this film, I came to the idea that the directors are just trying to not finish the film so briefly and making a lot of episodes in order to earn more money: letting the watcher just see some character thinking over something. In other words, the most time of the film is spent on describing events and movements, wars between the fighters. they just allure the watcher and let him/her just wish to know what gonna happen in the next episode. Nevertheless, this film is really very suspenseful und highly recommended.

Soumis par Layria le mer 13/01/2021 - 19:52

Permalien
The last film I watched was Soul at Disney+. I really love the main character, he is so tender. It´s a about a musician who dies in a accident and has to teach a "little old soul" to find a purpose in the life. He thinks the most important achievement in life is to act in a concert, but the same experience in the sky makes him think different.The film is suitable for teenagers an adults and encourage you to see how important is to enjoy the life in every moment.

Soumis par Diogo1606 le sam 09/01/2021 - 23:16

Permalien
The last movie I watched was "Wonder Woman 1984". It is about Diana facing two villains: Max Lord and Cheetah. During the plot, Diana has to make a hard choice that in order to keep the world a better place. It hasn't much action, but I liked it anyway.

Soumis par cisem le dim 27/12/2020 - 17:19

Permalien
the last film is INCEPTION,yes ı know that lated for the watching but doesn' matter.Leonorda DiCaprio is perceftly actor.I admired him acting,good job.When you watch the film,we see that ,they are really work ,labored.If you didn't watching,you have to watch it!!!!!

Soumis par Asni le ven 04/12/2020 - 23:40

Permalien
What was the last film you watched? What did you think of it? The last film I watched was Sully. The film is based on Sully's autobiography Highest Duty, Sully is Chesley Sullenberger an American retired Air Force fighter pilot and airline captain. It was the American star Tom Hanks who played the role of Sully. In a nutshell, the film was about an emergency landing on the Hudson River, and the subsequent publicity and investigation to find out whether the pilot Sully was a real hero that could save all 155 passengers and crew lives or just an irresponsible pilot who risked many lives by making such a huge mistake, which obviouly would end his career.

Soumis par DJ Singh le mer 02/12/2020 - 05:39

Permalien
The last film I watched on my laptop was 500 days of summer, It was a good watch. The story is about a girl called Summer. She is very open-minded and knows what does she want. She doesn't want to get into a relationship and hurt someone's feelings because she believes relationships are messy. But eventually. On the other hand, her current boyfriend gone mad at her because he was serious about her. The story involves them, In the end, Summer marries to another guy because she felt that. That was a love story but not a happy love story. I recommend watching it once.

Soumis par javibuendi le jeu 19/11/2020 - 10:30

Permalien
The last thing I have watched is not a film but a series. It is called Queen´s gambit. You probably already know it, it is on Netflix. A good friend suggested me to watch it, because one of his favourite actresses appears in there. The girl in question is Anya Taylor-Joy, who I already knew from Split. Her performance is amazing, you do not even realise she is acting, and the plot is simply lovely, it reaches the bottom of your heart. If I were you, I could not wait to watch it. Cheers from Madrid.

Soumis par danisep le mer 18/11/2020 - 03:37

Permalien
The last film that I watched was Borat 2 I have never seen any movie from Borat but I really like it this one, some jokes I couldn't believe how they made all of those performances in front of strange people and looks funny and sometimes make me ponder about important issues. The movie is about a journalist who need to drop a present to trump or one of their close political friends so the govern of Kazakhstan thought in gift a monkey but the monkey was eaten by Borat's daughter… I’m writing and I’m laughing it seems so insane but it is fun, now available on prime video.

Soumis par Echo1 le sam 24/10/2020 - 10:04

Permalien
The last time I watched was just last night. It's a tv series called "The Good Place". I think this series is hilarious but at the same time, has a lot of moral everybody should learn.

Soumis par Chiara99 le ven 16/10/2020 - 14:51

Permalien
A few days ago i watched called "The bride's friend" , which it was so bored than I expected when I was watching the trailer. It talked about the distasters of one of the bride's friends and not of all of them. All in all, it got me a lauth.

Soumis par Hennadii le mar 15/09/2020 - 10:55

Permalien
The last film I watched was "The Favourite" by Yorgos Lanthimos. This film was released in 2018 and most of the critics think it was one of the best movies of the year. The film had 274 nominations in different Awards and won 119 of them. For example, Olivia Colman got her first Oscar as Best Actress and won the same category at BAFA. Almost every valued film festival gave at least one prize to "The Favourite". I think it speaks volumes. What about my impressions? I think the film is great. Despite the simple plot - two women: Lady Sarah (Rachel Weisz) and Abigail (Emma Stone) try to win the favour of Queen Anne (Olivia Colman). And they both down and dirty in their methods. A would like to say, all of them (I mean the main characters) played awesomely. And the others too, of course. The film director was careful in the casting so no one dropped from the film flow. And music! I think it's one of the most important keys to success. In this movie, it couldn't be better. Every single sound at the right time. Well, without spoilers, I strongly recommend you watch this film and you will find: good scenario, excellent cast, prominent directing, great music, awesome costuming, and convincing atmosphere of The Royal Court.

Soumis par Ramazan Altınışık le ven 04/09/2020 - 12:08

Permalien
"Runaway Jury" was the last film I watched. I watched it last week. It was related about justice system. The issue was that Should guns have been prohibited to carry in America. 15 person were chosen to be Jury in a case. The Claimant was a women whose husband has been shot with a gun. Defendant was a gun company which produces guns.

Soumis par DanielM le ven 28/08/2020 - 18:56

Permalien
The last movie that I remember that I saw was Harry Potter in a marathon of Harry Potter films, because I like these films because they convert a "normal" world together with one of magic and I also like that it has been a woman which wrote the books on which the film is based and the type of imagination and ability to illustrate it in a book.

Soumis par juanidkidkidk le ven 28/08/2020 - 15:04

Permalien
Nice tasks, my english teacher recommed this and is wonderful for study english

Soumis par fahri le sam 08/08/2020 - 18:04

Permalien
Dear team. From the lesson above. I think I owe you all a review to save you wasting your money going to see it. The question: What does it mean that sentence?? Especially 'I think I owe you' . Thank you very much for your answer

Hello fahri,

The phrase I think I owe you... means the same as I think I should give you... or I think you deserve...

 

 

Peter

The LearnEnglish Team

Soumis par Hai994 le dim 14/06/2020 - 02:27

Permalien
The last movie I saw is (1917), I loved the movie, It's about two British solider in the world war 1. I liked it because it makes you live with the characters. Also, the most impressive thing is they had taken the film in a single shot. I highly recommend you to see this movie.

Soumis par nona nasr le ven 12/06/2020 - 21:53

Permalien
Sorry I didn’t mention the movie it was titanic

Soumis par nona nasr le ven 12/06/2020 - 21:51

Permalien
I’ll talk about a film which I love it most , not last one I had seen ,because I affected by it very much As it was a real story as well the professional actors and huge production .I emotionally connected to all the events but I was sad about the ending nevertheless i saw that movie more than once.

Soumis par sandon71 le sam 30/05/2020 - 08:06

Permalien
The last movie I saw was Paddington 2. I was impressed by this movie because the characters were amazing, and the pace of the story keeps you on hold. The story talks about a bear ‘Paddington’ that lives in London. Paddington wants to buy a popup book for his aunt Lucy’s birthday but he doesn’t have enough money so he starts working as window cleaner. One day while he returns back home from work he sees stealings the book and tries to catch the thief. Unfortunately he has been arrested for the theft and the family tries to catch the real theft. But now I don’t want to spoiler the film to you. I can't recommend it enough!

Soumis par jazmin marquez le dim 24/05/2020 - 17:46

Permalien
The last movie I saw was Shutter Island. I was impressed by this movie because the characters were amazing, and the pace of the story keeps you on hold. , the story talks about the internal conflict experienced by a man who is a psychiatric patient, on a personal level, the film affected me a lot since I have a brother with a mental disorder.

Soumis par rerre le mer 20/05/2020 - 20:21

Permalien
The last film I watched at the cinema was The Irishman. I had great expectations because of the cast and the director, and I bought the ticket two weeks before it went on, but it was so frustrating that I left the room after 90 min. It was time enough to understand that it was no originality at all and it had a boring plot that didn't trigger my interest in him. In fact, the film was nominated for many categories in the Oscar, but went home empty-handed... I'd like to ask a question: why does the reviewer say "I can't recommend it enough" in the end as she liked so much the second film? Thank you

Hello rerre,

The expression I can't recommend it enough is quite common in reviews. It means that however positive the reviewer is, the film is still better. In other words, it's impossible to exaggerate how good the film is.

 

Peter

The LearnEnglish Team

Thank you for your explanation! It's surprising that that expression has a positive meaning.