Listen to the film reviews to practise and improve your listening skills.

Do the preparation task first. Then listen to the audio and do the exercises.

Transcript

Obviously, this is the sequel to Fun in the City, which is a film I didn't like so it's fair to say my expectations were low. So, you could say I wasn't disappointed, as it met my expectations. It was awful! It was so awful, I'd rather not spend any more time on it by talking about it. But, that wouldn't be a film review and I think I owe you all a review to save you wasting your money going to see it.

So, it starts off with this big wedding scene. And, I won't go into why, but the whole scene is just there so they can make this one joke. It's not even a funny joke ... it's just, ah, it's just terrible. It's got nothing to do with the rest of the film. Anyway, it starts there. Then, instead of the characters and the plot staying in New York where the original film was set, one of them wins a ticket to India and decides to take all her friends. It's what directors do when they've run out of ideas … let's take our characters on tour!

Anyway, they gossip, cry and shop, and they repeat this until the end. No real people would ever act like this. I didn't have any sympathy for their problems or even care what happened to them. Don't go and see it, you'll only encourage them to make another sequel. The world doesn't need three of these films. Please save your money and go and see the other big film this week: Twilight Mirror.

So, if you're a fan of the book it's based on, you're probably as excited as I was about this. For everyone else, this is a film fans have been waiting ten years to see. I have to confess, I was a bit nervous. I'd seen the posters and they didn't look right. I didn't love them at all. And I wasn't sure about the actors they cast either. So I went in not sure what to expect. But … I loved it.

One thing I really liked about it was the pace. They went backwards and forwards between the real world and the computer world and it worked really well. The special effects brought the computer world to life and I totally believed in it. But, more than that, I felt emotionally connected to the story and the characters. The whole film worked on so many levels. It reminded me of going to the cinema as a child – how much fun that was. I can't recommend it enough.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet85.83 Ko

Language level

Upper intermediate: B2

Soumis par Angeles Verónica le mar 07/04/2020 - 11:48

Permalien
The last film I saw with my family in the cinema was "Dr. Dolittle 2".It's a cute, crude and good-hearted movie about a doctor who can listen and talk to the animals. It's a movie aimed at younger audiences who enjoy with cute animals, the simple plot ,wiithout deep study, and a broad humor along the movie. The main actor "Eddie Murphy" is funny and magic.

Soumis par SlarkCZ le lun 06/04/2020 - 11:54

Permalien
So this is good but I can not do the Task 1/2 and Trancsript. I do not know why I try it with out log in and with log in and on the mobile and I can not open it... But it is okay. I can talk about Marvel films I love them. Captain America and Guardians of galaxy everyone know this.. It is the best and Im waiting on new BlackWidow. It will be in April. But Im really scared I can not go to cinema because CO-VID19.

Hello SlarkCZ

I'm sorry for the inconvenience. I'd suggest updating the browser on your mobile and/or trying a different web browser. You could also try another device if that fails.

Hope this helps you.

All the best

Kirk

The LearnEnglish Team

Soumis par yoyoraw le ven 03/04/2020 - 14:43

Permalien
Actually its been along time since i watched a film, and the last one i remember watching is birdbox .It was quite good but i didnt like the ending scene i found it really boring .

Soumis par Amparo le sam 28/03/2020 - 11:46

Permalien
The last movie I saw was the constant gardener( el jardineri fiel) in my poin of view its a critica movie and hard , its agains with the companys of pharmacits. Its about an English gentel diplomatic who is sent it to the Kenyaan Embassy to work, he tooks his wife wiht him, her name is Tessa, and she is a tenacious activist that fights for the right of the poor peoples. she faind out a powerfull pharmacist firm (3 bees) is trailling a new drug amongst the Africans. She is more involved and she is murdered in a trip to the nort of Kenya and her husband dicided to uncover the truth behiind the dead of his wife, with no regards for the consequences.

Soumis par CamilaCoronel le mer 18/03/2020 - 21:24

Permalien
The last film that i saw, was ME BEFORE YOU. In my opinion, it was beautiful, fun and emotional. I love romantic movies and it met in my expectations. It had spectacular images and the actors got perfectly into the script. It also makes you reflect on topics such as how complicated life can be for a paralyzed person, how his personality changes, how his way of seeing life changes, how others react to seeing it and how love can change everything. This movie leaves a beautiful message.

Soumis par FrancoPresas le mer 18/03/2020 - 19:18

Permalien
The last movie that i watched was "Uncut Gems", produced and starring Adam Sandler. Unlike the usual comedies, in this film, the sensations of drama and suspense are increasing as the story progresses. Shows us what day-to-day of New Yorker jeweler is like, as greed floods the protagonist and thus alteers the rythim of thr film with a frenetic feeling of always betting on more without seeing the risks it brings to its customers, bussines, family and even its own existence. I love it.

Soumis par clramosm le mar 25/02/2020 - 23:56

Permalien
Hi everyone, The last movie that I watched was "The Two Pope". That movie take place in Vaticano, where the last Pope quitted to be a Christian church leader because he felt tired and exhausted. The story starts when the current Pope "Bendectico XVI" decides to give up. He called to cardinal who is against with her ideas. The name of the cardinal is Jorge Mario Bergolio. After the call, both talk about their life and problems that Christian church is facing. At the end, Jorge Bergolio become a new Pope despite of he wanted to retire to Christian church. To sum up, the story was adapted by director and is unreal. However, it was interesting because I could understand how is the life in Vaticano.

Soumis par fidaasiddig le dim 16/02/2020 - 19:13

Permalien
Hello Why she would say (that wouldn't be a film review if she going to say the review? I didn't get the idea of the sentence And another thing : hopefully explain (would )here grammatically? Thanks

Soumis par Kirk le lun 17/02/2020 - 06:30

En réponse à par fidaasiddig

Permalien

Hello fidaasiddig

Just before this, the reviewer says that the film was so bad that she doesn't want to speak about it any more. But then she says that if she stopped speaking about the film, she wouldn't be able to give a review of it, which is her purpose in this programme. Therefore she continues. Does that make more sense?

'wouldn't be a film review' is part of a second conditional structure. She means that if she stopped speaking about the film (which is not what she does, because she does continue speaking about the film), then her programme would not be a review.

I hope that clears it up for you, but please let us know if you have any further questions.

All the best

Kirk

The LearnEnglish Team

Soumis par Tracey le jeu 13/02/2020 - 15:08

Permalien
I recently saw the film Jojo Rabbit. It's a comedrama about nazi Germany. I found it very clever, funny and heart-warming, but without overdoing it, which is not easy when dealing with such a sensitive part of history. I think in this day and age, when there are less and less victims of the holocaust left alive and more people denying history, it's important for cinema and art in general to celebrate the victory of dialogue, understanding and love over hatred.

Soumis par fidaasiddig le dim 09/02/2020 - 08:34

Permalien
I remember that I sowed film called (the ringer) about a guy who fraud his identity to be a man with disability even he is really not in order to win an athletic competition and take the money of the award as there is a man he work with who'd lost his fingers in work accident and need money to fix them back As the main character kept pretending to be disabled man he made lot of friendships with boys with disabilities live with in the special needs centre I helped him win the competition while he was falling in love with his teacher and supervisor , in the end he admitted what he'd done in the the award handling in the end of the race his teacher get shocked and slapped him in the face , then his disabled friends convinced her with his good intentions and forgave him and felt in love with him. The film actually made my hold my breath that in any minute the truth will be revealed so it was so exited and funny to some degree

Soumis par armando le jeu 06/02/2020 - 05:58

Permalien
The last movie that i saw was Bad Boys 3 Have past a lot of years since the last one, the mix betwen Martyn Laurence and Will Smith it's always funny to watch, those characters are so differents and Martyn is so funny, this last film was filled of latin themes, they have latin songs and artist from latin America, I recommend It, you are going to have a great time watching this movie.

Soumis par Evgeny N le lun 13/01/2020 - 10:40

Permalien
Last movie which I've watched was "Peter's friends". It was created in 1992. But I like this movie a lot! First of all I like actors: Hugh Laurie, Stephen Fry and Emma Thompson. The movie is a fascinating story about 5 friends who met after hadn't seen each other for 10 years. It was an idea of Peter (Stephen Fry) to invite his friends for New Year Party. Peter's father passed away not so recently and he inherited his family mansion. He hadn't had any idea about what to do with it further. Besides of this Peter wanted to tell his friends very important secret about himself. When his friends arrived you started to understand that each of them has his or her own life with problems and happiness. But what is more important each of them saved value of their friendship. And apparently it would take some time to get used to each other, to new traits of character's which appeared during this 10 years. But in the end they again became the same friends as 10 yeas ago. In my opinion this movie not only about friendship but also about how important it is to understand other people and be tolerable to their weaknesses. I don't want to tell you the whole plot of this movie. Just watch this movie and have your own opinion about it. You also will find what secret Peter has and why for him it is so important to share it with his best friends.

Soumis par Mujtabaaman le sam 11/01/2020 - 10:07

Permalien
It was "The jocker" and I watched it with my friends at the cinema. I am neither an expert nor a reviewer, but It was a masterpiece from my perspective. The movie's atmosphere was pretty dark, and I love this kind of atmosphere in the movies and games. The protagonist was an amazing character. But unfortunately, the people in the cinema theater was very annoying, they were talking and laughing during almost all of the movie. But overall, it was a great experience :).

Soumis par nikisyazwani le mer 02/10/2019 - 17:21

Permalien
I have completed the lesson for 'Film Review'. The level I chose was Upper Intermediate B2.

Soumis par kamicounciler le mar 24/09/2019 - 21:21

Permalien
x-men : Dark Phoenix simply it was fantastic.i love comics books and their cinematic world.x-men has always been one of my favorites,and dark phoenix had even more.seeing again x-men heroes together,like professor x,magneto,mystique and of course jean was wonderful.jean is the main character and is acted by sophie turner ,she was really into her role, and i think she was the best choice. also cgi was new and greatly performed.the pace was good and events where well designed so that u dont get bored.the story is attractive too and ends properly.

Soumis par Steve Zarv le lun 16/09/2019 - 17:14

Permalien
Lost in translation I don't remember the last time I watched a movie which had made me feel as If I were watching certain type of life tour of someone, and the pace is the reason why, it was superb, special, and most importantly,different, but still real when changing the series of the common ups and downs to focus on the psychology of the characters, enough to not be felt as something atypic. The plot deals with the concept of non-belonging, that is represented in a grim portrait of tokyo (the place where the story is held) that hides underneath those colorful buildings, now, regardring the visual section, the movie doesn't address any special effect, and that is the arty of most of the independent films. Needless to say, , indeed, it is worth it when it comes to be a way of improving your listening skills when watching it. Give it a try.

Soumis par starfish2019 le mar 10/09/2019 - 17:40

Permalien
What was the last film you watched? What did you think of it? The last film I watched was "Dumbo" and it was a very nice film! I like it because it made me to remember my childhood life, for watching it's cartoon version movie. Of course, cartoon movie and real 3D animated has some differences on perspectives, but the main theme of the story is the same. It was about a magical baby elephant with big ears, born in circus environment, and that could fly, which is exceeding all the people and animals' expectations about that baby elephant. A lot of people and fellow elephants mocked that baby's big ears, but those big ears were meant to fly. Anyway, that film had my all favorite actors and actress. Such as Colin Farrell, Michael Keaton, Danny Devito and Eva Green.

Soumis par AReina9 le mar 02/07/2019 - 17:50

Permalien
The last film I have watched is The Flying Scotsman, the film is the story of Grane Obree, who was a two times Track Cycling world champion on and broke the hour rercord twice. However, his life was not easy at all, Grane had to solve a mind illness after he went to the ground trying to break the time of Chris Boradman in the UK Championship.

Soumis par Andres Felipe … le sam 22/06/2019 - 03:58

Permalien
I had a problem with the task 1! Every time when i was going to select a description to organize the activity, the answered one disappeared all the time and i finished answering just with one answer in each point. but in task 2 i didn't have any problem at all. Can anyone explain me what was the problem?

Hello Andres,

When you select a second item you need to click on the box itself rather than on an item inside the box. If you click on the box (which should change to a darker colour when you select an item) then you will add your item. If you click on an existing item then you will swap it out.

 

Peter

The LearnEnglish Team

Soumis par Ol4ik le sam 08/06/2019 - 04:28

Permalien
I watched "chernobyl" from HBO last week. It is incredible film in 5 parts about awful explosion in nuclear reactor that took a place in Sovet Union in 1986. Whole continent could damage because of this accident, but real people made everything and gave everything, even their lives, that manage this problem. No special effects, but great actors and great plot that was create on real story, that made this movie (series) so fearing and exciting. Chernobyl is worth watching.

Soumis par Alireza le sam 11/05/2019 - 09:58

Permalien
I appreciate the diversity you make in the subjects. Very nice.
Online courses
Learn English online – with the world's English experts