A letter of complaint

Learn how to write a letter of complaint.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to express my dismay at the service at your Eden Hill branch on Saturday 14 January.

I often collect prescriptions from the pharmacy on behalf of my grandmother, Mrs Elaine Bingham. On this occasion there were two prescriptions: one for 10 x 50 mg Kendomol and one for 50 x 100 mg Leoprone. I was served quickly even though there appeared to be only one pharmacist on duty. However, as I was leaving I saw that I had been given 500 mg tablets of Kendomol. This is ten times stronger than the prescription called for.

If I hadn't noticed the difference between the prescription and the actual tablets, my grandmother could have taken a dangerous overdose of Kendomol. I would be worried about getting any future prescriptions at Eden Hill.

The pharmacist apologised and corrected the mistake but I wanted to bring it to your attention. I think it happened because there were not enough staff on duty. I understand that mistakes happen but there needs to be a minimum of two pharmacists at all times so all prescriptions can be checked.

I hope you can take steps to make sure this mistake does not happen again.

Yours faithfully,

Roger Bingham

Tips

  1. Focus on the most important facts. Don't give unnecessary background information.
  2. Make sure you include:
    • the reason for writing (e.g. I am writing to ...)
    • what went wrong
    • what you would like to happen now.
  3. Complaint letters are usually written in a formal style.
  4. Use passives to be less direct and more formal, e.g. I was served quickly.
  5. Use Yours faithfully to sign off if you don't know the name of the person you're writing to.
Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet100.2 Ko

Language level

B2 English level (upper intermediate)

Soumis par alexiamontes2004 le ven 01/07/2022 - 03:15

Permalien

Have you ever made a complaint? What happened?

If on one occasion I made a complaint because some people graffitied my house and what happened after I made the complaint is that those people were punished for the act they committed.

Soumis par Gersongtz le mer 29/06/2022 - 20:38

Permalien

Dear Sir/Madam,

I’m writing to you to express my disappoint about your check-in online service. I tried to check-in my flight in your app so many times, unfortunately there was a problem all day and I couldn’t do it, so I must have to do the line at the airport, in spite of the fact that I had bought a fast pass ticket. At the reception I was told that there were no seats available, consequently, I had to wait until the next flight in addition of paying again my ticket. I would like to be recompensed for this situation by at least a complete refund of the ticket.

Yours faithfully

Gerson Gutierrez

Soumis par GraceZ le jeu 23/06/2022 - 05:02

Permalien

I am writing to express my dissatisfaction of your service and product.
I had ordered an item from you through online shop on May 8, Unfortunately It took nearly 3 weeks until the package was finally delivered. When I checked the item, I found the it was not secured tightly in a bubble wrap even thought it was a fragile item and it had been damaged. I've reached out to you through email but to no avail I haven't received a respond yet. I would like a full refund as soon as possible, I hope you can take steps to make sure this does not happen again.

Yours Faithfully,

Grace

Soumis par Shammo le jeu 19/05/2022 - 19:44

Permalien

Dear sir,
I am writing this letter because I would like to make a complaint about some damaged goods supplied by your company.
I have ordered two pairs of mugs from your company via the internet. I have received them one week ago. Within a week, all the mugs have lost their shine and the print over them is ripping off. Two out of four mugs have already lost their handles when only held once. Also, it was mentioned on the box of the product that it is microwave proof but the mugs are unsustainable to hot water.
Please check the quality of your company's goods. If it will not be improved, then nobody will buy goods from your company. I would love for you to look into this matter, and either refund my purchase or send out another supply.
I’ve provided my number in this letter and hope that you’ll consider my request. Kindly let me know what you are going to do about this defective product.
Looking for your response , thanks.

Soumis par DarinkaMo le sam 19/02/2022 - 04:28

Permalien

Dear Ms Thompson:
Im introduce myself, Im Danika, and Im a regular client of you restaurante because I think that is a nice place to spend a good time in family.

But in this time I'm writing to express my dismay at the service the last time that I visited your place, because the service was slow and when the food arrived, it was super cold.

I think it happened because the waitress was using all the time her cellphone, I suggest to check and regularize if is possible the use of this electronic.
Sincerely DM

Soumis par Suraj paliwal le dim 07/11/2021 - 13:45

Permalien

Yes, I have made a complaint about bad network issue in my area. I have faced many problems due to bad internet connection. But unfortunately my complaint has not resolved yet.

Soumis par Stela Stoycheva le mar 02/11/2021 - 23:01

Permalien

Yes, I do it complaint many times ... about different services
Mobile operator, purchased item, bill for water... I`m not complaint kind of person, but from any places and people think we are monkey... :/
The results is just "Sorry", "That never had again"....

Soumis par Matthew Pan le jeu 14/10/2021 - 01:25

Permalien

No, I had never made a complaint before.

Soumis par Andrea Valencia le jeu 27/05/2021 - 14:15

Permalien
Yes, I made a complaint about an invoice

Soumis par Dibesciak le mer 21/04/2021 - 18:23

Permalien
I have never made a letter of complaint, I was about to do it last time when I ordered food from Deliveroo, The food was discusting and I really wanted to complain about it.

Soumis par paola_k le sam 17/04/2021 - 00:30

Permalien
I have never written a letter of complaint, but once I was charged 10 thousand pesos on a credit card that had never been in my hands, someone used an old ID of mine that I have lost to request the plastic and then went to buy so much stuff at Walmart. To solve the problem I had to request an investigation in a federal institution.

Soumis par Kunduz le dim 11/04/2021 - 13:47

Permalien
Dear Sir/Madam, I am writing to express my dismay at the neighbours, who are smoking on the floor of the house. I already have had a conversation about this problem with these people. Unfortunately I was ignored and they do it till yet. Although i have written a complaint letter to the facility manager i did not get a response. The smoke on the floor is terrible and it is inconvenient to live in the flat. So, I demand to reduce the flat rent and to take steps to make sure this mistake does not happen again in the future. Yours faithfully, Kunduz

Soumis par YED le mer 07/04/2021 - 03:24

Permalien
Dear Sir/Madam, I am writing to express my dismay for my purchase 's on the Amazon marketplace on Friday 12 September. I often order for my family and me in your"online shop". On this occasion I orderd a pack of 6 pin's. I received them quickly even though it seemed that you sent it from Spain. The problem is that I received only 2 pin's instead of six . Moreover,despite the fact the external enveloppe was very strong, the internal packaging were open. My daughter is very sad as she expected all the 6 pin's we have paid for. I would like to receive them please. I hope you can take steps to make sure this mistake does not happen again. Yours faithfully, AB

Soumis par u201519058 le lun 05/04/2021 - 03:34

Permalien
Good evening, I have called several times and I have followed all your instructions and even so my computer still does not work and the truth is that the brand was trustworthy and from today's experience I see that it is not. It is the first time that I have problems with this brand, since I have had equipment from this brand and they always worked very well. And the truth is I do not have time to repair it, I need to make several presentations and coordinate meetings so I demand that they make me a change of equipment immediately and have it for today.

Soumis par Mikhail1988 le jeu 04/03/2021 - 06:18

Permalien
Yes, i have. I really don't understand. Why do People walk with the dog in the playground? I have two children: a boy, and a daughter. The boy is four years old and the daughter is two years old. So we often go for a walk in the playground behind our house. The playground is terrible. You can see dog's excrements every where cause people, i suppose, don't have small children and to walk with a dog in the playground for them is normally. Once, i could not stand and spoke out my indignation to woman with a dog about that. I was shocked. She said that she had been living here for a long time and that everyone is doing that.
Profile picture for user Hennadii

Soumis par Hennadii le mar 17/11/2020 - 14:50

Permalien
Oh, I definitely complained several times. I did it writing a letter (when the Internet wasn't so useable), via emails and, of course, calling. What were the reasons? Honestly, I can't remember now. Obviously, I didn't get what I expected and was so frustrated that wanted to compain. Of course, my intensions to complain weren't only because of bad mood but for trying to change things for better. Someone's work, for example. I think, sometimes everyone needs to get some useful feedback and not only like "wow, you are soooo gooood" but "c'mon, you can do your job better" as well. Let's thell the truth, many people work lousy. Especialy in government organs. If you won't complain about that you will always have bad service.
Profile picture for user shelly

Soumis par shelly le jeu 22/10/2020 - 07:35

Permalien
Dear Sir/Madam, I am writing to express my dismay about your service at the supermarket at Xinlu road on Saturday 14 January. All my daily supplies are purchased from your supermarket because it is convenient and reliable. On this occasion I bought a pineapple and asked for cutting service. A few minutes later I was told to pick up my fruit. However when I got it I found it was not the pineapple I had chosen. When I told the waiter about the mistake, she was very unfriendly. I know this happens sometimes, especially on Friday evening. I would like to get an apology from your staff and get my refund. I hope you can take steps to make sure this mistake does not happen again. Yours faithfully,

Soumis par Denise le dim 11/10/2020 - 19:45

Permalien
Dear Madam, I’m writing to let you know my dismay with their service provided by your bakery. I had ordered two birthday cakes for a very special occasion and one of them was brought to me with the wrong name on it and a different flavour. I ordered a strawberry cake and it came a peanutbutter one.This could have caused a big health issue as I have some guests that are allergic to nuts. I understand that mistakes can happen but I hope you can take steps to make sure this doesn’t happen anymore. Yours faithfully, Denise P. Correia

Soumis par cittàutopica le jeu 08/10/2020 - 16:00

Permalien
Exactly a short time ago I made a complaint towards the my Consumer's Association, because the company which manages my mobile subscription hasn't followed up on my request of cancellation. Now the Association is getting in touch with the Company for solving this problem.

Soumis par Ugulhan le mar 06/10/2020 - 08:15

Permalien
I didn't make a complaint as a formal form. But, this example form is useful to know how to write your complaint.

Soumis par YaMaCa le lun 05/10/2020 - 09:24

Permalien
I have received some times some deliveries that didn't fill my expectations. Following the example : Dear Sala I am writing to express my dismay at the delivery from your store on 23 August currently year. The product received is wrong, I solicited one red jacked and I got one purple. I want a full refund and take steps this doesn't happen again. Faithful G

Soumis par Huynh Nguyen le sam 12/09/2020 - 13:16

Permalien
Dear Sir/Madam I am writing to express my dismay at your service at your hotel. I have been a regular customer of your hotel for a long time. Whenever I came to this place for business, I always stay here. Four days ago when I visited your hotel, although I've already booked the room directly through you before. But when I came, the receptionist told me that she could not find a record of my booking, unfortunately, there also did not have any available room for me on that night. It was terrible. I think this happened because some glitch at your booking system. I would like to draw your attention to this matter. I hope you can take steps to make sure this mistake does not happen again in the future. Yours faithfully, Huynh

Soumis par mxoubi0 le mar 11/08/2020 - 15:32

Permalien
I am writing this email to express that we have several problems in the accommodation room especially in the air condition, and power electricity. First of all, those problems have been happening since I joined the university in 2019 as I am studying mechanical engineering in the engineering faculty. Once the problem started we called the technician to solve the issues but every time he said that we need lots of material and tools to replace the damaged items with a new one because those items had been used since established the building but unfortunately nothing happened because of the shortage of the money resources. I would like to suggest that if we solve the problem and the things will be paid by the students it will be easier for everyone and the bill will be charged latter. I look forward to hearing a positive response.

Soumis par popo1011 le mar 07/07/2020 - 08:58

Permalien
Dear sir/Madam I am writing to inform you to make decision about your staff s behavior on Monday 13 July. I wanted to open an account in your bank. when I sat in the chair and asked for your bank system what s more opened an account , your staff had a bad reaction with me. He did not respond my question. I warned him of his behavior but he did not notice. It is cause of my delighted if you take care this problem because of your validity. your faithfully, sommy

Soumis par Fernando Daniel le ven 26/06/2020 - 00:01

Permalien
After-sales department From my consideration: I am writing to express my disappointment due to the delay in service. I always buy their products for their reliability and excellent design. Last week I bought a television. When the product was delivered to me, it had some scratches on the screen. I called the department to report the situation and they told me the product would be changed within the term of 48 hours. The exchange was made, but it took six days! I could understand some delay, but it seems to me that six days is an excessive one. On the other hand, at no time did the company call back to feed me back about it. I would like to draw your attention to this matter, and I would appreciate better communication from the Company to its customers. Sincerely
Profile picture for user OlaIELTS

Soumis par OlaIELTS le jeu 07/05/2020 - 00:43

Permalien
Yes. I had. It's about non receiving of notification for an exam.

Soumis par Huini le lun 20/04/2020 - 14:37

Permalien
Dear Sir/Madam, I am writing to express my dismay at the ride-sharing service I received from Uber on Friday 15 February. I often use your Apps in my daily transportations. I always prefer your Apps over other ride-sharing Apps, due to its well-known, more reliable and trusted services. On this occasion, as like a daily routine, I called on a ride to move Lalbag to Farmgate and finished this ride as like other days. Unfortunately, the apps showed 500 BDT, where the estimated fare was 100 BDT when I started my ride. That's mean Uber Apps calculated 5 times fare than the usual. This is a misleading fare. The driver realized this matter, but he refused to take the usual fare and received miscalculating fare since he has to give the fare shown on the screen. The driver told me that this type of mistake sometimes happened and recommended me to complain to Uber. Therefore, I wanted to bring it to your attention. I think that happened because there was a problem with the Apps during the ride. I would like a refund the difference as soon as possible. Yours faithfully, Huini

Soumis par Valerielegoff le mer 15/04/2020 - 16:56

Permalien
Dear Madame/Sir, I am writing to express my dismay at the cleaning service of the town of Brussels. This afternoon, I was walking in the streets near the royal theater and I needed to put something in the trash. But all the rubbish bins were full ! So the consequences was that many people had put their garbage next to the bin, on the floor. And it was very very dirty ! I always throw my waste in a rubbish bin but this time, I couldn't. Most of time, I'm angry about people who throw their garbage in the streets, but this time, nobody should be blamed for such a behavior. And instead of enjoying my stroll, I felt sad... I think this is a shame in such a town as Brussels ! Our city should be an example for many countries because it's the capital of Europe. What I suggest is to hire more employees to clean the streets and the squares during the day, and to install more rubbish bins all over the town. I hope my letter will reach the target and that people will be proud of been a citizen from one of the most beautiful city in Europe. Yours faithfully, Valérie

Soumis par jazmin marquez le mer 15/04/2020 - 12:33

Permalien
Yes, a couple of years ago when I bought a desk and paid half in advance. Well, the desk was never delivered, so I made a complaint but it was not answered. As a last option, I went with the police to the store, and I was aware that I had been robbed.
Profile picture for user Magedelabd

Soumis par Magedelabd le ven 03/04/2020 - 13:48

Permalien
Yes I just filed a complaint against a nearby hospital. Where my mother had a coma and she hsd to inter the incentive care unit in Semoha hospital . I complained about their very expensive price list and also I complained about their rools where they don't accept any patients unless they pay in advance a big amount of money. Also the service there is vely bad and the staff are very bad . This is a normal thing to happen in such country where there is no low eforcement supporting people to get their rights

Soumis par Vannalack Chan… le jeu 20/02/2020 - 03:18

Permalien
Dear sir, I'm writing to express my disappointment with the service at your petrol station last Sunday. I have been a regular customer of your service for two years since I had settled in this town. I often stop by this station every weekend to have my car washed and eat at the cafe. Sometimes I choose this place as a co-working space where I enjoy working and sharing ideas with my colleagues. Last Sunday I visited there with my family and told your filling attendant to fully fill the gas before washing my car. Then I gave the key to him and I went to order my drinks at the coffee shop. Unluckily, my car still wasn't washed even I had been waiting for two hours. He admitted he forget what I had said as he had to manage many things at the same time. I told him next time there should be a queue number for all customers so that he would manage it easier. I would like you to bring this matter into your attention. Yours Faithfully, John

Soumis par Muhammad Yaser le lun 20/01/2020 - 07:29

Permalien
Dear Sir, could you help me with this letter please! if it is right or not. Residents of Sixth district of Kabul Honourble Presidency of Municipality, Subject: garbage collecting It becomes about two months that garbage piles accumulated in the area is not removed, and it caused health and environmental problems for the residents of the area. Thus residents of the area respectfully request from the honourable presidency to take pragmatic steps for solving this problem.
Profile picture for user Kirk

Soumis par Kirk le lun 20/01/2020 - 14:28

En réponse à par Muhammad Yaser

Permalien

Hello Muhammad Yaser

I'm afraid we don't correct our users' texts, but I can say that your letter if completely intelligible. My main suggestion would be to say 'It has been about two months since garbage has been accumulating and not removed'.

All the best

Kirk

The LearnEnglish Team

Soumis par gicandrade le lun 11/11/2019 - 09:50

Permalien
Dear, I’m writing to express my dismay at the services assistant services of Apple in Park Avenue on this Sunday morning. It was terrible. First of all, there wasn’t any customer service to help us with doubts. I spent 2 hours there for nothing. I left the store unattended. I was wondering the new pc and if it is compatible with my old smartphone. However, I remained a long time without service. If I hadn’t read some information on web, I would never have known the correct function of the pc. In other words, I don’t need you for nothing. That my conclusion. Such an expensive product, and you still play with consumers. That’s sounds like a joke! After two hours waiting for your complacency, I left. In other occasion, my friend and I came back to the same store. For my surprise, the manager was a colleague. I told him what happened a few days ago and he said that there was no enough customer service, but the problem had been resolved. I was not happy with the answer and I decided to write this complaint. I hope you can take steps to make sure this mistake does not happen again, Yours faithfully,

Soumis par Maitane le jeu 18/07/2019 - 12:03

Permalien
Yes, I have. Two months ago, I bought a mobile phone on a website, but the delivery didn't arrive. So, I decided to make a complaint to the company, and finally, they sent me the order.

Soumis par shamsukprm le jeu 14/03/2019 - 11:33

Permalien
hi today visit Mc donald branch for lunch, I have ordered 2 burger with orange juice, The counter staff Provided one burger with orange juice. At the time of hungry, I had been kept patient myself. and I told her, I have requested 2 burgers, But you given one burger, so please change my order, she called her super wiser and show my receipt and advise like this , he paid Rs. 150 for this order he want 2 burgers, that order would be Rs 190 so he has to pay Rs 40 for more, but he paid by credit card, how we can solve this problem. Finally I paid extra rs. 40 and solved the problem. But What is my question, At the time of discussion,I asked her , I have requested two burgers but you provided 1 burger only, this sentence is correct or not...? Please note, and any one can correct the words....?
Profile picture for user Kirk

Soumis par Kirk le dim 17/03/2019 - 08:20

En réponse à par shamsukprm

Permalien
Hello shamsukprm Your question clearly communicated your intention. In standard British English, it is not completely correct because 'given' is an incomplete verb form. I would say something like 'I have ordered two burgers, but you have given me one. Please change my order.' All the best Kirk The LearnEnglish Team

Soumis par Azzarine le jeu 14/03/2019 - 09:43

Permalien
I've made a complain about a service on a website about a software licence, one day. The customer service didn't understand what i'm saying, I write in english just for spare them to write the reply in french, but even in english, they didn't undersant what I want and I've been quickly irritated, after 5 mails exchanges, so I've complain rudely and tell them they're paid for nothing, they are incapables, etc... An hour later I've got a refund and 6 one-year licences for 6 of their products ! I win ! :D
Profile picture for user Lianna

Soumis par Lianna le mar 12/03/2019 - 14:40

Permalien
To tell the truth , i do not write complaint letter. I will try to write. I bought some products from supermarkets. They take from me 2000 dram (armenian money). When i came home and calculate , i saw that there is wrong in bill, they overcharge.I went back and write complaint letter , they refund me.
Profile picture for user Monica Yunnei

Soumis par Monica Yunnei le jeu 07/03/2019 - 08:08

Permalien
That is nice! I have not written any complaint letter yet.

Soumis par ADELE le mar 05/03/2019 - 10:56

Permalien
Personally i've never made complain by myself but i participated to. We were complaining about a trip operator company who made mistakes in our booking. At the end we received a balance relating to the lack of some service and accommodation.

Soumis par Mahenm le jeu 28/02/2019 - 14:33

Permalien
Yes I have made a complaint. My internet connection was very bad, meanwhile I had to send an important email.