Film reviews

Film reviews

Listen to the film reviews to practise and improve your listening skills.

Do the preparation task first. Then listen to the audio and do the exercises.

Preparation

Transcript

Obviously, this is the sequel to Fun in the City, which is a film I didn't like so it's fair to say my expectations were low. So, you could say I wasn't disappointed, as it met my expectations. It was awful! It was so awful, I'd rather not spend any more time on it by talking about it. But, that wouldn't be a film review and I think I owe you all a review to save you wasting your money going to see it.

So, it starts off with this big wedding scene. And, I won't go into why, but the whole scene is just there so they can make this one joke. It's not even a funny joke ... it's just, ah, it's just terrible. It's got nothing to do with the rest of the film. Anyway, it starts there. Then, instead of the characters and the plot staying in New York where the original film was set, one of them wins a ticket to India and decides to take all her friends. It's what directors do when they've run out of ideas … let's take our characters on tour!

Anyway, they gossip, cry and shop, and they repeat this until the end. No real people would ever act like this. I didn't have any sympathy for their problems or even care what happened to them. Don't go and see it, you'll only encourage them to make another sequel. The world doesn't need three of these films. Please save your money and go and see the other big film this week: Twilight Mirror.

So, if you're a fan of the book it's based on, you're probably as excited as I was about this. For everyone else, this is a film fans have been waiting ten years to see. I have to confess, I was a bit nervous. I'd seen the posters and they didn't look right. I didn't love them at all. And I wasn't sure about the actors they cast either. So I went in not sure what to expect. But … I loved it.

One thing I really liked about it was the pace. They went backwards and forwards between the real world and the computer world and it worked really well. The special effects brought the computer world to life and I totally believed in it. But, more than that, I felt emotionally connected to the story and the characters. The whole film worked on so many levels. It reminded me of going to the cinema as a child – how much fun that was. I can't recommend it enough.

Task 1

Task 2

Discussion

Download
Worksheet85.83 KB

Language level

Average: 4 (52 votes)
Do you need to improve your English listening skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English listening skills with our online courses.

Submitted by iepenarandao96 on Fri, 09/02/2024 - 03:53

Permalink

The last weekend I watched Poor Things with my cousins. And it´s a very weird movie but very funny, I just recommend it to a person who is very open minded due to the plot and the topics that are mentioned in the movie. I like it because is something different and challenging.

Submitted by javy lopez on Tue, 16/01/2024 - 21:48

Permalink

The last film saw was Cindy la Regia, I think this film is not very funny and it also talks about the stereotypes that countries have

Submitted by edgar Leyva on Thu, 11/01/2024 - 21:30

Permalink

the last movie that i watched i think was cars, what do i think of that movie, that is awesome i mean is the best film animated in the last years, is my childhood that movie, what i really enjoy is the scenography of the movie and the music that it has, that is a good combo for the movie.

Submitted by amroelwan.com on Wed, 06/12/2023 - 19:14

Permalink

The movie that I watched was about a king called John snow and he had an army and they were in danger from an army called the deads and both sides had dragons and they fought until a queen came and saved the human army from the dead king and the movie ends there

Profile picture for user Anwarow

Submitted by Anwarow on Fri, 28/07/2023 - 20:55

Permalink

the last movie i have watch was called The Spencer its about a guy called spencer who works in boston police department. he got a problem with his chief officer, he accuse that his chief was linked a case that he worked on and as he claim the chief has covered the case and showing no effort on it.
then spencer goes to the crime scene where the woman got killed and finds a cctv near by, then he took the video tape.
after he give a visit to his chief's house and he tried to talk with him then he aware a crumbs of a glass on the floor then he saw chief's wive with bloody face and the guy spencer got angry, then he pulled the cheif and throws to the ground and punches till his face was covered with blood, then the court verdict him with five years of prison.

Submitted by carolinamenezesx on Wed, 19/07/2023 - 15:27

Permalink

The last filme I've watched was ''Perdida''. It is based on a novel brazilian book and you can watch this at cinema. I felt excited to see it because the story is a mix of contemporary and historic romance. I dont know if there is an english version of this book, but if there is, I really recommend the reading.

Submitted by Veni_1 on Fri, 14/07/2023 - 23:41

Permalink

The first film being second in the story got me really confused. Is it because it was part 2 of some movie?

Submitted by YukinonYui on Mon, 05/06/2023 - 09:15

Permalink

Spiderman across the Spiderverse, which I just watched yesterday, It was amazing, as it is supposed to be. It's an animation film about Miles, the one who gets bit by a radiation spider. It was totally worth all my money to go see it. The animation, soundtrack, plot, characters, and spectacular landscape on screen make it no wonder why people loved it.

Submitted by Artyev on Mon, 29/05/2023 - 00:43

Permalink

The last film which I watched was called "Ilovaysk 2014. Battalion "Donbas"". This film is about events, which took place in the East of Ukraine in 2014. The main character "Bishut" and his comrade were catched in encirclement, and they need to go out from it. But, they are wanted by russian forces, so it's not easy to get back to their fatherland. The plot and pace were really amazing, so I advise everyone, who like action films, watch this. Of course, if you understand ukrainian and russian languages, you can watch it without any problems, but with subtitlies this film doesn't lose interest.

Submitted by I.es91 on Sat, 06/05/2023 - 00:40

Permalink

Now I'm watching Beef series and I reaches third episode. It's so interesting and worth it. I really enjoy it. This is the first time for me watching Asian series but I think it's recommended.