Business cards

Read four business cards to practise and improve your reading skills.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and do the exercises.

Reading text
KPD Foods
Bruno Silva
Head of Marketing
Address: Avenida Paulista 53, Bela Vista, São Paulo, 01311-914, Brazil
Tel: (+55) 11 8134 7706
Getty Telecommunications Ltd
Olivia Hoskins
International Project Manager
Address: 700 Rockville Street, Monroe, New York 10950, USA
Tel: (+1) 845 228 8396
Orion Education Services
Park Ji-Yeon
Director
Address: South Korea, Seoul, Jongno-gu, Sajik-ro-3-gil 23, 30174
Tel: (+82) 2 235-6482
ABC Travel
Rashid Khan
Sales Representative
Address: Hajar Road, Dubai, UAE
Tel: (+971) 4 677 3355
Do you need to improve your English reading skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English reading skills with our online courses.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet84.76 KB

Language level

A1 English level (elementary)

Submitted by Kaique Machado on Tue, 03/11/2020 - 19:19

Permalink
In my country their put the surname at the end

Submitted by Mikeverney1986 on Mon, 02/11/2020 - 15:47

Permalink
In my mu country people put there surname last.

Submitted by Salvadorr on Wed, 14/10/2020 - 15:45

Permalink
Hi guys I'm from turkey in my our country People put their surname at the end

Submitted by Moon Wathan on Thu, 08/10/2020 - 15:48

Permalink
In my country, we don't have any surname. We have name only. We don't have any first name last name like that.

Submitted by Stella on Tue, 06/10/2020 - 04:35

Permalink
In my country, there is no Surname.

Submitted by Asni on Sun, 13/09/2020 - 21:52

Permalink
In my country, people put their surname first.

Submitted by sonjoy on Sun, 06/09/2020 - 11:03

Permalink
Hi I am from Bangladesh, in my country people are used to write their sure name at the end and they write their original/first name at first.For example: Sonjoy Das,here first name is "Sonjoy" and sure name is "Das". Thanks

Submitted by Pola on Sat, 05/09/2020 - 18:45

Permalink
In my country ( Egypt ), we're put the first name then the father's name.

Submitted by Faheem Khan on Tue, 18/08/2020 - 12:41

Permalink
in our country pakistan people put their surnames at the beginning.

Submitted by Maria19 on Sun, 02/08/2020 - 10:37

Permalink
In my country, Israel, people put their last name at the end.

Submitted by Kaofeng on Sun, 19/07/2020 - 08:21

Permalink
In my country, China, people usually put their surname first. I believe it is part of Chinese culture. I also believe this style is very common in other countries. By the way, in addresses in China, people write the country first, which is the same as in South Korea.

Submitted by fatfat on Wed, 08/07/2020 - 11:09

Permalink
we use surname at the end.
Profile picture for user Hennadii

Submitted by Hennadii on Tue, 23/06/2020 - 11:22

Permalink
I think we use both versions. It depends on how it fits. Besides we use patronymics (middle name) without fail.
Profile picture for user Onur

Submitted by Onur on Thu, 04/06/2020 - 11:49

Permalink
I live in Turkey. In my country, surnames are used at the end of full names.

Submitted by eshan.saif on Tue, 02/06/2020 - 20:27

Permalink
Bangladeshi people basically put their surname at the end.

Submitted by Leonardo Lisboa on Tue, 02/06/2020 - 01:49

Permalink
At the end, for example my full name is: Leonardo Vinícius Lisboa da Cruz, and I put in my business card just “Leonardo Cruz”

Submitted by Thucuoi on Fri, 22/05/2020 - 04:28

Permalink
i am from Viet Nam. My full name is Nguyen Thi Kim Thu. "Nguyen" is my family name of my Dad. so you can see, in my country, people put their surname first.

Submitted by casssioesousa on Sun, 17/05/2020 - 02:06

Permalink
In my country, Brazil, do people put their surname at the end. For example, my name Cássio Silva de Sousa. Then, the people can call me Cássio Sousa.

Submitted by mouna99 on Sat, 16/05/2020 - 15:39

Permalink
In my country people put their surname at the end

Submitted by Muhammad Bagir on Sat, 16/05/2020 - 04:16

Permalink
it depends, in my country, Indonesia, we have so many cultures.

Submitted by Nyanko Neko on Fri, 15/05/2020 - 14:03

Permalink
In my country, people always write surname fisrt and then forename at the end . For instance. My full name is Han Moc Thien, with Han is my family name of my dad or mom, Moc is my surname and Thien is my personal name

Submitted by c.lopes23 on Thu, 14/05/2020 - 14:01

Permalink
In Brazil, we put the surname in the end

Submitted by Raimbek on Sun, 10/05/2020 - 03:32

Permalink
In my country we put surname at the begin

Submitted by Nam on Tue, 05/05/2020 - 14:50

Permalink
In my Viet Nam, we put the surname first and the forename at the end. For instance, My full name is Nguyen Dang Hoang Nam with Nguyen and Dang is my family name of my Dad and mom, Hoang is my surname and Nam is my personal name.

Submitted by Djoo on Thu, 23/04/2020 - 03:41

Permalink
In Tunisia, we put surname at the end.

Submitted by Melsaied264 on Fri, 10/04/2020 - 23:49

Permalink
It depends on the people themselves ,some people prefer to write their surname first but the other like to write it last .for me I always write my surname first

Submitted by REGINA OTERO on Wed, 08/04/2020 - 15:32

Permalink
In Bolivia, the surname is put at the end.
Profile picture for user zabiullah

Submitted by zabiullah on Mon, 06/04/2020 - 15:50

Permalink
in my country people always put their last name or surname at the end of the name. but i always put my surname first and given name at the end.

Submitted by Yenn nguyen on Sat, 04/04/2020 - 15:29

Permalink
In VIETNAM . Surname is located at first.
Profile picture for user OlaIELTS

Submitted by OlaIELTS on Sat, 28/03/2020 - 20:23

Permalink
In Nigeria, this is mostly specify by the person requiring such information, as majority either put it first or at the end.

Submitted by Mahmoud Gadelk… on Sat, 28/03/2020 - 16:41

Permalink
We always put surnames in the end here in Egypt.

Submitted by HMida on Sat, 21/03/2020 - 12:44

Permalink
In my country, we put our surname at the end

Submitted by upendarreddy on Fri, 13/03/2020 - 00:01

Permalink
In India, people use surname at first then name.
Profile picture for user Sergei Baskakov

Submitted by Sergei Baskakov on Thu, 05/03/2020 - 17:55

Permalink
In my country we put name first and surname at the end

Submitted by ademyonet on Wed, 12/02/2020 - 20:15

Permalink
In Turkey, we use first name, later surname.
Profile picture for user Ange Obscure

Submitted by Ange Obscure on Wed, 12/02/2020 - 15:39

Permalink
In Mexico, the surname is put at the end.
Profile picture for user Optimist

Submitted by Optimist on Sat, 11/01/2020 - 23:18

Permalink
My country is Ukraine . In my country, do people put their surname first .

Submitted by serena lee on Mon, 06/01/2020 - 03:50

Permalink
In Vietnam, surname is located at first.

Submitted by Eswar on Thu, 02/01/2020 - 09:47

Permalink
In india Surname will put in the end.

Submitted by shahhoseini on Sat, 21/12/2019 - 14:37

Permalink
In my country, we use first name and then last name.
Profile picture for user Magedelabd

Submitted by Magedelabd on Wed, 18/12/2019 - 14:48

Permalink
In my country the people put their name first then the surname .

Submitted by frfandinod79 on Thu, 28/11/2019 - 12:54

Permalink
In my country usually we put the name first and then the surname

Submitted by Editanna on Wed, 16/10/2019 - 13:21

Permalink
In Hungary we use our name this way: surname and first name

Submitted by Abdelmouttalib on Thu, 03/10/2019 - 12:07

Permalink
I'm not sure, but i think it's the same. they both are true.

Submitted by Triony on Sat, 28/09/2019 - 06:40

Permalink
I am Peruvian and I work for a bakery of healthy products

Submitted by bawk san aung on Thu, 29/08/2019 - 03:21

Permalink
In my country, we have the only given name except my nationality. The surname or family name is put at front the opposite of western country for instance Ding Rin Bawk San Aung. The family name is Ding Rin and Bawk San Aung is given name

Submitted by Lameed Mohamed on Fri, 02/08/2019 - 10:26

Permalink
In my country we used to but our surename at the end, for ex my sure name is Alomdaa so I put it after my actual name so we write Lamees aalomdaa and so on .. Just the oppsite in Britain. .

Submitted by Hkn18 on Mon, 29/07/2019 - 20:28

Permalink
My country is Turkey. We use at the last.