Professional profile summaries

Professional profile summaries

Read two professional profile summaries to practise and improve your reading skills.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and do the exercises.

Preparation

Reading text

Maria

I am an architect with 20 years' experience of designing and developing spaces. I am a partner in the award-winning STG Architects Ltd, which is famous for its work on the Galroy Building in London. I enjoy working with people from all over the world and have international experience of working in Italy, Greece, Thailand, Australia and Brazil. I have a Master of Science from Sheffield University and a BA in Architecture from Hull University. I also speak Italian and Thai. When I am not working, I spend my time hiking, skiing and diving.

Emily

I am an experienced sales manager with 12 years' experience of developing customer service teams. I am skilled in negotiation, team motivation and building successful sales teams. After ten years of working in sales and customer service at Halo Bank, I am now the sales office manager of a team of 120 at Southern General Plastics Ltd. I have an MBA from Stanford University and a degree in Business Studies from Cornell University. I am creative and hardworking, and enjoy working with others.

Task 1

Task 2

Discussion

Download
Worksheet75.41 KB

Language level

Topics

Average: 4.3 (21 votes)
Do you need to improve your English reading skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English reading skills with our online courses.

Submitted by Alexander on Thu, 12/10/2023 - 12:47

Permalink

I'm a 3D animator. I have 1 year of work experience and 2 years of studying animation courses. I have worked on cartoons, games and motion capture for TV series. I am currently working on Freelance.

Submitted by kenan.zero on Sun, 01/10/2023 - 06:36

Permalink

I have extensive experience working with data. Over the past 15 years, I have worked on numerous projects involving data modeling, processing, archiving, and ensuring data quality. I am committed to continual learning and enjoy my work. Currently, I am employed by a mid-sized company with approximately 900-1000 employees.

Submitted by Infinity468 on Mon, 18/09/2023 - 03:39

Permalink

I work as a physician, my habilities are motivation, learn from mistakes and persistence

Submitted by orhunn_ozkutuk on Thu, 17/08/2023 - 11:55

Permalink

I`m student in Eskişehir Technicial University of Turkey.My department is Chemicial Engineering.I am in the prep school now and I am working hard for school`s proficiency exam.My the biggest goal is settle up to abroad and find a job about my department.

Submitted by Safe_Mode on Thu, 22/06/2023 - 17:05

Permalink

I'm a frontend developer. My experience is huge and skills are best of the best)

Submitted by Inglés B1- on Sun, 23/04/2023 - 06:51

Permalink

I am a student of the Pedagogical University of Colombia of the Degree in Mathematics. I have worked as a waiter in a traditional Colombian food restaurant. I have done field work, for example I know various things related to the harvest and planting of onion, potato, coriander, corn, among others. I did a complementary of equines in the Sena, I learned some things about the history of the Colombian criollo horse. I give private math classes, especially to children, however I can give classes at other levels. I like teaching and learning mathematics. I have had the opportunity to attend a meeting on Geometry and its Applications. In my free time I like to run, read and spend time with my family and friends. I consider that I am an understandable, responsible, curious person and open to dialogue.

Submitted by Jennifer Peña on Sat, 22/04/2023 - 01:05

Permalink

i am student of the seventh semester of the degree in mathematics of the Universidad Pedagógica Nacional, I have a technician in eviromental management from Sena. I have worked giving personalized mathematics classes to high school children, I have experience in sales, because my mom has a perfume company. I am cheerful, companion. In my free time I play volleyball and skating.

Submitted by Miss zahra on Mon, 03/04/2023 - 13:00

Permalink

I work as a child nutritionist with 4 years of experienced. I have got a child nutrition dipoloma from COE. I hold on online workshops about starting babies foods and picky eating so I mostly work on online platforms like instagram and websites. I am responsible for supporting parents about two months after the workshop and help them out to manage their child behavior during the meal time. My work is not a monotonous and boring job however It,s kind of motivating job. It is also lucrative and well-paid. I am perseverant , punctual and reliable. so I think I will climb up the ladder and make a name for myself soon.

Submitted by Abrarhussain on Sun, 05/03/2023 - 22:51

Permalink

I do plumbing work. I have plumbing diploma from Bolton university UK. I have seven years experience in my work.

Submitted by an_hakim on Fri, 24/02/2023 - 08:08

Permalink

im studied at university, and my major is accounting, more specifically I am studying sharia banking. about the experience, I did have not good experience with my study I have a bad mark this semester so I hope I can improve it the next semester, and skill maybe im very serious about my dream and I don't want to give up on my dream