The Martian: a book review

Read a review of the book 'The Martian' to practise and improve your reading skills.

Instructions

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and do the exercises.

Reading text

Read the review of the book The Martian below.

Then do the exercises.

Review: The Martian

The Martian tells the story of Mark Watney, an astronaut on the Ares 3 mission to Mars. After a terrible storm almost destroys the ship and the base, the crew of his ship believe he is dead. 1) _____. Alone on the red planet, he has to survive until the next mission to Mars arrives.

While this novel is fiction, in some ways it feels like non-fiction. It is very scientific and packed with details about survival on Mars. Watney is a botanist and engineer, and he begins to grow food and produce water in his artificial camp. How does he do this? 2) _____.

The author is Andy Weir, and this is his first published book. In it he has created a realistic character. There is a lot of humour in the story, and the reader can identify with the emotions (although no one can really imagine what it's like to be on Mars). Watney admits at the beginning that he is in deep trouble, but he never gives up. 3) _____. Instead, what The Martian gives us is a realistic look at an intelligent person alone on a planet and trying to survive.

The majority of the plot takes place on Mars and is written in the form of Watney's journal entries. 4) _____. Unfortunately, the other characters in the book (his fellow crew members, the scientists at NASA on Earth) do not get much development and so they often feel one-dimensional.

I should also mention that the book is thrilling to read. You will be on the edge of your seat until the very end. 5) _____. It's good not only for space travel fans and scientists but for anyone who is looking for a unique and exciting story. The Martian was so popular that it was made into a film starring Matt Damon in 2015, but I recommend reading the book first.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet69.36 KB

Language level

Do you need to improve your English reading skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English reading skills with our online courses.
Average: 5 (1 vote)

Submitted by Annie Amarant on Tue, 13/09/2022 - 15:01

Permalink

I want to recommend a novel "Intermezzo" by ukrainian painter Mykhaylo Kotsybynskiy. It is really interesting and charming story))

Submitted by Nandar Su Hlaing on Sun, 04/09/2022 - 05:05

Permalink

What book would you recommend?
Although I read book sometime, I don't know which book should I mention. I am not a bit reader.

Submitted by younes01 on Wed, 20/04/2022 - 21:49

Permalink

Hi friends i just want to talk about a life-changing book i read recentely that is created by james clear its name is "Atomic Habits"
I think that everyone should read this book because of its deep information about habits and how can it makes your life change 100% from changing and adding some tiny things to your daily life.
In the book the author talk first about what is a habit and its benefits
after he talks about how to make a good habit that make you success in life and how to get rid of bad habit.
all of this stands of a habit and its component wich they are cue: this what make you think of the habit or remember to do it the.
craving: wich make you want to get the reward of the habit.
response: the act of doing the habit.
and reward: what you get when you do the habit.
I believe it is a good book that everyone should read carefully and extract all off the information from it and apply it to its life.

Submitted by Polad Samadli on Mon, 07/03/2022 - 21:39

Permalink

I recommend "A brief history of time" from Steven Hawking. It is pretty good for science and sci-fi lovers. Especially for space wondering guys. I think everyone can learn from this book, it is written in an understandable way.

Submitted by Polad Samadli on Mon, 07/03/2022 - 21:30

Permalink

I have watched this film before, so it was easy for me to complete. Nice film by the way. I love sci-fi

Submitted by LamVanPhuong on Mon, 15/11/2021 - 15:25

Permalink

actually, i don't usually read book but i want to recommend Harry Potter. although, it was made into a movie but I recommend you read the book first then watch the movie later

Profile picture for user amit_ck

Submitted by amit_ck on Tue, 02/11/2021 - 19:17

Permalink

"A solar panel CONSISTING of photo-voltaic cells is mounted, facing the sun, on a RAISED pole well above the ground."

Why there isn’t “is” before CONSISTING?
Why this verb is past though this sentence is present tense “RAISED”?

Hello amit_ck,

The verb 'consist' is a stative verb which is not used with continuous aspect. If you wanted to use it as a regular (finite) verb then you would say 'a solar panel which consists of...'

In this sentence 'raising' is a participle. It forms the head of a participle clause describing the solar panel. You can read more about participle clauses here:

https://learnenglish.britishcouncil.org/grammar/intermediate-to-upper-i…

'Raised' is not a past verb form here. It is an adjective describing the noun 'pole'. You could replace it with other adjectives 'high', 'wooden', 'blue' etc.

Peter
The LearnEnglish Team

Submitted by Dariusz on Sat, 23/10/2021 - 00:05

Permalink

I recommend the book 'Iron John'. It's good especially for men but not only. This book tells the story of how the boy becomes a man. Although the book is fiction, in some ways it feels very scientific and packed with details from real meal life. The reader can easily identify with the character of John. This book is written in the form of a guide but isn't one-dimensional.

Submitted by Suraj paliwal on Wed, 20/10/2021 - 12:44

Permalink

At this I'm never read any book out of my course. But I will read a book in a month.