A Plastic Ocean: a film review

A Plastic Ocean: a film review

Read a review of the film 'A Plastic Ocean' to practise and improve your reading skills.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and do the exercises.

Preparation

Reading text

Discussion

Download
Worksheet87.8 KB

Language level

Average: 4.4 (107 votes)
Do you need to improve your English reading skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English reading skills with our online courses.

Submitted by Annnn on Sun, 25/02/2024 - 19:57

Permalink

What documentary films would you recommend?

I strongly recommend to watch "A world of games". This documentary is on Netflix. It's about the rol of the games in human lifes. Also, it show us the games which are played in different cultures. So, you can discover games that may you don't know before. 

On another hand, about the plastic issue which is this paper about, I think that we know that is a big problem but the authorities don't take action on the matter. They need to communicate better about what we can do to fix the problem or to, at least, reduce it. Maybe more advertisement on the tv, and also they have to find a way to penalize people who don't recycle things or dump plastic things into the ocean.

Submitted by Sihem2022 on Thu, 22/02/2024 - 02:10

Permalink

I recommend to watch the documentary stalker , I am not sure about its name, it's about the danger of social media especially for young people.The narrative tells the story of a teenager who has been stalked by a mad man in the social media, he tracked her until he killed her.it's important to raise awarness in our society by learning more about the downside of being online.

Submitted by elisabethkov on Sun, 21/01/2024 - 10:31

Permalink

Hey, I would recommend a documentary series called 'Our Great National Parks,' narrated by Barack Obama. It's a series of stories about the lives of animals in some popular national parks of America. Besides the landscapes and stunning nature, viewers can witness the reality of wildlife and enjoy the narration by the former president.

Submitted by elisabethkov on Sun, 21/01/2024 - 10:24

Permalink

Hey, I would recommend a documentary film called 'Life of Pi.' The plot is exciting and keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the entire film. It is a story about a young boy who loses his parents due to a storm while they are transporting their zoo from India to another country in search of a better life. As a result, many animals die, but not all. The boy, who can recall the entire number pi, a tiger, and an orangutan will fight for their lives on a small boat in a large ocean. Besides the beautiful landscapes of India, viewers can witness the wonderful nature of the ocean.

Submitted by kemoo on Fri, 19/01/2024 - 14:14

Permalink

Hey everyone,

It's no secret that waste plastic poses a significant threat to our environment. Its visible presence is a constant reminder of the danger it poses. Fortunately, the solution to this problem is quite simple, provided we have the intention to act. Implementing measures such as recycling and reusing plastic, as well as exploring alternative materials like glass and paper, can make a significant difference in reducing plastic waste.

However, it's crucial to acknowledge that while plastic pollution receives considerable media attention, there's another form of pollution that often goes overlooked: nuclear waste. The lack of public awareness surrounding this issue is a serious problem that needs to be addressed.

Nuclear waste pollution is an enduring concern with long-term consequences. Proper management and disposal of nuclear waste are essential to prevent harmful effects on both the environment and human health. It's imperative that we shift our focus towards understanding and finding effective solutions for this issue.

Submitted by amroelwan.com on Mon, 11/12/2023 - 19:30

Permalink

I recommend a film that teaches us not to throw waste and take care of animals and keep the oceans clean and that we need to recycle trash and that machines can use plastic as fuel and that 300 million plastic bags are thrown every year and that everyone plays a role and only 8 million are recycled from 300 million just like I said everyone plays a role

Profile picture for user Abdullah2232

Submitted by Abdullah2232 on Mon, 06/11/2023 - 08:31

Permalink

My family is very pleased about this test because now i can negociate with english speaking ship captains

Submitted by geoinfomat on Fri, 27/10/2023 - 20:31

Permalink

We have our national traveler. He has probably been in every corners of the world. He claims that since we have our natural fossil fuels, we should to use them because it is cheaper for us. It's probably better for our planet than implementing modern technology, we don't know what the consequences may be at the future. Electric cars use energy from large power plants, and in the future we will have problems with storing electric batteries.
But if he is far from big cities and far from civilisation like inside Amazonian forest, he is both sad and angry that there is more and more plastics and sheet metal.
And besides, this man creates wonderful travel documentaries: "Barefoot across the World" and he doesn't like if the government wants to give too many restrictions in society's behavior.
You may think I'm going against present trend, but did you anywhere consider a different opinion?

Submitted by betelf on Tue, 24/10/2023 - 11:02

Permalink

I would recommend a documentary film about Hayao Miyazaki, which delves into his filmmaking process and provides insight into his artistic style and life perspectives. If you enjoy watching animation, especially Ghibli movies, you won't get bored.

Submitted by TataRyt on Sat, 21/10/2023 - 22:07

Permalink

The last documentary film that I watched was 'The Tinder Swindler,' and I am willing to recommend it. The narrative is about a guy who swindles women out of money by telling them about his love and temporary difficulties through the modern dating application, Tinder.