A Plastic Ocean: a film review

A Plastic Ocean: a film review

Read a review of the film 'A Plastic Ocean' to practise and improve your reading skills.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and do the exercises.

Preparation

Reading text

Discussion

Download
Worksheet87.8 KB

Language level

Average: 4.3 (126 votes)
Do you need to improve your English reading skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English reading skills with our online courses.

Submitted by LuisOm on Wed, 10/04/2024 - 19:45

Permalink

Hi LearnEnglish Community:

I reccommend Fahrenheit 911 if I recall the title name, It presents the pre conditions and causes of the September 11 terrorrist attacks, and the development of the tragedy that day. It is directed by the one and only Michael Moore. It's a yes if you want to watch something relevant  and interesting online.

Submitted by iepenarandao96 on Wed, 20/03/2024 - 03:50

Permalink

For an English class I took several years ago in the university, I had to watch "Where to Invade Next" by Michael Moore, this guy has a lot of documentaries. This one is about Michael traveling to some European countries, finding out and comparing how those countries deal with some social and economic problems that US has such as labor rights, school meals, prison system and free education. It's a very interesting and funny documentary and you can learn a lot of of different countries.

Submitted by majskolveoo on Wed, 13/03/2024 - 09:59

Permalink

The Text was glitched for me and it didn't show

Hello majskolveoo,

I'm sorry for the inconvenience! As far as I can tell, there are no errors on the page and I can see the text.

I'd recommend trying a different browser or device. If that doesn't work, you could also read the text on the worksheet in PDF format.

Best wishes,
Kirk
LearnEnglish team

Submitted by Annnn on Sun, 25/02/2024 - 19:57

Permalink

What documentary films would you recommend?

I strongly recommend to watch "A world of games". This documentary is on Netflix. It's about the rol of the games in human lifes. Also, it show us the games which are played in different cultures. So, you can discover games that may you don't know before. 

On another hand, about the plastic issue which is this paper about, I think that we know that is a big problem but the authorities don't take action on the matter. They need to communicate better about what we can do to fix the problem or to, at least, reduce it. Maybe more advertisement on the tv, and also they have to find a way to penalize people who don't recycle things or dump plastic things into the ocean.

Submitted by Sihem2022 on Thu, 22/02/2024 - 02:10

Permalink

I recommend to watch the documentary stalker , I am not sure about its name, it's about the danger of social media especially for young people.The narrative tells the story of a teenager who has been stalked by a mad man in the social media, he tracked her until he killed her.it's important to raise awarness in our society by learning more about the downside of being online.

Submitted by elisabethkov on Sun, 21/01/2024 - 10:31

Permalink

Hey, I would recommend a documentary series called 'Our Great National Parks,' narrated by Barack Obama. It's a series of stories about the lives of animals in some popular national parks of America. Besides the landscapes and stunning nature, viewers can witness the reality of wildlife and enjoy the narration by the former president.

Submitted by elisabethkov on Sun, 21/01/2024 - 10:24

Permalink

Hey, I would recommend a documentary film called 'Life of Pi.' The plot is exciting and keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the entire film. It is a story about a young boy who loses his parents due to a storm while they are transporting their zoo from India to another country in search of a better life. As a result, many animals die, but not all. The boy, who can recall the entire number pi, a tiger, and an orangutan will fight for their lives on a small boat in a large ocean. Besides the beautiful landscapes of India, viewers can witness the wonderful nature of the ocean.

Submitted by kemoo on Fri, 19/01/2024 - 14:14

Permalink

Hey everyone,

It's no secret that waste plastic poses a significant threat to our environment. Its visible presence is a constant reminder of the danger it poses. Fortunately, the solution to this problem is quite simple, provided we have the intention to act. Implementing measures such as recycling and reusing plastic, as well as exploring alternative materials like glass and paper, can make a significant difference in reducing plastic waste.

However, it's crucial to acknowledge that while plastic pollution receives considerable media attention, there's another form of pollution that often goes overlooked: nuclear waste. The lack of public awareness surrounding this issue is a serious problem that needs to be addressed.

Nuclear waste pollution is an enduring concern with long-term consequences. Proper management and disposal of nuclear waste are essential to prevent harmful effects on both the environment and human health. It's imperative that we shift our focus towards understanding and finding effective solutions for this issue.

Submitted by amroelwan.com on Mon, 11/12/2023 - 19:30

Permalink

I recommend a film that teaches us not to throw waste and take care of animals and keep the oceans clean and that we need to recycle trash and that machines can use plastic as fuel and that 300 million plastic bags are thrown every year and that everyone plays a role and only 8 million are recycled from 300 million just like I said everyone plays a role