A Plastic Ocean: a film review

A Plastic Ocean: a film review

Read a review of the film 'A Plastic Ocean' to practise and improve your reading skills.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and do the exercises.

Preparation

Reading text

Discussion

Download
Worksheet87.8 KB

Language level

Average: 4.3 (132 votes)
Do you need to improve your English reading skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English reading skills with our online courses.

Submitted by Lilly098 on Thu, 05/11/2020 - 18:52

Permalink
I would love to recommend Nas Dailly YouTube channel. The video mainly talks about a wide variety of problems and facts in all around the world. How he depicts country is very accurate and well researched. Most interesting video was how Hawaii treats homeless people. Every students should be recommended to watch and take some actions.

Submitted by cittàutopica on Fri, 23/10/2020 - 14:58

Permalink
I usually don't see documentary films; i prefer to read some books or magazines. Concerning in particular the environmental issues, it look like many short films of the kind tend to draw attention rather than showing these themes in dept.

Submitted by AnnaSmith on Tue, 20/10/2020 - 20:26

Permalink
To be honest I am not good at it. Maybe it is time to start watching it especially as I know there are a lot of interesting documentaries on Netflix now.

Submitted by Abdulhadi94 on Tue, 20/10/2020 - 10:18

Permalink
What documentary films would you recommend To tell you the truth I have just seen two episode of our planet which i strongly recommended for you guys to watch it . It is simply explain our planet and tell us about the huge problem that as human has done to the planet
Profile picture for user danisep

Submitted by danisep on Tue, 20/10/2020 - 01:24

Permalink
The last documentary I watched was about rubber. If I remember right, it talks about how farmers receive just a minimum part of a rich business and how big companies or its suppliers stay with the big part of the cake. Those farmers make the hard work while the rubber's price increases through a chain.
Then you should know about the rubber industry which reached its peak a 100 years ago here in South America, especially in the Amazon region shared by Brasil and Bolivia. Apart from the unsustainable exploitation, all the human rights violations made by rubber firms against indigenous people. It is something shocking to see, it was practically slavery that killed thousand of aborigens. Similarly, this happened too in King Leopold's Congo, Belgian colony.
You are so correct here. Of course the Belgian Congo genocide was on a par with Hitler and the Nazi's and Pol Pot - Travesties of injustice against mankind. I experienced the gross injustice of Apartheid in South Africa.

Submitted by Rihaneta 1 on Fri, 16/10/2020 - 14:00

Permalink
The last documentary file I have watched is " social dilemma ", it was produced by Netflix, it was released last September. It is talking about social media and how they impact. I don`t use social media, sometimes I use you tube, however, I have felt shocked after watching this movie. If you want to help your self to go far away from social media then watch this movie. Thanks a lot!
I completely agree with you Rihaneta. The new way to communicate has two sides of coin. On one hand, we are able to connect or to discover the news easier, faster. However, on other hand, we are loosing our ability to read deep and strong literature, we are loosing our ability to ponder. Unfortunately, we have the same trash not only on our planet but in our minds, too.

Submitted by Lincoln01 on Tue, 13/10/2020 - 15:42

Permalink
Discussion on the effect of plastic waste to marine life is long overdue. Aquatic life is always in danger by the action of man. It is high time we start considering other living creatures on this planet as well