A Plastic Ocean: a film review

Read a review of the film 'A Plastic Ocean' to practise and improve your reading skills.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and do the exercises.

Reading text

Discussion

Download
Worksheet87.8 KB

Language level

Upper intermediate: B2

Submitted by Abrarhussain on Sat, 23/10/2021 - 23:42

Permalink

The documentary films I would recommend are Animals Kingdom and Wild Birds.

Submitted by mangnb on Thu, 21/10/2021 - 13:51

Permalink

There are manny documentary I see. But i think plastic dump documentary is deserve to see. I hope government will work more on recycle

Submitted by Suraj paliwal on Wed, 20/10/2021 - 13:18

Permalink

There are lots of videos on online about plastic. Everyone knows that use of plastic is disastrous. But we need to immediately take action on this. Countries should make strict law about this.. and who use plastic deal with strictly.

Submitted by Wótila Carneiro on Wed, 20/10/2021 - 13:07

Permalink

We need to take care our environment. Our seas are trashed a lot. Our forests are burning! We're making a plenty of trashes and don't recycle them! First of all, we need to teach aour children to take care the nature. Cause they will grow like a conscient persons.

Submitted by Tinelli on Mon, 18/10/2021 - 19:23

Permalink

This topic is actually quite interesting because we (humans) have taken nature for granted, i.e., we haven't respected it as we should, and the result, as mentioned in the text, has been devastating: animals and plants have been dying. Nevertheless, there's still time for changes, such as those already commented above. By respecting nature, we respect our existence!

Submitted by kaanxcolak on Thu, 27/05/2021 - 12:24

Permalink
I would recommend youtube videos about the waste of plastic life. Perhaps this can be awareness. We can deal with plastic life.

Submitted by Vanessa Rodrìguez on Thu, 06/05/2021 - 22:32

Permalink
Hi, I couldn´t practice this lesson because it didn´t show me any reading, only a picture, this is the second time that I try to do it but it doesn´t show me anything. Could you help me? Thanks!!

Hi Vanessa Rodrìguez,

Thanks for letting us know. I've just checked the page and it seems fine, so it may have been a temporary error. Can you see the reading text now?

If not: which picture can you see - is it (1) the picture of rubbish on a beach, or (2) the picture of a seal with a plastic bottle? Do you find the same problem with other pages (e.g. this one)? 

If it is still not working, one solution is to try opening the page with a different web browser and see if it works. I hope it works now but please let us know again if not, and I will investigate further. Thanks :)

Jonathan

The LearnEnglish Team

Submitted by Peter M. on Mon, 13/09/2021 - 07:17

In reply to by KarenAvdalyan

Permalink

Hello KarenAvdalyan,

Jonathan replied to Vanessa Rodrìguez's post with several questions. You can see his answer below. If you're still having problems please reply to his post with the information he asked for and we'll see if we can help.

 

Most often, these kinds of problems are either compatibility problems where a particular device does not show the page correctly or local connection issues related to local internet regulations. You could try accessing the page via a different type of device (a laptop, for example, if you are having problems with a mobile device) to see if that helps.

 

Peter

The LearnEnglish Team

Submitted by Andrea Valencia on Tue, 20/04/2021 - 22:39

Permalink
I would recommend watching several documentaries to learn about contemporary problems in the world.

Submitted by Andrea Valencia on Tue, 20/04/2021 - 22:05

Permalink
There is no text to read, it only shows a picture.

Hello Andrea Valencia,

I'm sorry to hear you're having some problems. I've checked the page and everything is functioning correctly on both Windows and Mac, so I can only gues that there is a compatibility issue. Try using a different browser or a different device, if you can - this may solve the issue. Sometimes there are compatibility problems with mobile devices, so if you have a laptop or desktop computer you might try this.

 

Peter

The LearnEnglish Team

Submitted by Frank Cuello on Sun, 04/04/2021 - 01:46

Permalink
I recommend Colombia: Magia Salvaje, a documentary that shows the nature beauty and wonders of Colombia, a biodiverse country with a huge amount of unique species. In that way, the film also shows the environmental problems that suffer the country and give advices to fight against them.

Submitted by AulianFr on Mon, 22/03/2021 - 16:01

Permalink
I would totally recommend you to watch the Walking With Dinosaurs series. This documentary series was produced by BBC probably in the 1990s. This documentary will take you to the Mesozoic era where dinosaurs still roaming the earth. It consists of six episodes, in which they tell you about specific times and also creatures. When you watch this series, you will find it fascinating to see these beasts perceived as real animals, not just monsters trying to eat each other. The story is really engaging, it feels like you are watching a drama since there will be a main dinosaur that you will follow along each episode. I am always in awe whenever I watch it because the CGI is just so good, even for that time.

Submitted by Mikhail1988 on Tue, 02/03/2021 - 05:51

Permalink
I gorgot the calling of the movie. It's about russian history, famous russian kings. The graphic, voice acting are really fantastic. It consists of many series. The each one is about pecuiliar King. I recommend to watch.

Submitted by Daviddd on Thu, 18/02/2021 - 00:08

Permalink
The truth of the matter is that even wheter the different programmes some of the peole are creating to save our planet from different enemies, one of those, the plastic e threw every single day to avoid our accountability... We are doing something that harms to ourselves, as soon is possible that "rubbish" is gonna be a real problem for this and the next society. To finish, We all have to raise awareness into this real issue due to the affect we have to the place we are right now.

Submitted by marlio96 on Wed, 03/02/2021 - 00:39

Permalink
Some time ago I watched a documentary on Netflix about the war in Siria, it is pretty good, the filmmakers registered a lot of moments when the called "White Helmets" ran immediately forwards the place where buildings were destroyed by bombs launched by the airplane above the city, this action was very heroic and rescued a lot of people among there was a big amount of children. I really recommend it, it's very sad and emotive. This makes us wonder about how bad the war can be.

Submitted by Sue38 on Tue, 26/01/2021 - 13:53

Permalink
We have a role to play in this situation. We should start now: Using less plastic, recycle everything is possible. Do not pollute the environment and look after the animals.

Submitted by yanina on Fri, 08/01/2021 - 10:44

Permalink
My belief is that the invironmental care is one of the most important problem we must concern about. The evidence shows that all the being of the earth depend on it. If we are not responsible about it, we are ending with animals, humans, beautiful nature and the future life.. I personally take my own actions to contribute, for example, I am vegetarian since 2015, I recycle and reduce as much as possible, also I just buy things that I really need, trying to follow minimalism but not so hard.. I take my bag everytime I go to buy, in this way we don´t need to use more plastic bags.. If anyone have to say more inspiring actions that are taken, feel free to share and let´s make a better world together :)

Submitted by MEITE_MOHAMED on Thu, 31/12/2020 - 09:12

Permalink
Hi everyone, It is written in the second paragraph "The largest animal on the planet" Does the preposition "on" work in this sentence? Help me please.

Hello Meite_Mohamed,

Yes, it is correct. We usually use 'on' with 'planet', I suppose because it is a surface.

It's been some time since I've used French regularly, but I think often 'de' is used in superlatives, which in English would be 'of'. English is a bit different -- most often, the preposition 'in' is used here, though 'of' is possible in some cases too. I'd suggest you have a look at our Comparative and superlative adjectives page to see some more examples.

All the best,

Kirk

The LearnEnglish Team

Submitted by anahit_____ on Sun, 27/12/2020 - 10:19

Permalink
It's too difficult to watch those poor animals dying, I am trying to do my best to help my world: we have 3 boxes at home for plastic, for glass and for paper, and if each of us does this we will have a huge progress. SO START TODAY, BE THE CHANGE YOU WANT TO SEE!!!

Submitted by emoliveira1 on Sat, 26/12/2020 - 14:36

Permalink
A very interesting documentary, that also makes us think about our role in the planet, is from David Attenborough's "A Life on Our Planet". You can watch it on Netflix and you will reflect on our impact on nature. The time to take action is right now! It is very important to become aware of all the issues related to plastic use, carbon emission, animal extinction, etc. I will for sure watch "A Plastic Ocean" on Netflix. Thank you for the suggestion and the review. :)
That documentary was so amazingly presented. And the sad part of it that there can be any movies or videos on this subject I don't think anything will change. But better to say that these movies don't reach people in need. People who sit down and watch it have already know this is a real program. :/

Submitted by Ehsan on Tue, 22/12/2020 - 14:17

Permalink
I'm very interested in documentary films. I prefer documentaries related to successful humans, history, journeys, etc.

Submitted by Fatima123 on Thu, 26/11/2020 - 11:58

Permalink
Its so sad and pathetic that after knowing all the facts about ocean pollution, we are still not controlling our plastic usage.

Submitted by thuyphan on Sat, 14/11/2020 - 14:03

Permalink
I can realize the evil influences of plastic waste so that i’m going to try my best to decrease plastic items in my life. I made some fabric bags to hold food while buying them from market. Futhermore, i always bring some glass boxes instead containing food in plastic containers.
I applaud you for actually making a positive effort to reduce your plastic waste footprint. I would love to see your fabric bags.

Submitted by Ben2020 on Tue, 10/11/2020 - 00:14

Permalink
I think whole world need working together to solve global pollution, everyone play a role ,classify the garbage separation of plastic and food etc.

Submitted by Lilly098 on Thu, 05/11/2020 - 18:52

Permalink
I would love to recommend Nas Dailly YouTube channel. The video mainly talks about a wide variety of problems and facts in all around the world. How he depicts country is very accurate and well researched. Most interesting video was how Hawaii treats homeless people. Every students should be recommended to watch and take some actions.

Submitted by cittàutopica on Fri, 23/10/2020 - 14:58

Permalink
I usually don't see documentary films; i prefer to read some books or magazines. Concerning in particular the environmental issues, it look like many short films of the kind tend to draw attention rather than showing these themes in dept.

Submitted by AnnaSmith on Tue, 20/10/2020 - 20:26

Permalink
To be honest I am not good at it. Maybe it is time to start watching it especially as I know there are a lot of interesting documentaries on Netflix now.

Submitted by Abdulhadi94 on Tue, 20/10/2020 - 10:18

Permalink
What documentary films would you recommend To tell you the truth I have just seen two episode of our planet which i strongly recommended for you guys to watch it . It is simply explain our planet and tell us about the huge problem that as human has done to the planet

Submitted by danisep on Tue, 20/10/2020 - 01:24

Permalink
The last documentary I watched was about rubber. If I remember right, it talks about how farmers receive just a minimum part of a rich business and how big companies or its suppliers stay with the big part of the cake. Those farmers make the hard work while the rubber's price increases through a chain.
Then you should know about the rubber industry which reached its peak a 100 years ago here in South America, especially in the Amazon region shared by Brasil and Bolivia. Apart from the unsustainable exploitation, all the human rights violations made by rubber firms against indigenous people. It is something shocking to see, it was practically slavery that killed thousand of aborigens. Similarly, this happened too in King Leopold's Congo, Belgian colony.
You are so correct here. Of course the Belgian Congo genocide was on a par with Hitler and the Nazi's and Pol Pot - Travesties of injustice against mankind. I experienced the gross injustice of Apartheid in South Africa.

Submitted by Rihaneta 1 on Fri, 16/10/2020 - 14:00

Permalink
The last documentary file I have watched is " social dilemma ", it was produced by Netflix, it was released last September. It is talking about social media and how they impact. I don`t use social media, sometimes I use you tube, however, I have felt shocked after watching this movie. If you want to help your self to go far away from social media then watch this movie. Thanks a lot!
I completely agree with you Rihaneta. The new way to communicate has two sides of coin. On one hand, we are able to connect or to discover the news easier, faster. However, on other hand, we are loosing our ability to read deep and strong literature, we are loosing our ability to ponder. Unfortunately, we have the same trash not only on our planet but in our minds, too.

Submitted by Lincoln01 on Tue, 13/10/2020 - 15:42

Permalink
Discussion on the effect of plastic waste to marine life is long overdue. Aquatic life is always in danger by the action of man. It is high time we start considering other living creatures on this planet as well

Submitted by yzdxsmx on Fri, 09/10/2020 - 09:25

Permalink
I rewatched an old documentary named Ocean last week. It doesn't take any point of view of the filmmaker, but simply show you how marine animals are living in their natural habitat. After I read this text, I imagine that those marine animals might be killed by the plastic we dumped into the ocean, which makes me feel guilty and realize that we have to act together to make the planet better.
I would like to maintain your thought about what we can do together to make our planet better. For instance, my family and I stopped using the plastic packets.

Submitted by ukazak on Tue, 06/10/2020 - 05:59

Permalink
I would like to tell about new documentary on Netflix. It's name the social drama. This movie about social media and how they impact for us. Frankly speaking, evereday I use instagram, youtube, twitter. I spend a lot of time for serfing on Internet. I think, It's so bad because I don't have time for me or my family. It's dangrerous trand. But on the other hand, we able to use social media some different. For instance, we can study or met with interesting people. In conclusion, I recomend to wath this movie.

Submitted by shawn peter ru… on Mon, 05/10/2020 - 06:34

Permalink
actually i very love the imaginational films and series like(stranger things, Dark...) and sometimes illusive and last time films(like 100 ...) but we should accept that we are living in the earth planet and we should do something about our future generation and we should ready for hard condition i recommand the documatry of( Home) by Yann Artus

Submitted by Robin on Sun, 04/10/2020 - 11:41

Permalink
Hi everyone, I am a new user on this website. I find it, very efficient. Well, to answer the question, I love watching documentaries, especially with my kids. We watch ones a lot and whatever the documentary. The last documentary I watched is about the environment. It was called "Tomorrow". The two filmmakers are French. They tell about differents ways to have a less consommation and to product less and better. It was very interesting to see that there are a lot of people in many countries worldwide who make the planet better
I'm looking forward to watching this documentary too.

Submitted by Hennadii on Tue, 29/09/2020 - 09:03

Permalink
This is the right question, I would like to say because I love documentary films. Especially about nature. I think the BBC makes the best documentary films. I watched them a lot. The last one was "Planet Earth". Awesome movie about our planet. Each episode shows a particular part of mother-nature: rivers, oceans, mountains, deserts, jungles and so. Every series strike your imagination with an unbelievably interesting story about different species in their habitat. All this looks so realistic, I really had that feeling like I stood near the operators or dived with them in the depth of water. And, of course, the problem of pollution was on the table in each episode. Unfortunately, we make a huge (and horrible, telling the truth) impact on the planet. Every day we kill our big home with rubbish, emissions, and forest clearance. It's hard to swallow pill, but sometimes, it seems, it would be better that humans don't exist at all. Honestly, I'm not a panic kind of guy but I can't imagine how we can manage all this damage we made.

Submitted by Nehir on Sat, 19/09/2020 - 10:12

Permalink
Actually, I don't like documentaries but my sister likes so much. That's why sometimes I watch some of them. My favorite is 25 Litre. I would definetely recommend this. It is about how we can protect our water and reuse it. It's on National Geografics. In fact, I am bored when I am watching documentaries but it isn't boring. You can trust me.:) Have a look, it is absoluately important for everyone and also a good TV show.
Online courses
Learn English online – with the world's English experts