An accommodation form

An accommodation form

Learn how to fill in an accommodation preference form.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Preparation

Reading text

University accommodation preference form

First name Lucy
Surname Watts
Student number S4085301
Gender female  
Date of birth 25/07/2000
Nationality British
Email address lucyhelenwatts@example.com
Phone 0123 456 789

What type of accommodation would you prefer?

  • Single room with bathroom ✔
  • Single room with shared bathroom (with two or more other students)
  • Shared room (with one other student)
  • Family flat (adults __  children __)

Which location would you prefer?

  • On-campus ✔
  • Off-campus

Are you a smoker?

  • Yes
  • No ✔

Do you have any health needs that affect your housing request?

  • Yes ✔   (If yes, a university officer will contact you for more information.)
  • No

Please list your interests and hobbies, for example sport, music or other social interests. You can also say if you prefer to stay up late as this information may be useful when we are allocating rooms. Please note that we cannot guarantee we will be able to offer accommodation to match your preferences.

I played football for my sixth-form school and I am hoping to join a university team. I'm a morning person and I get up early to train and go to the gym. So I would prefer to share with other people who don't like late nights either! Also I am vegetarian and, if possible, I would prefer to share a kitchen with other non-meat eaters.

Tips

  1. If the form is on paper, write clearly. Use capital letters if your handwriting isn't clear.
  2. If there is not much space to write, make a list instead of writing full sentences.
  3. Check it. It's easy to make small mistakes!

Task 1

Task 2

Task 3

Discussion

Download
Worksheet129.34 KB

Language level

Average: 4.9 (8 votes)
Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.

Submitted by Mai Khin Nway Shein on Tue, 28/07/2020 - 06:55

Permalink
I would like to share room or flat or house who has same characters with me if possible. I don't like those people who likes late night, I also don't like talkative people and I can't sleep if the light is on.
Profile picture for user Hennadii

Submitted by Hennadii on Fri, 17/07/2020 - 18:18

Permalink
Eek! It's a tough question. I'm kind of introvert person so I'm not a pally kind of guy if you ask. No, I like to talk to someone, share some funny stuff or laugh at something but I like to be alone sometimes. I like reading or listening to music without anybody. So I glad I didn't share a room with someone in my university days. If I had to? Well, it's definitely should be a morning person, I get up quite early and it's good to feel comfortable and not trying to stay quiet. Non-smoker, of course. As for me, I'm a social smoker and can treat myself with a cigar in the company but I hate cigarette smoke. And of course, it must be someone with sense of humor. I can't share the room with someone boring ))

Submitted by Dastenova Firuza on Sun, 12/07/2020 - 17:38

Permalink
I would like to share a room first of all with responsible people. I hate irresponsibility. I also like people who eat healthy food and nonsmokers. Living with funny and positive people is useful for health too.

Submitted by Rapershi on Wed, 08/07/2020 - 13:42

Permalink
I would like to share my house with people from different country. i think I compatible so i dont think i have a problem.Though I smoke cigarette but not much.Maximum two and three cigarette a day. and I love reading a lot book and watching movie.
Profile picture for user Red Sus

Submitted by Red Sus on Mon, 06/07/2020 - 11:49

Permalink
- Shared room (with one other student) - Off-campus - No smoke I like to play videos game, do things on the computer, listen to music, and love to travel. My English is still not good, it’s better if my flatmates have the same level as me so we can practice together. I prefer to stay up late, so please allocate me with other people who have no problem with that. Also, I want the place to be quiet, people can listen to music but not too loud.

Submitted by Omer_moh on Mon, 29/06/2020 - 12:07

Permalink
It is better to share accommodation with different nationality in order to know about their culture and their language.

Submitted by aml96 on Sat, 27/06/2020 - 17:27

Permalink
i am Sudanese i want to live with Sudanese students i prefer single room with two or more student i want exercise by walking to university so i prefer off campus accommodation i am meat eater i prefer kitchen with other meat eater i am not smoker i would like to live with non smoke people i get up early i prefer share room with other don,t like night

Submitted by eshan.saif on Thu, 25/06/2020 - 18:07

Permalink
As I'm trying to give up smoking that's why I would prefer to share a house or flat with a non-smoker guy. I have no problem with whether the mate is vegetarian or not because I'm am suitable with both of them. Besides, I would like a flat-mate who may come from different countries. I have another preference which is the mate should not to go to bed late as I am trying to make myself early-riser.

Submitted by Gehan on Thu, 04/06/2020 - 20:31

Permalink
Since I am learning the English language, I prefer to share a house or flat with people from different countries that I can practice my English.

Submitted by Yusei Takechi on Wed, 03/06/2020 - 06:24

Permalink
I have some requirements for sharing a house or flat with. Firstly, the people is friendly. That's why I think I can not endure the awkward space. If I share it with anyone, it would be better if I could have fun chatting. Secondly, people who do not eat much vegetables. I do not like vegetables so much I have a lot of likes and dislikes at this age. I especially hate eating vegetables, so I would like to share with people who eat only meat or hate vegetables. Finally, a people who is willing to smoke. I am a smoker. I would like to smoke in my spare time, when I would like to change my mind and to relax. However, if there were only people who couldn't smoke, I could stand it at all. In addition, there are some other small requirements. For example, someone who likes sports because I like playing soccer and tennis, people from different countries because I would like to get along with people from various foreigner, and a clean person because I am a clean freak, and so on. After all, I would like to share with people who are bright and friendly.