A restaurant review

Learn how to write a restaurant review.

Instructions

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Vega, New York

Reviewed yesterday

★★★☆☆

Great mains, pity about the chips

Came for lunch with my sister. We loved our Thai-style mains which were amazing with lots of flavour, very impressive for a vegetarian restaurant.

But the service was below average and the chips were too terrible to finish.

When we arrived at 1.40, we had to wait 20 minutes while they got our table ready. OK, so we didn't have a reservation, but the restaurant was only half full. There was no reason to make us wait at all.

We ordered the chips as a side dish and they looked delicious. But, when we tasted them, they were overcooked and swimming in oil so we left most of them. We expected a lot more for $10!

When the waiter asked if everything was ok, we said we really didn't like the chips and he said 'That's funny, I love them' and that was it. He didn't offer us anything else or take them off our bill. Also, when we didn't leave a tip, he looked annoyed.

I was really excited about visiting Vega, and the mains were just fantastic, but the rest of the experience was really disappointing.

Tips

  1. Use an informal or semi-formal style.
  2. In the title, give the main idea or opinion.
  3. Write about the important parts of the experience, not every detail.
  4. Organise your ideas into paragraphs.
  5. Write about the good and the bad.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet104.9 KB

Language level

Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.
Average: 5 (1 vote)

Submitted by Azhar13 on Thu, 01/12/2022 - 07:05

Permalink

Unfortunately this happened several times in different occasion. For example, me and my husband were in a road trip from Muscat to Sur, a far east costal town, when we stopped for a quick meal at one of the local restaurants.
It has a great sea view with a spectacular outdoor sitting area. My husband ordered a seafood pizza and I ordered a tuna salad.
The service was good and the staff were friendly. The food was served within a reasonable time. My husband enjoyed his pizza. He said it was delicious and flavored. I was disappointed because my tuna salad was awful and not fresh at all. However when the waiter asked us if every thing was good, I mentioned for him that the salad was totally unexpected and I feel so bad about it. He was very polit and apologized for that. He offer me another tuna salad with a complementary fresh orange juice. The second tuna salad was great and well presented with fresh and juicy vegetables.
I enjoyed my meal and the sea view. We tipped the waiter generously. I'll consider visiting this restaurant in future for sure and I'll recommend it to my friends and family.

Submitted by YuliaMelenchuk on Wed, 23/11/2022 - 10:47

Permalink

Unfortunately I have. It was about year ago. I ordered pizza and I expected that it was delicious. But when I tried it I was confused. There was so much oil and sause. I could not eat it.

Submitted by purporpp on Tue, 25/10/2022 - 03:39

Permalink

i really doesn´t care much the flavour about food, if im hungry, i like everything, even if it is cold, but one day, i had to wait so mucho in the queue just for a hot dog, dude. i was really annoying and dissapointed about that attention. besides, that place in a wrong way say much about the local.

Submitted by Rita25 on Mon, 10/10/2022 - 12:38

Permalink

Yeah definitely as we all do, In fact I've lost counts of how many times I've experienced bad service and inedible dishes. But the worst that beats them all was when we went to a Mexican Restaurant packed with customers and long queues, It took them almost an hour to get our table ready. We were already starving to death and mouth drooping to get a taste of quesadillas. When we finally had our ordered we were excited to dig in, the food was too oily and it wasn't worth the price. Though the place had a relaxing ambiance and good service the waitress was accomodating. That was one pricey restaurant. I never understood why there was a long queues. Perhaps It was just overrated since it is located in a bustling city. Anyway I love mexican food I've been to many mexican restaurant that served mouth watering dishes in a reasonable price.

Submitted by Nandar Su Hlaing on Fri, 16/09/2022 - 07:48

Permalink

Yes, I had a bad experience in a restaurant last week. We ordered two bowls of traditional noddle. The taste was normal, but the price is very high, and they also reduced the portion of the food in all dishes than others. I have got annoyed having in that restaurant.

Small portions, gloomy atmosphere and a one waitress for the hole restaurant
This summer my family and I visited Grodno and in our first evening we decided to go to a restaurant of the Georgian cuisine 'Old Tbilisi'.
Firstly, the enter to the restaurant was on a untidy backyard. Secondly, it was dark inside and flavor was strange.
There were only one waitress for the hole restaurant. Although restaurant was not so big and there were not so many customers, she coped with her work hardly. So we had to wait about twenty minutes until our order only was taken.
I assume, the mains wasn't fresh and cookers just warmed them up. Also portions were too small and I stayed hungry. There was only one small piece of meat in my pilau and cucumber slices in salad were so thin.
As a result, we stayed disappointed after this dinner.

Submitted by farhadwahaj on Wed, 31/08/2022 - 12:05

Permalink

My friends and I are living abroad, and whenever great news or thing is happening regarding our business, the one who has received the great news has to bring all of us to the restaurant. Last Friday it was the turn of one of my friends, and as usual to gather in a place, and took a vegan to the purpose place we were 5 persons.

We reached over there in an hour at almost 7:23 PM, there are always rash and crowded people, but by luck, we reserved one table and ordered a variety of delicious food, such as rice, fry mate, role mate, and fried chicken. The orders took approximately 45 minutes and we came exhausted to wait for so long to receive our food on the table.

The fry mate was more delicious and the flavor was so tasty, and the rice was great too and delicious, however, the roll mate was too oily and had an awful test. As other people were waiting for reserving tables and to give their orders, we left the restaurant swiftly to the stand people.

When the bill came it was surprising it was about 20000 PK which is much more than the normal restaurant in the city. However, my friend paid the bill including a tip of about 20500 PK.

Submitted by ryhn on Mon, 29/08/2022 - 16:19

Permalink

I went to Büyükçekmece in Istanbul for reading last year. There was so distant to my home but I loved there because I was able to get away from home but I missed to my family when I was there. ın now I am studying for pass the profıcıeny exam I hope pass it. that's so from me thanks for listening to me.

Submitted by Noldea on Fri, 29/07/2022 - 04:45

Permalink

One day, I went to a restaurant near my home which just have reopened. They had "nem lụi" as their main course (I'm a Vietnamese). Back then before the close, I liked their "nem lụi" alot. It had the sweetness of the meat and it just so delicious. But when I try that again, the quality dropped heavily. It was SALTY. That's not even what the average "nem lụi" would have. And until now I haven't go to that place again.

Submitted by marwan297 on Mon, 20/06/2022 - 17:38

Permalink

in the first at my university, I went to a restaurant in the front of the university, I ordered a dish of negresco but it wasn't good so I had to choose another thing i could eat, and i had to pay more than i expected. The service was good not excellent and the prices were not bad