A restaurant review

Learn how to write a restaurant review.

Instructions

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Vega, New York

Reviewed yesterday

★★★☆☆

Great mains, pity about the chips

Came for lunch with my sister. We loved our Thai-style mains which were amazing with lots of flavour, very impressive for a vegetarian restaurant.

But the service was below average and the chips were too terrible to finish.

When we arrived at 1.40, we had to wait 20 minutes while they got our table ready. OK, so we didn't have a reservation, but the restaurant was only half full. There was no reason to make us wait at all.

We ordered the chips as a side dish and they looked delicious. But, when we tasted them, they were overcooked and swimming in oil so we left most of them. We expected a lot more for $10!

When the waiter asked if everything was ok, we said we really didn't like the chips and he said 'That's funny, I love them' and that was it. He didn't offer us anything else or take them off our bill. Also, when we didn't leave a tip, he looked annoyed.

I was really excited about visiting Vega, and the mains were just fantastic, but the rest of the experience was really disappointing.

Tips

  1. Use an informal or semi-formal style.
  2. In the title, give the main idea or opinion.
  3. Write about the important parts of the experience, not every detail.
  4. Organise your ideas into paragraphs.
  5. Write about the good and the bad.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet104.9 KB

Language level

Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.
Average: 5 (1 vote)

Submitted by marwan297 on Mon, 20/06/2022 - 17:38

Permalink

in the first at my university, I went to a restaurant in the front of the university, I ordered a dish of negresco but it wasn't good so I had to choose another thing i could eat, and i had to pay more than i expected. The service was good not excellent and the prices were not bad

Submitted by Fzt_abidin on Fri, 17/06/2022 - 10:17

Permalink

yes, ı have, actually, I am curious about the new food because of that usually ı get disappointing. ı love to try new food or beverage. One-time ı went to a restaurant whose name is Karadeniz Döner, That place is so famous in İstanbul however, ı didn't like much. Mains was good but no service and no side dishes

Submitted by Van wong on Thu, 26/05/2022 - 11:50

Permalink

Yes, so often, in order to earn more money. There is a restaurant that orders cheap food for customers, but it is not fresh food, so I got sick from that.

Submitted by chemistryteacher on Wed, 25/05/2022 - 10:43

Permalink

I and my family went to restaurant one month ago. The staff was unhelpful and the food was terrible. We ate them because we were hungry but unfortunately wasn't delicious.

Submitted by sempresere on Thu, 07/04/2022 - 10:05

Permalink

I have never had a totally bad experience in a restaurant.
Obviously, I ate in some places where the food was better than in other restaurants, but I have never had an awful experience and I have never met rude waiters.
I don't have a favorite restaurant because I like to change and to try always new experiences.
I think that the best meal I have ever had was in USA in 2015.
I was with my best friend and her aunt. A friend of her aunt, who was Indian, took us to Princeton because he wanted us to try Indian food in a typical Indian restaurant. In that restaurant I had the best food experience of my life!
I really love Indian food because it is full of flavors and smells, really delicious!
In Italy I like those restaurants that cook traditional Italian food, such as Lasagna.

Submitted by Suraj paliwal on Thu, 04/11/2021 - 11:07

Permalink

Yes I have have many times faces bad experience in restaurant. One of this is two weeks ago I ordered chicken masala, biryani and roti. That's very bad. I never experienced such a food. That is terrific. And terrible food I have ever faced.

Submitted by zoedestriau on Sat, 16/10/2021 - 15:33

Permalink

I will write about the best meal I have ever had !!
I live in Paris and for my last birthday I went to a luxury restaurant called Matsuri. The food is Japanese style and they have a chef who is famous in this area. The side was great but the main dish was incredible. I ordered sashimi and a type of sushi that was similar to tempura and for desert I ordered mochi. Mochi is a type of cake from rice and red beans paste.
I thinks I will return there because it was so good !

I decided to try out the restaurant near the school where I work. It always smells good when I go to work. Once, I had lunch there, and I went for pizza cause it's my favorite dish. I had to wait more than 10 minutes to get my dish ready. The thing I don't like. But the pizza was very tasty, that leads me to think about coming back and try out other dishes. But it would be better if they serve people more faster.

Submitted by GiulianaAndy on Tue, 22/06/2021 - 00:54

Permalink
Yes, I have. Here it is: At around 5 years ago I went a restaurant with my family, the mains were amazing with lots of flavor, it was impressive. But if you ask me about the side dish and the service, it was awful. When my family and I arrived at the restaurant at 2:30, we had to wait 30 minutes while they attend us, and the restaurant was only half full. There was no reason to make is wait at all. We ordered the side dish and the main they looked delicious. But, when we tasted the side dish, it was overcooked and swimming in oil so we didn't finish it. When the waitress asked if everything was okay, we complained about the side dish and she didn't care about that. She didn't offer us anything else or take the side dish off our bill. Also, when we didn't leave a tip, she looked disgusted.