A restaurant review

Learn how to write a restaurant review.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Vega, New York

Reviewed yesterday

★★★☆☆

Great mains, pity about the chips

Came for lunch with my sister. We loved our Thai-style mains which were amazing with lots of flavour, very impressive for a vegetarian restaurant.

But the service was below average and the chips were too terrible to finish.

When we arrived at 1.40, we had to wait 20 minutes while they got our table ready. OK, so we didn't have a reservation, but the restaurant was only half full. There was no reason to make us wait at all.

We ordered the chips as a side dish and they looked delicious. But, when we tasted them, they were overcooked and swimming in oil so we left most of them. We expected a lot more for $10!

When the waiter asked if everything was ok, we said we really didn't like the chips and he said 'That's funny, I love them' and that was it. He didn't offer us anything else or take them off our bill. Also, when we didn't leave a tip, he looked annoyed.

I was really excited about visiting Vega, and the mains were just fantastic, but the rest of the experience was really disappointing.

Tips

  1. Use an informal or semi-formal style.
  2. In the title, give the main idea or opinion.
  3. Write about the important parts of the experience, not every detail.
  4. Organise your ideas into paragraphs.
  5. Write about the good and the bad.
Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet104.9 KB
Profile picture for user Esra KG

Submitted by Esra KG on Thu, 14/03/2019 - 09:23

Permalink
I like eating out. Tasting different dishes and enjoy the meal without the hassle of cooking and cleaning. My latest restaurant experience was moderate though. I went to the lokal breakfast and lunch restaurant with my friend. It is a nice but small place. The waitress led us to a pleasant table and served with a nice smile on her face. We ordered an omlette and a sandwich, both were good. And served in a short time. Price was sensible, thankfully tip was included as well. Sometimes I find it hard to decide how much it should be. The only negative part of our lunch was the restaurant being so crowded and noisy we couldn't hear each other and discuss about the topic which was the reason of our lunch meeting. I think the management can use some soft background music which could motivate people to speak less loud. And maybe some sound absorbing decorative objects.

Submitted by Azzarine on Wed, 13/03/2019 - 09:41

Permalink
I didn't go in restaurants, not often, but sometimes the wait is very too long and the waiters can't even give us some bread or something to help with waiting because it'll be on our bill. In France, it's rare to let tip for the waiters, or sometimes it's 2 or 5 euros, not more. I'm aware that is some countries, the tip is about 10% of the bill, sometimes more.

Submitted by cadu on Tue, 12/03/2019 - 10:42

Permalink
I had meals differents that I expected. In some cases some expensive or with poor flavors. In general the restaurants are good places but in some cases needs to adjust the model of operation. It not only refer to the food but all the experience like the table accommodation, the prices, the hole experience and the service. Finally if the food is the best you come back always.

Submitted by Murali Manohar… on Sat, 09/03/2019 - 16:43

Permalink
Hi I liked the exercise & it seems very easy.

Submitted by Galletta87 on Fri, 08/03/2019 - 12:25

Permalink
Yes, in my last work break I did not have a great dinner experience. Despite the reservation we sat down after 30 minutes. There was an excessive confusion between staff and customers. But after all we ate well. The waiter was wrong to bring the wine, but he solved the problem. the bill was cheap.

Submitted by spacekantor on Fri, 08/03/2019 - 07:05

Permalink
It was in 2015 when I had just moved into Bandung. I needed to find a suitable and quiet place to start working on my deadline. unaware of Bandung's heavy traffic jammed, I got lost between Cihampelas Street and found myself starving that I hadn't eaten anything before left the house. So this is a unique cafe called "Tous Les Jours" interested to me. I was quite impressed with the design and how fast their waitress worked were. It only took about 1 minute to get my order served. The dishes they offered were delicious. Although I didn't sure where those come from but from the looks it maybe had "Arabian Sauce" on it. I eat rapidly for I must get back to the office before noon. I was about paying my bill when a waitress told me that I actually "the hundredth" customers of their cafe so, I got released to pay any bills. Wow. That was insane and I couldn't help myself but smiling all day back in the office.

Submitted by Isabelle31 on Thu, 07/03/2019 - 10:42

Permalink
Yesterday, I have discover a new restaurant in Toulouse ( L'Alouette); all was very good; service, menu, decoration and wine. I highly recommend it
Profile picture for user michelag

Submitted by michelag on Wed, 06/03/2019 - 08:42

Permalink
Yes, of course! I come from a country when the food is delicious, maybe one of the best food in the entire world, but also here sometimes you can find a restaurant below average and some mains not so delicious as they look in the menu. Anyway, when I don't like something, I don't say anything, simply I decide to avoid that place in the future, or as alternative, I write a negative review on trip advisor.

Submitted by Juan Diego Gal… on Tue, 05/03/2019 - 20:35

Permalink
Yes, of course, I have had some bad situations at a restaurant, but according to my point of view I think is not good to be a rude and complainer customer even if you pay for that meal. I know you pay for good service and delicious food, but sometimes employees are not good to serve people. So, for that reason, I don´t say anything but is almost sure that I won´t come back again.
Profile picture for user MAO

Submitted by MAO on Mon, 04/03/2019 - 13:08

Permalink
Over all, the meals of the restaurants I had visited are good or beyond average. That is because I would search for the evaluations of the specific restaurant before i go. Based on the recommendations of netizens, I can prevent myself from touching the "landmine". However, it is worth noting that the more "pushes" the restaurants gets, the more popular it is, which means that the restaurant would be crowded and in a great demand. Furthermore, it is hard to get a reservation or the quality of service will be spared owing to the lack of the ability of digesting such large amount of guests.

Submitted by Gulbanu on Fri, 01/03/2019 - 10:55

Permalink
More then enough We like to visit restaurant Mister Cat. This is pizza discount place and i agree with this quit good definition. Big XL size pizza cost only 10$ plus from noon up to 5 p.m. it's possible to get second one for free. Actually, for Asian menu discount is the same. But fist of all, of course, is a taste. It's delicious and the best of all local pizza's makers.