A restaurant review

A restaurant review

Learn how to write a restaurant review.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Vega, New York

Reviewed yesterday

★★★☆☆

Great mains, pity about the chips

Came for lunch with my sister. We loved our Thai-style mains which were amazing with lots of flavour, very impressive for a vegetarian restaurant.

But the service was below average and the chips were too terrible to finish.

When we arrived at 1.40, we had to wait 20 minutes while they got our table ready. OK, so we didn't have a reservation, but the restaurant was only half full. There was no reason to make us wait at all.

We ordered the chips as a side dish and they looked delicious. But, when we tasted them, they were overcooked and swimming in oil so we left most of them. We expected a lot more for $10!

When the waiter asked if everything was ok, we said we really didn't like the chips and he said 'That's funny, I love them' and that was it. He didn't offer us anything else or take them off our bill. Also, when we didn't leave a tip, he looked annoyed.

I was really excited about visiting Vega, and the mains were just fantastic, but the rest of the experience was really disappointing.

Tips

  1. Use an informal or semi-formal style.
  2. In the title, give the main idea or opinion.
  3. Write about the important parts of the experience, not every detail.
  4. Organise your ideas into paragraphs.
  5. Write about the good and the bad.

Task 1

Task 2

Task 3

Discussion

Download
Worksheet104.9 KB

Language level

Average: 4.1 (55 votes)
Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.

Submitted by B2.2Semi on Fri, 20/10/2023 - 19:16

Permalink

A good recommendation doesn't become a good meal!
I can't say I have had a bad meal in any restaurant but I had a bad experience in a one Michelin Star Restaurant recommended by a good friend.
That day, enjoying a walk around where the restaurant were located, my husband and I decided to ask for a reservation that night, but the chef told us it where all fully booked.
Well, hours later, when we where going home, we saw the restaurant almost empty and we came in to ask why he told us they were all booked. The chef, invited us very annoyingly to leave the restaurant without any explanation.
Next day in restaurant's web we leave a review saying what happend. The chef answered us in the same arrogant attitude, without any acceptable explanation.

Submitted by Arias_12 on Thu, 19/10/2023 - 19:59

Permalink

I went with my sister, my mom, and my uncle to an ice cream place; it was great inside, Mario and Luigi drew and a lot of decorations, so we sat, but we needed to wait for 30 minutes there without any attention, so we decided to left the site, the person that was working there asked us why we were leaving the place, but we didn´t say anything and we went off that place without a word.

Submitted by StevenKaung on Tue, 26/09/2023 - 03:32

Permalink

Mexico restaurant, Fukuoka

The interior design is great, the food and service are terrible.
When I visited Fukuoka city with my girlfriend for the first time, we tried Mexican food for the first time in our lives. We both thought the restaurant looked great and its dishes must be delicious. So we ordered 4 dishes, and all looked so cheap even though they were expensive. I think they use instant food, instead of cooking real dishes. They also took table fees and service fees too. I don't think it is reasonable to take such a fee.

Submitted by Zaman_A on Mon, 11/09/2023 - 23:04

Permalink

Yes,I had a very bad meal when I and my family went to a near restaurant and we ordered pizza and fajita, unfortunately the meal was too bad ,so we couldn't complete the meal.

Submitted by Ro Htan on Thu, 31/08/2023 - 18:30

Permalink

Yes, I had a horrible meal one of the restaurants. I have never encountered like that before since I am a kind of person who enjoys every foods. Even though the service is good, the meals were not delicious at all so I am afraid to recommend you.

Submitted by Ensiye on Sat, 26/08/2023 - 19:45

Permalink

Have you ever had a bad meal in a restaurant?
That was well, But pay attention ingredients :)
I usually invite myself to the restaurant as a reward when I have advanced my to-do list according to my schedule in 1 to 2 months. Since I love pizza, I usually order pizza. Also, I love hot green pepper and add it to all of my food.
two weeks ago, I dined out and I ordered pizza as usual. of course, one which I hadn't eaten before( with the name of shicago). It was well but when I ordered, I didn't pay enough attention that there weren't any vegetables as ingredients and It was an experience that proved me I really preferred to have vegetables in my food.
the environment was calm with light music with a view to the highway.

Submitted by Boo294 on Fri, 04/08/2023 - 03:37

Permalink

Sumathi Restaurant - Belize City
This restaurant has bad customer service. Owners allow in-laws to disrespect and mistreat customers while consumption. In-laws go as far as verbally abusing you and threathening you and calling police while spending your money there. These are very crazy scenarios you may want to avoid.

Submitted by julminador on Wed, 31/05/2023 - 15:05

Permalink

Sarku, Bogotá
★★★★★
Delectable mains, excellent sushi and delicious dessert

I went to this restaurant whit my girlfriend, I had something like Peruvian food in mind but Asian food sounds fine to me, I am open to new dishes.

I have seen a sort of burrito in a large menu at the entrance, but when we were already inside the normal menu didn’t have neither this “burrito” nor another type of hamburger but with rice instead of bread.

We ordered as a main one order of Ikigai which was new for us, a kind of ball shaped crab palm tempura very juicy and overall delicious.
Then the main dish arrives we order ceviche sushi and sushi with crab palm and coconut milk, we interchange half of each dish to try both. It was a great idea because both tasted very well, but for me a little better the ceviche sushi.

In the end we ordered a chocolate volcano that was like a chocolate cake with liquid chocolate inside accompanied by ice cream for dessert. I am really a chocolate lover, so the taste was perfect for me.

We will definitely return to this restaurant.

Submitted by yosita on Thu, 25/05/2023 - 01:24

Permalink

I loved the food, the service was great, the dishes were just delicious, I'll recommend it.

Submitted by wisdom1979 on Fri, 14/04/2023 - 19:13

Permalink

This is one of my best experience of a good resaurant
We four of us went there for lunch.there was crowded but we surprisingly wait a few moment and then could take a seat.the place was clean and waiters with their uniforms were clean and behaving polite so one of them took our orders.a few moment later the side dishes was brought to us in which included season salad yogurt olive and some onion .we tasted salad and yogurt that was delicious . after nearly 20minutes mains arrived including kebab(grilled lamb meat)with boiled rice and grilled tomato. It sounded delicious and actually was.at at the end we got the bill and found it almost fairly and not so expensive.