A restaurant review

A restaurant review

Learn how to write a restaurant review.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Vega, New York

Reviewed yesterday

★★★☆☆

Great mains, pity about the chips

Came for lunch with my sister. We loved our Thai-style mains which were amazing with lots of flavour, very impressive for a vegetarian restaurant.

But the service was below average and the chips were too terrible to finish.

When we arrived at 1.40, we had to wait 20 minutes while they got our table ready. OK, so we didn't have a reservation, but the restaurant was only half full. There was no reason to make us wait at all.

We ordered the chips as a side dish and they looked delicious. But, when we tasted them, they were overcooked and swimming in oil so we left most of them. We expected a lot more for $10!

When the waiter asked if everything was ok, we said we really didn't like the chips and he said 'That's funny, I love them' and that was it. He didn't offer us anything else or take them off our bill. Also, when we didn't leave a tip, he looked annoyed.

I was really excited about visiting Vega, and the mains were just fantastic, but the rest of the experience was really disappointing.

Tips

  1. Use an informal or semi-formal style.
  2. In the title, give the main idea or opinion.
  3. Write about the important parts of the experience, not every detail.
  4. Organise your ideas into paragraphs.
  5. Write about the good and the bad.

Task 1

Task 2

Task 3

Discussion

Download
Worksheet104.9 KB

Language level

Average: 4.1 (50 votes)
Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.
Profile picture for user Nikolaos Stavrianakis

Submitted by Nikolaos Stavr… on Sun, 08/03/2020 - 09:18

Permalink
Hi ! Could you tell me, please the expression mains is that American? As far as I know in the UK people say main dishes. English people are using a lot the expression, switch off at the mains ( electricity) Thank you Nikolaos
Profile picture for user Kirk Moore

Submitted by Kirk Moore on Sun, 08/03/2020 - 09:59

In reply to by Nikolaos Stavr…

Permalink

Hello again Nikolaos

When the reviewer says 'mains', it is an informal way of saying 'main dishes'. I lived in the US for many years, and I don't think I ever heard anyone there says 'mains' in this way. This and the fact that the reviewer speaks of 'chips' (where Americans would say 'fries') makes it quite clear the reviewer is British.

In context, some Americans might understand 'mains' to mean the electricity, but I think most would not. In American English the most common words for this are 'power' and 'electricity'.

All the best

Kirk

The LearnEnglish Team

Submitted by jazmin marquez on Thu, 05/03/2020 - 23:56

Permalink
Yes, I had a bad meal in a restaurant. Last year, my boyfriend and I went to a very striking restaurant. We went because I had insisted on its decoration, which I thought was the house of Dragon Ball Z. To our surprise, the food was really fresh and the waiter was terrible. We ordered a plate of sushi and rice with vegetables. The sushi had no flavor and the rice was swimming in oil. We waited a long time after eating, but the waiter never brought the drinks. We didn't have to wait for a table because the restaurant was empty, now I understand why.

Submitted by Elius Hossain on Sun, 23/02/2020 - 06:15

Permalink
Externally fantastic, internally not Me and one of my friends went for dinnar by viewing excellent review from online about 'X' restuarant. But, restaurant meals were not up to the mark especially 'mutton curry'. Planned for dinnar with my friend. We searched restuarants via online and got one named 'X' restuarant. Review was good enough. Moreover, there website was so amazing to attract anyone. The mains were fantastic and well-pictured. Came at 9:00 pm and got a quick reservation though there was a crowady environment. A waiter surved our foods. We started tasting the food and found 'mutton curry' undercooked and oily. Furthermore, salad was not provided. We tried to make attention to the waiter a couple of times while he was busy with another reservation. My friend got annoyed for such a bad service. We didn't eat fully. The waiter came here for taking bill off and we gave the bill without leaving a tip. The waiter looked unhappy. Expecting a great dinner, we got a bad one.

Submitted by huyentran on Mon, 17/02/2020 - 01:57

Permalink
I had a bad meal during my trip to Thailand. it was the first day I went to Thailand and when I arrived at the hotel it was night so I decided to have dinner at the hotel. but their food is bad, I don't know because I'm not used to their food or their food is bad but that made me very disappointed in the first place. On the other hand, it's very expensive

Submitted by shahhoseini on Sat, 15/02/2020 - 18:59

Permalink
As far as I can remember, I haven't experienced this situation, so far.

Submitted by Vika Demina on Tue, 11/02/2020 - 04:14

Permalink
Month ago I was in Chinese restaurant in Moscow. Usually when I come to similar restaurant I prefer to order tom yam. Its a real quest for me to find a good tom yam in Moscow. After 30 minutes waiting for my meal, waiter brought me something looked like a chicken bouillon with one or two squid rings floating in it. No shrimps, no mushrooms, no chili pepper, for a second it seemed to me like it was soup from the hospital for diabetics. As a result, on that day I was very upset and hungry.

Submitted by conejo on Tue, 04/02/2020 - 02:42

Permalink
We have had a bad experience in a local restaurant near my house, which was the best option for sundays in the past. However today this restaurant is the worst of the Block because the food is oily, burnt and Cold.

Submitted by hungrymoon on Mon, 13/01/2020 - 14:11

Permalink
Ok so. Let's review Beykoz. Probably you hear the name Beykoz, but this restaurant is not that one. Near Mogan lake, this restaurant is above average which come to mind with excellent service and steaks. In fact Beykoz is not only a restaurant that you can find good steak but also excellent drinking. I think that if you want to drink some alcoholic drinking, the restaurant has to a good view. Otherwise, what other thing could differ any restaurant than the others? No such a restaurant you may find in Ankara. Anyway, as I mentioned above, If you want to eat some delicious steak and drink wine or Turkish raki, this option must be one of the favourites.

Submitted by gzacharias on Fri, 22/11/2019 - 16:18

Permalink
Yes, I´ve already had a bad meal in a restaurant. It was in Spain, 2007. My wife and I went to a restaurant, a beautiful one, but right before our food arrive, a person at the table next to us started smoking. The smell was terrible and we could not move to another chair, because it was full and it was allowed to smoke everywhere. Since then, we have always been looking for non-smoking restaurants