A restaurant review

A restaurant review

Learn how to write a restaurant review.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Vega, New York

Reviewed yesterday

★★★☆☆

Great mains, pity about the chips

Came for lunch with my sister. We loved our Thai-style mains which were amazing with lots of flavour, very impressive for a vegetarian restaurant.

But the service was below average and the chips were too terrible to finish.

When we arrived at 1.40, we had to wait 20 minutes while they got our table ready. OK, so we didn't have a reservation, but the restaurant was only half full. There was no reason to make us wait at all.

We ordered the chips as a side dish and they looked delicious. But, when we tasted them, they were overcooked and swimming in oil so we left most of them. We expected a lot more for $10!

When the waiter asked if everything was ok, we said we really didn't like the chips and he said 'That's funny, I love them' and that was it. He didn't offer us anything else or take them off our bill. Also, when we didn't leave a tip, he looked annoyed.

I was really excited about visiting Vega, and the mains were just fantastic, but the rest of the experience was really disappointing.

Tips

  1. Use an informal or semi-formal style.
  2. In the title, give the main idea or opinion.
  3. Write about the important parts of the experience, not every detail.
  4. Organise your ideas into paragraphs.
  5. Write about the good and the bad.

Task 1

Task 2

Task 3

Discussion

Download
Worksheet104.9 KB

Language level

Average: 4.1 (56 votes)
Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.

Submitted by yosita on Thu, 25/05/2023 - 01:24

Permalink

I loved the food, the service was great, the dishes were just delicious, I'll recommend it.

Submitted by wisdom1979 on Fri, 14/04/2023 - 19:13

Permalink

This is one of my best experience of a good resaurant
We four of us went there for lunch.there was crowded but we surprisingly wait a few moment and then could take a seat.the place was clean and waiters with their uniforms were clean and behaving polite so one of them took our orders.a few moment later the side dishes was brought to us in which included season salad yogurt olive and some onion .we tasted salad and yogurt that was delicious . after nearly 20minutes mains arrived including kebab(grilled lamb meat)with boiled rice and grilled tomato. It sounded delicious and actually was.at at the end we got the bill and found it almost fairly and not so expensive.

Submitted by I.es91 on Mon, 10/04/2023 - 03:31

Permalink

honestly, I'm not an expert in food and flavors, so I think I didn't have a bad meal before. Maybe It just once with truffle egg which was horrible and disappointing and because of this order I will never try truffle anymore.

Submitted by Mohammad KRIDLY on Tue, 07/03/2023 - 07:49

Permalink

Good experience in a Turkish restaurant FIRINCI
I went with my colleague there last Friday, they welcomed us and found us a good table which had a view to the kitchen for seeing the chiefs while working in.
As a side menu they brought us a season salat, a green salad and yogurt that they famous for.
We ordered steak with mushroom sos and chicken wings with special sos which were so delicious.
All the time waiter were asking us if everything ok and they made up what we complained, they were so helpful.
The thing that we didn’t expected is the pill was very expensive.
I was really excited about visiting a Turkish restaurant but I’ll thing a lot before trying it another time because going to this tip of restaurant needs a big budget.
If their prices had been realistic I would go there another time.

Submitted by ariadnagrc on Fri, 24/02/2023 - 19:12

Permalink

Yes, I had a very bad meal at one of my favorite restaurants, it was with a salad, I order it because it sound fresh and sweet, but when it came, the salad was served with an awkward kind of cheese, in the minute I try it, I almost return the bite, it was awful, I gotta mention that I haven´t tried that kind of cheese before and I will never try it again. I can even eat it, so yes i had a very bad meal before

Submitted by Trang Luu on Fri, 24/02/2023 - 06:11

Permalink

I had dinner with my family at the central city restaurant many years ago. The restaurant welcomed us with warm and friendly. The mains was good with all of meals we love. We enjoyed the food until we found the chicken still red inside. It wasn't cook enough. The manager came to say sorry but she still thought the dish was good. So we have never came to that restaurant again.

Submitted by ZARA_MH on Thu, 16/02/2023 - 02:06

Permalink

VELASCO WEBSITE
A few months ago I went to dinner with my boyfriend. The atmosphere of the restaurant was excellent, the waiting time was pleasant and the attention was incredible.

When we arrived there was no line to order so we immediately ordered 2 cups of chocolate.
After ordering, we looked for a table and waited around 10 minutes for the hot choclate to arrive, while we appreciated the music that set the place.

We really recommend the restaurant, because the taste of the food is incredible, the prices are affordable and the atmosphere and attention from the staff is amazing.

Submitted by EMF_12 on Wed, 18/01/2023 - 02:48

Permalink

CARMELO'S PIZZA & PASTAS
For dinner, I went there with my girlfriend. At first sight, the place was a little messy and unclean.
We both ordered a lasagna special, which was delicious and had just come out of the oven. A bit oily but just on edge. The attendant was kind, and the food arrived in 20 minutes, which I consider a prudent time to cook that dishes.
Overall, it was a good experience, and I would go again.

Submitted by Alvin Chau on Mon, 19/12/2022 - 09:55

Permalink

Few months ago, I went to a Thai restaurant in Saigon city with my old colleagues. I was very impressive by the it's architecture even it places in a small alley inside the downtown. This restaurant is one of the famous restaurant in the city, hence it seems always full of customers.
We had to wait around 30 minutes to order our foods.
It's worth the wait, the foods and drinks are delicious, the side dishes with a little sweetness and main course are really spicy but I love that taste a lot.

Submitted by Ilianny_Alexis on Sat, 03/12/2022 - 16:24

Permalink

If you ask me, if I have had an experience like this. The answer is "Yes" unfortunately there are restaurants which don't know the meaning of good cooking and also customer service, they treat you as a beggar.