A letter of complaint

Learn how to write a letter of complaint.

Instructions

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to express my dismay at the service at your Eden Hill branch on Saturday 14 January.

I often collect prescriptions from the pharmacy on behalf of my grandmother, Mrs Elaine Bingham. On this occasion there were two prescriptions: one for 10 x 50 mg Kendomol and one for 50 x 100 mg Leoprone. I was served quickly even though there appeared to be only one pharmacist on duty. However, as I was leaving I saw that I had been given 500 mg tablets of Kendomol. This is ten times stronger than the prescription called for.

If I hadn't noticed the difference between the prescription and the actual tablets, my grandmother could have taken a dangerous overdose of Kendomol. I would be worried about getting any future prescriptions at Eden Hill.

The pharmacist apologised and corrected the mistake but I wanted to bring it to your attention. I think it happened because there were not enough staff on duty. I understand that mistakes happen but there needs to be a minimum of two pharmacists at all times so all prescriptions can be checked.

I hope you can take steps to make sure this mistake does not happen again.

Yours faithfully,

Roger Bingham

Tips

  1. Focus on the most important facts. Don't give unnecessary background information.
  2. Make sure you include:
    • the reason for writing (e.g. I am writing to ...)
    • what went wrong
    • what you would like to happen now.
  3. Complaint letters are usually written in a formal style.
  4. Use passives to be less direct and more formal, e.g. I was served quickly.
  5. Use Yours faithfully to sign off if you don't know the name of the person you're writing to.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet100.2 KB

Language level

Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.
Average: 4 (7 votes)

Submitted by Damole on Sun, 15/01/2023 - 19:28

Permalink

Dear sir,
I am writing to complaint about of internet connection.
Unfortunately, the internet connections frequently fails, which makes it difficult for me to deliver take to class.
To resolve the problem, i would appreciate it, if you could come to fix the internet installation, if you are unable to do this. I would candle the service.
I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem.
Regards,
Luis Hernandez.

Submitted by Luis Pavel on Sat, 03/12/2022 - 02:07

Permalink

Dear sir,
I am writing to complaint about of internet connection.
Unfortunately, the internet connections frequently fails, which makes it difficult for me to deliver take to class.
To resolve the problem, i would appreciate it, if you could come to fix the internet installation, if you are unable to do this. I would candle the service.
I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem.
Regards,
Luis Hernandez.

Dear Sir,
I am writing to express my dissatisfaction about your product that I have received.
Last days ago, I bought shoes from your company. They seem new shoes on photograph, but I realized that they have already been used although I was ordering new one.
I recommend you to check the product before deliverying it and do not fake photographs that you are posting.
If you do not deal with my complaints rightly and keep faking these photographs, I will take legal actions to stop your bad behavior.
Sincerely,
Sidi Mohamed Abdellahi Jeddou

Submitted by Ayson on Fri, 28/10/2022 - 06:47

Permalink

Dear Sir/Madam,
I am here to say that I am disappointed with your service.
First, I bought some clothes, and there was a 50% off tag on the price tag. The original price was fifty dollars, so with the discount, I expected it to be twenty-five dollars, but in the end, it was a hundred dollars! Did you mean a 200% discount?
Second, it was disgustingly unclean. The toilets were unclean, and even the clothes itself was dirty. When I went home, I put my 100$ clothes on, and there was some dirt and dust everywhere.
I expect you to do better then this.

Submitted by alexiamontes2004 on Fri, 01/07/2022 - 03:15

Permalink

Have you ever made a complaint? What happened?

If on one occasion I made a complaint because some people graffitied my house and what happened after I made the complaint is that those people were punished for the act they committed.

Submitted by Gersongtz on Wed, 29/06/2022 - 20:38

Permalink

Dear Sir/Madam,

I’m writing to you to express my disappoint about your check-in online service. I tried to check-in my flight in your app so many times, unfortunately there was a problem all day and I couldn’t do it, so I must have to do the line at the airport, in spite of the fact that I had bought a fast pass ticket. At the reception I was told that there were no seats available, consequently, I had to wait until the next flight in addition of paying again my ticket. I would like to be recompensed for this situation by at least a complete refund of the ticket.

Yours faithfully

Gerson Gutierrez

Submitted by Rita25 on Thu, 23/06/2022 - 05:02

Permalink

I am writing to express my dissatisfaction of your service and product.
I had ordered an item from you through online shop on May 8, Unfortunately It took nearly 3 weeks until the package was finally delivered. When I checked the item, I found the it was not secured tightly in a bubble wrap even thought it was a fragile item and it had been damaged. I've reached out to you through email but to no avail I haven't received a respond yet. I would like a full refund as soon as possible, I hope you can take steps to make sure this does not happen again.

Yours Faithfully,

Grace

Submitted by Shammo on Thu, 19/05/2022 - 19:44

Permalink

Dear sir,
I am writing this letter because I would like to make a complaint about some damaged goods supplied by your company.
I have ordered two pairs of mugs from your company via the internet. I have received them one week ago. Within a week, all the mugs have lost their shine and the print over them is ripping off. Two out of four mugs have already lost their handles when only held once. Also, it was mentioned on the box of the product that it is microwave proof but the mugs are unsustainable to hot water.
Please check the quality of your company's goods. If it will not be improved, then nobody will buy goods from your company. I would love for you to look into this matter, and either refund my purchase or send out another supply.
I’ve provided my number in this letter and hope that you’ll consider my request. Kindly let me know what you are going to do about this defective product.
Looking for your response , thanks.

Submitted by DarinkaMo on Sat, 19/02/2022 - 04:28

Permalink

Dear Ms Thompson:
Im introduce myself, Im Danika, and Im a regular client of you restaurante because I think that is a nice place to spend a good time in family.

But in this time I'm writing to express my dismay at the service the last time that I visited your place, because the service was slow and when the food arrived, it was super cold.

I think it happened because the waitress was using all the time her cellphone, I suggest to check and regularize if is possible the use of this electronic.
Sincerely DM