An opinion essay

Learn how to write an opinion essay.

Instructions

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Information will soon be so easy to find on the internet that people will not need to remember anything. Do you agree?

Nowadays all the information we could ever need is available online and some people say that means the end of having to learn anything.

It is true that these days everything you want to know is a few clicks away as long as you have internet access. However, not everyone has working internet all the time, for example in certain buildings or remote locations, so we do need to be able to remember information. Moreover, it takes time to look up everything you need to know online, whereas remembering something is immediate. The human memory is a much more efficient system.

Another problem is the quality of the information online. How do we know if it is accurate or reliable? We need to think about other facts we know and remember how to compare information from different websites. Knowing (and remembering) how to find certain information will be more important than knowing the information itself.

Finally, the internet is a good tool but it is not a useful replacement for our brains. If we did not remember anything, we would all spend even more time on our phones and computers than we already do, which is not good for society.

In conclusion, the internet offers us many things but it is still important to use our knowledge and memories. We need our memories to function without the internet and we also need to know how to use the internet properly.

Tips

  1. Read the question carefully. Respond to all ideas in it or all parts of it.
  2. Plan your ideas first and then choose the best ones.
  3. Introduce your essay by restating the question in your own words.
  4. Show understanding of both sides of the argument.
  5. Use linking words to connect your ideas.
  6. Draw your conclusion from the main ideas in your essay. Don't introduce new ideas at the end.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet94.48 KB

Language level

Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.
Average: 5 (6 votes)

Submitted by ibtisam98 on Fri, 13/01/2023 - 08:18

Permalink

I believe that, The internet become even more dangerous for young people who barely discovered the world around them, If they count on it for seeking information without parental supervision, it would be a disaster!

Submitted by Berke12 on Thu, 01/12/2022 - 10:09

Permalink

In nowadays,there are many ways to reach information.The Internet is just one of them but maybe most promising one.The Internet helps us to find information easily and efficently.

However there are some negative sides of Internet.For instance realibilty of information.There are no real control on Internet.I reckon there will not be soon.This reduces the trust in internet.This is why People will always need another source to be make sure and need to remember information.

It is also necesseray for objectivity. You can not just have one source and expect true and impartial information. It is against nature of science.This is not how science works.People must have and process the information.In this way we expand our knowledge.When we make brainstorm we always end up with another information. If we don’t have and process the information how Science works?

I suppose in the future People will never trust completely to Internet. They will always need another source and they will need to interrogate source of information.In conclusion Internet is by far most promising invention People have ever invented.However Internet is not beyond our brain and imagination.We will always need to posses and process the information.

Submitted by sidimedjiddouhie0 on Thu, 27/10/2022 - 02:02

Permalink

It is about my hometown:
My hometown is a beautiful, attractive and cool. N'beika is one of the most famous places in Mauritania where attractive views and economic capacities are in. It is located in Tagant which is in middle of the map.
Therefore, It is one the biggest cities in the country. As there are interesting geographical features such as: high Mountains, nice valleys, light hills and wonderful pools.
Historically, N'beika played an important role in culture, trade exchange and fighting colonialist. Also it has saved historical landmarks, for example: manuscripts, books and cities which the most important is Gasr Albarka.
In the north, there have tourist views and in the East big mountains with lovely valleys like Matmata where there are some Alligators in and other attractive animals. As well as from the south and the west there are some fields, forests and farms.
Moreover, people are interested in agriculture, trade, development and education. Furthermore, there are many schools and Mahidras and three colleges providing well-deserved education to students. What's more, mall shops is offering demands and created jobs for unemployment.
There are different favourite for people , some of them are crazy about football as youth, and some people like doing agriculture and development. Moreover, there are entrepreneurs doing a small business like selling clothes, pitch, barbershop... etc.
In conclusion, N'beika is a gift of Allah that has given to people to spend nice moments in order to feel happy and to invest for everything we want due to gain lots of money .

Submitted by jamesdbaxter12 on Fri, 12/08/2022 - 15:54

Permalink

I believe it is amazing updated technology which has helped us a lot in our lives. In todays era everyone has access to internet over the globe. you can easily find all the information on internet that is required to you. Even though learn many new skills which aren't even taught you from the help of internet. it is good help for book writer like us where we can be part of book writing communities or book writing resources to enhance our skills and provides more guidance to others.

Submitted by Rita25 on Wed, 06/07/2022 - 02:48

Permalink

It would be unfortunate if we never learned anything at all. It is true that the Internet has become such a vital part of our social lives, and has made information accessible. However, Relying on the Internet all the time may hinders our growth as a person whereas, using our memory to remember things and recalled information can widen our horizons, broaden our perspective and harness our skills. Learning is a lifelong process that enables us to function effectively and brings out our full potentials.

Submitted by Abrarhussain on Mon, 14/02/2022 - 23:47

Permalink

Without learning the internet would not exit. There needs to be learning to develop skills and knowledge.

Submitted by Suraj paliwal on Tue, 09/11/2021 - 15:12

Permalink

I think it become worse and dangerous for our society. We need to control it makes rules and regulations.

Submitted by OlyLavenir on Mon, 25/10/2021 - 01:43

Permalink

Todays, many people are browsing on the internet to learn or to find informations about something they already knew or not.
First of all, The internet helps people to browse any type of informations their are looking for, however to start searching what you want you have to pay for Data to have connection. Moreover you may have a Smartphone or a Personal Computer to go browse through it.
On the other hand, internet has many advantages. People can save their data Online or something they don't want to forget or loose. Internet has many other tools like online Calendar, but is it while it can replace our brain memory?
To sum up, internet helps people to find information easily, furthermore we have to be aware of those information and be able to distinguish good or bad information. In that case internet cannot replace our memory.

Submitted by Ehsan on Tue, 27/07/2021 - 13:35

Permalink
I think our body, brain and spirit are flexible and need to be challenged to grow. Otherwise they will become weak and will be destroyed. It is better to use the tools and devices invented by man as helpers and assistances, and always challenge ourselves.
Profile picture for user amit_ck

Submitted by amit_ck on Thu, 22/07/2021 - 09:05

Permalink
These stars are their role models and watching them on television ENCOURAGES PARTICIPATION IN sporting activities because the young try to emulate the people they admire. Why in this the writer did not use “Them” after “Encourages”. And this sentence could be “Watching them on television encourages THEM PARTICIPATING in sporting activities” if I am not wrong. Why there is noun after Encourage? Could you please give me some examples of this kind of sentences with grammar structure?