A letter of complaint

A letter of complaint

Learn how to write a letter of complaint.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Preparation

Reading text

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to express my dismay at the service at your Eden Hill branch on Saturday 14 January.

I often collect prescriptions from the pharmacy on behalf of my grandmother, Mrs Elaine Bingham. On this occasion there were two prescriptions: one for 10 x 50 mg Kendomol and one for 50 x 100 mg Leoprone. I was served quickly even though there appeared to be only one pharmacist on duty. However, as I was leaving I saw that I had been given 500 mg tablets of Kendomol. This is ten times stronger than the prescription called for.

If I hadn't noticed the difference between the prescription and the actual tablets, my grandmother could have taken a dangerous overdose of Kendomol. I would be worried about getting any future prescriptions at Eden Hill.

The pharmacist apologised and corrected the mistake but I wanted to bring it to your attention. I think it happened because there were not enough staff on duty. I understand that mistakes happen but there needs to be a minimum of two pharmacists at all times so all prescriptions can be checked.

I hope you can take steps to make sure this mistake does not happen again.

Yours faithfully,

Roger Bingham

Tips

  1. Focus on the most important facts. Don't give unnecessary background information.
  2. Make sure you include:
    • the reason for writing (e.g. I am writing to ...)
    • what went wrong
    • what you would like to happen now.
  3. Complaint letters are usually written in a formal style.
  4. Use passives to be less direct and more formal, e.g. I was served quickly.
  5. Use Yours faithfully to sign off if you don't know the name of the person you're writing to.

Task 1

Task 2

Task 3

Discussion

Download
Worksheet100.2 KB

Language level

Topics

Average: 4 (40 votes)
Do you need to improve your English writing skills?
Join thousands of learners from around the world who are improving their English writing skills with our live online classes and personal tutoring courses.

Submitted by oisoueuatina on Wed, 06/03/2024 - 15:07

Permalink

Yes, I wrote a complaint about the availability of left-handed tables during an exam. While making the registration in the website I had the option to demand for the table, but when I arrived there I had to ask again. I was lucky and happily got mine, but I know a few people who had to use right-handed tables. 

Submitted by lkhagvasuren on Mon, 23/10/2023 - 17:32

Permalink

I never made any formal complaint before. Since I now learned how to write one, I might make it if any reasonable dissatisfaction arises.

Submitted by Ensiye on Mon, 11/09/2023 - 20:33

Permalink

Dear Sir/Madam,
I am writing to express my dismay at the internet service at Ghanat Kosar Boulevard on wensday12 January. It took a lot of time to give me services. There appeared to be only one clerk on duty and It is never enough for such a big branch. There were a lot of people in the queue.

I waited for about one hour to get my turn. I was supposed to fill out a form to register a phone line. This service wouldn't be done online because of some server repairs for a while.

when I was leaving the building, I realized that the phone number on the receipt was wrong. If I hadn't realized the typo mistake, the Phone line activation process would have been done for another line and this matter would probably have been known after three days. As a result, I would have been forced to go through the whole process again.

The clerk apologised and corrected the mistake but I wanted to bring it to your attention.

I think it happened because there were not enough staff on duty. I understand that mistakes happen but in this situation where the site is unavailable, enough staff should have been considered.

I hope you can take steps to make sure there is enough staff on duty when online services are unavailable.

Yours faithfully,
Ensiye Karimi

Submitted by I.es91 on Mon, 01/05/2023 - 23:48

Permalink

Yes, I have.
Yesterday when I went to get my meals from the box, I did not found it. So, I called the driver to make sure if he put it inside the box and he say yes. I was so confused because I told him more than once call me before you arrived. After I checked with the security, I found it outside the box. I was happy but still confuse from the driver and tell him again to call me before he arrived.

Submitted by inaki07 on Tue, 28/02/2023 - 18:41

Permalink

Yes, when in a restaurant the attention was so bad, we had to make a complaint against the encharged person.

Submitted by murad.edu on Tue, 14/02/2023 - 20:08

Permalink

Dear Sir/Madam

I am writing to express my unpleasure about the services at Computer World Center.
Needless to say that I am very loyal customer, because almost my electronic devices have been purchased from your center.

On October 15, I purchased a new camera Canon model N1234, this camera supposed to be delivered to my address within two days as maximum, according to your policies.

Unfortunately, this purchase took four days until delivered, and that what was not taken into account at all.

This delay caused a serious problem to my sister's graduation ceremony which took place on October 18.

For this issue and not to occur again, I strongly recommended you to be more punctual and strict on shipping or find a alternative method of delivering.

Your faithfully
Murad Amer

Submitted by Damole on Sun, 15/01/2023 - 19:28

Permalink

Dear sir,
I am writing to complaint about of internet connection.
Unfortunately, the internet connections frequently fails, which makes it difficult for me to deliver take to class.
To resolve the problem, i would appreciate it, if you could come to fix the internet installation, if you are unable to do this. I would candle the service.
I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem.
Regards,
Luis Hernandez.

Submitted by Luis Pavel on Sat, 03/12/2022 - 02:07

Permalink

Dear sir,
I am writing to complaint about of internet connection.
Unfortunately, the internet connections frequently fails, which makes it difficult for me to deliver take to class.
To resolve the problem, i would appreciate it, if you could come to fix the internet installation, if you are unable to do this. I would candle the service.
I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem.
Regards,
Luis Hernandez.