An opinion essay

An opinion essay

Learn how to write an opinion essay.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Information will soon be so easy to find on the internet that people will not need to remember anything. Do you agree?

Nowadays all the information we could ever need is available online and some people say that means the end of having to learn anything.

It is true that these days everything you want to know is a few clicks away as long as you have internet access. However, not everyone has working internet all the time, for example in certain buildings or remote locations, so we do need to be able to remember information. Moreover, it takes time to look up everything you need to know online, whereas remembering something is immediate. The human memory is a much more efficient system.

Another problem is the quality of the information online. How do we know if it is accurate or reliable? We need to think about other facts we know and remember how to compare information from different websites. Knowing (and remembering) how to find certain information will be more important than knowing the information itself.

Finally, the internet is a good tool but it is not a useful replacement for our brains. If we did not remember anything, we would all spend even more time on our phones and computers than we already do, which is not good for society.

In conclusion, the internet offers us many things but it is still important to use our knowledge and memories. We need our memories to function without the internet and we also need to know how to use the internet properly.

Tips

  1. Read the question carefully. Respond to all ideas in it or all parts of it.
  2. Plan your ideas first and then choose the best ones.
  3. Introduce your essay by restating the question in your own words.
  4. Show understanding of both sides of the argument.
  5. Use linking words to connect your ideas.
  6. Draw your conclusion from the main ideas in your essay. Don't introduce new ideas at the end.

Task 1

Task 2

Task 3

Discussion

Download
Worksheet94.48 KB

Language level

Average: 4.4 (23 votes)

Submitted by Rita25 on Wed, 06/07/2022 - 02:48

Permalink

It would be unfortunate if we never learned anything at all. It is true that the Internet has become such a vital part of our social lives, and has made information accessible. However, Relying on the Internet all the time may hinders our growth as a person whereas, using our memory to remember things and recalled information can widen our horizons, broaden our perspective and harness our skills. Learning is a lifelong process that enables us to function effectively and brings out our full potentials.

Submitted by Abrarhussain on Mon, 14/02/2022 - 23:47

Permalink

Without learning the internet would not exit. There needs to be learning to develop skills and knowledge.

Submitted by Suraj paliwal on Tue, 09/11/2021 - 15:12

Permalink

I think it become worse and dangerous for our society. We need to control it makes rules and regulations.

Submitted by OlyLavenir on Mon, 25/10/2021 - 01:43

Permalink

Todays, many people are browsing on the internet to learn or to find informations about something they already knew or not.
First of all, The internet helps people to browse any type of informations their are looking for, however to start searching what you want you have to pay for Data to have connection. Moreover you may have a Smartphone or a Personal Computer to go browse through it.
On the other hand, internet has many advantages. People can save their data Online or something they don't want to forget or loose. Internet has many other tools like online Calendar, but is it while it can replace our brain memory?
To sum up, internet helps people to find information easily, furthermore we have to be aware of those information and be able to distinguish good or bad information. In that case internet cannot replace our memory.

Submitted by Ehsan on Tue, 27/07/2021 - 13:35

Permalink
I think our body, brain and spirit are flexible and need to be challenged to grow. Otherwise they will become weak and will be destroyed. It is better to use the tools and devices invented by man as helpers and assistances, and always challenge ourselves.
Profile picture for user amit_ck

Submitted by amit_ck on Thu, 22/07/2021 - 09:05

Permalink
These stars are their role models and watching them on television ENCOURAGES PARTICIPATION IN sporting activities because the young try to emulate the people they admire. Why in this the writer did not use “Them” after “Encourages”. And this sentence could be “Watching them on television encourages THEM PARTICIPATING in sporting activities” if I am not wrong. Why there is noun after Encourage? Could you please give me some examples of this kind of sentences with grammar structure?

Hello amit_ck,

Please note that we don't normally help our users with questions from other sources, as it's challenging enough for us to keep up with all the questions about our own materials.

As you can see in the dictionary, 'encourage' is typically followed by a noun (e.g. 'participation') or a noun + infinitive (e.g. 'them to participate'), not a noun + -ing form (e.g. not 'them participating').

I'm afraid we're not generally able to provide extended explanations of grammar and vocabulary that can be easily found in other online resources.

All the best,

Kirk

The LearnEnglish Team

 

Thank you so much Kirk. You are always kind of us :)

Submitted by Dibesciak on Thu, 22/04/2021 - 16:00

Permalink
Nowadays, all knowledge is available in the internet. Just by searching on my smartphone I am able to find lot of information which I need. Internet for me is amazing tool because I can get useful knowlegde or learn new skill , currently needed. Instead of find information in the books or in the courses , I can get anything I need after few clicks after just take out my smartphone from my pocket. On the other hand, we can not rely only on the internet , Internet never replace human memory. We can learn many things from our parents or in the school which we will not be able to find online or is not reliable as not everything on the internet can be a true. To sum up, internet is very useful and practice tool to find knowledge, but it will never replace human brain and experiences what our parents can passed to us.

Submitted by YED on Tue, 13/04/2021 - 00:52

Permalink
The use of internet can have advantages and disadvantages as far as memory is concerned. First of all with the new IA, we can think it is easier to learn an information and we don t need to remember it , as we can look for it another day on the web. However, we have to remember with our brain how we got the information the previous time. For instance, we have to remember which key word we used , which website were more appropriate . We also have to check if the information is still valid or if it has changed. In conclusion, internet can be a support if it is used properly, But we still need our memory, otherwise we can not rememeber how to use internet .