A music review

A music review

Learn how to write an album review.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Preparation

Reading text

Want a job as a music journalist? Here's your chance. We're looking for a new lead reviewer for Hot! Magazine but we're not interviewing for the job. Instead, write a review of your favourite album ever. We want to know why you love it and why you think everyone should listen to it. Convince us and you've got the job!

I'm certainly not alone with my choice of favourite album. In fact, Bruce Springsteen's Born in the USA has sold 30 million copies worldwide since its release in 1984. Nearly 30 years later, in 2013, Springsteen performed the complete album in concert to the delight of some of his many die-hard fans.

A fast-paced, foot-tapping rock album, Born in the USA's lyrics nevertheless carry emotional weight. Behind the catchy rock melodies that drive these powerhouse classics are stories of the dark side of the American dream. Many tracks deal with the struggles of hard-working ordinary people and the bitterness and anger they feel as life doesn't bring them riches or glory. The song Glory Days, for example, is about people in a small town looking back at when they were young and had the world at their feet while Downbound Train tells the story of a young man whose life is ruined when he loses his job. It's not hard to imagine that the artist is channelling real people he knew and the life he might have had if he hadn't become a star. The album will leave you in no doubt of the unique and extraordinary talent of the Boss.

Unlike many other best-selling album artists, Springsteen is still releasing chart-topping, stadium-filling new music and remains at the top of his game in his late 60s. It doesn't surprise me at all. This is a man who tells us our most fundamental stories about ourselves and, when you listen to Born in the USA, those stories are as relevant today as they ever were.

Tips

  1. The first paragraph should be a general introduction to what you're reviewing. Include the title, artist, and an interesting fact about its success or how it was made.
  2. The main body of the review needs detailed observations. Use specific vocabulary (e.g. lyrics, fast-paced, catchy melodies) to comment on particular songs and parts of the music.
  3. It is also important to give context. Link the music to the artist's life, or what inspired them, and the political or social context of the album.
  4. Try to make the review interesting and relevant to the reader. You can relate the artist's work to real-life experience (yours or that of people in general).
  5. Use compound adjectives (e.g. fast-paced, foot-tapping, best-selling) to make your writing highly descriptive.
  6. Finish off with a summary of why this album/concert, etc. is important.

Task 1

Task 2

Task 3

Discussion

Download
Worksheet78.51 KB

Language level

Average: 4.4 (33 votes)
Profile picture for user Melon

Submitted by Melon on Sat, 08/06/2024 - 00:04

Permalink

Our teen years are a period that marks us all, for better or worse. The feelings experienced during that phase reverberate like echoes, returning only as memories. In 2019, mxmtoon released her debut album, The Masquerade, which quickly caught the attention of social media. The album, composed by Maia (mxmtoon), combines her characteristic ukulele tunes with both poignant lyrics and vibrant melodies that explore the difficulties of youth and self-discovery. An Album soulful enough to bring a glimpse of those juvenile feelings. Especially if you're into lo-fi, indie, and/or pop music.

Many songs in The Masquerade are open to multiple interpretations. All of them coincide in addressing sorrowful themes she encountered at that age. Unspoken words, for example, explore the distress of having unexpressed feelings for her grandma, who recently passed away. While also having a more "romantic" interpretation, talking about unexpressed feelings for a close friend. These themes in combination with catchy melodies. Provide an emotional musical experience for all melancholic people out there.

The hybrid combination of lo-fi and pop-indie melodies. Fused with harmonious choruses. And soul stirring lyrics. Makes possible musical jewels like Prom Dress, Unspoken Words, and High and Dry.

 

 

Submitted by brandon.. on Wed, 05/06/2024 - 02:23

Permalink

It is not common for me to have a favorite musical album, but an album that I really like is daring by the artist trueno, who is an Argentine singer, this album was a great success with good acceptance by fans.
The songs in general are very good, with trap lyrics, and with street vibes and about his life coming from the slums, my favorite song on this album is mamichula, which has a very good, deep melody, it transmits various feelings, Also, I like the theme of the song, which is about a love relationship.
For the artist Trueno it is a very important album since it was his first album which was well received, this being the starting point for the others, and in my personal opinion his songs transmit many thoughts and feelings to me.

Submitted by dianamoreno03 on Fri, 17/05/2024 - 20:44

Permalink

I am not a die-hard fan of any kind of music, but if i have to choose one, I can say "One Direction" could be my favorite band, they have this catchy melodys and I love to listen their music in my free time.
They were a pop band with incredible personalities and talent
They started on a TV show "The X Factor" but now they are a single artists
Their songs had emotional weight and a particular lyrics that we all love

Submitted by _icandoitandiwill_ on Sun, 28/04/2024 - 20:32

Permalink

The person I look up to is Jennifer Lopez who wrote many albums, yet on the SuperBowl in Miami presented her song called 'Born in the USA' which is one of my favourite.

That music event was beyond words. There were vivid melodies and lyrics which I knew by heart which made this experience much more enjoyable. She also wrote the song called 'Let's get loud' to increase woman's power. It relates to a singer and Latinas, and inspired her to make her voice heard about their situation. 

Submitted by Until_i_got_band_9 on Wed, 24/04/2024 - 11:17

Permalink

As a hardcore K-pop fan, my ultimate favorite album is the last Big Bang's work as a full group called M.A.D.E. It was published in 2016 and has sold more than 3 million copies since then. The piece served as a goodbye to fans before the scandal ruined it all.

Combining a diverse range of music types, from EDM, and hip hop to ballads, and R&B, Big Bang never failed to deliver top-notch music to their fan. The most well-known hit of this album, Bang Bang Bang, with a fast-paced and rocky melody, can mistakes to others about the meaningful message the album conveys. Generally, they tell stories of young people's love, and their struggle with it, along with the existential crisis. The slow ballad and R&B of Loser, Last Dance, If You, and Let Not Fall In Love get us through the lenses of the demise of relationships, which leads to self-doubt and sorrow. Then they brought us back to life with Fxxk It, mid-tempo melodic resonated with playful tones that set us with the spirit of 'don't hesitate and just go for it'. Lastly, We Like 2 Party, with a joyful melody sets a tone to celebrate the hyper part of youth. When I first heard those songs, I couldn't relate much, as life was still easy for me at that time, now they are my comfort space to go back and get consoled through the hardship of my 20s.

Even though one member had to leave the group and they no longer make music together, Big Bang songs in general, particularly this album, still hold a special place in my heart. And fans hope one day we can meet again at their concert.

Submitted by I_AM_HULK on Mon, 01/04/2024 - 19:03

Permalink

Though this album comes out of controversies in the artist's life, it does not back off from showing her talent and knowledge of the music industry. The album I am referring to is ‘Eternal Sunshine,’ and the artist is the famous Ariana Grande. Soon after her divorce, the album was released, and doubtless the contents of the marriage were not spared. Her most famous song of the album is ‘Yes, and?’ addressing the rumors and gossip about her and unapologetically saying yes, and? to them all. The song came out with a new look of the artist and also a slight departure from her popular voice, but not the style. If not easily by the voice, then by the lyrics, you can guess the artist. All of the songs on the album are catchy and stay in your head for a long time, including ‘The Boy Is Mine’ and ‘Boy Bye.’ Despite it being my favorite album, there is space for criticism as well. There are not many deep lyrics in the songs, rather a collection of rhyming short repetitive lines, but the melody and the artist's voice make them catchy to listen to. These songs are more of dancing and rising songs, songs you listen to make yourself feel better, but after a while, they get irritating for their lack of meaningfulness and diversity. The subject in all the songs is highly related to the artist's life and past or current events and her feelings towards them. Most of the song themes are already covered by the artist in past albums. Having said that, the talent and creativity are nonetheless not in doubt. The songs are a great hit in the pop music genre, just what is intended.

 

P.S. Feel free to post comments.

Submitted by myatsoe101 on Sat, 24/02/2024 - 07:27

Permalink

I’m certainly not the only one with my choice of best album. In fact, “NEW JEANS” album which debut album of k-pop girl group, NewJeans received great attention as soon as it came out.

At first ,  NewJeans is interesting because of being the junior girl group of BTS who is the most popular k pop group all over the world. After I listened to the debut album, i felt like this is the music what K-pop is really needed nowadays. There are four songs in the album. Each song have chill melodies which is really different main current of K-pop market. This kind of music attracts a lot of fans and the debut album helps NewJeans to become one of most popular K-pop girl group. I really like the song”Hype Boy”. The name and lyrics make the audience to think the high school life and the melody is so chill and relax. The whole album maintain the same style. Because of this album, NewJeans got a lot of scores and awards.

Submitted by Fernandoo_21 on Fri, 26/01/2024 - 03:14

Permalink

Junior H has a total of 8 albums, and I couldn't choose just one as my favorite. I've been listening to him since the beginning of his career in 2019. The start of his singing career wasn't easy; he faced many failures with his compositions to the point of contemplating retirement. However, one day, in his last attempt, he composed "No he cambiado," a song he sent to a promoter named "Mexicano music," who uploaded it to YouTube. Junior H thought about asking him to delete it because he felt sad about his previous failures, but he decided to give it a chance. After 2 weeks, the song had 2 million views, which motivated him to release more music.
One of his most listened-to albums, "Mi vida en un cigarro," features melodies with deep lyrics, such as the song "Extssy Model," which talks about the reunion with a past love, causing him great pain because he still feels immense nostalgia for that relationship. In conclusion, Junior H's albums have very good songs, mostly addressing heartbreaks, and they explain the consequences of the suffering caused by these experiences.

Submitted by edgar Leyva on Mon, 22/01/2024 - 21:30

Permalink

I think my favorite album of all time is Punto y Aparte from Panter Belico is about corridos and romantic music in banda.

Submitted by Gallegos_03 on Wed, 17/01/2024 - 18:57

Permalink

In 2024 where in Mexico you listen to a lot of corrido, raps and "rock", there is a singer that I really like more than the others and I could call him my favorite, he is known as junior h and he recently gained power in the music scene, the album that I could say is my favorite is called "atrapado en un sueño" which had an average of 87 million listens, his most listened song is "el hijo mayor" with 245 million listens.