An opinion essay

Learn how to write an opinion essay.

Do the preparation task first. Then read the text and tips and do the exercises.

Reading text

Information will soon be so easy to find on the internet that people will not need to remember anything. Do you agree?

Nowadays all the information we could ever need is available online and some people say that means the end of having to learn anything.

It is true that these days everything you want to know is a few clicks away as long as you have internet access. However, not everyone has working internet all the time, for example in certain buildings or remote locations, so we do need to be able to remember information. Moreover, it takes time to look up everything you need to know online, whereas remembering something is immediate. The human memory is a much more efficient system.

Another problem is the quality of the information online. How do we know if it is accurate or reliable? We need to think about other facts we know and remember how to compare information from different websites. Knowing (and remembering) how to find certain information will be more important than knowing the information itself.

Finally, the internet is a good tool but it is not a useful replacement for our brains. If we did not remember anything, we would all spend even more time on our phones and computers than we already do, which is not good for society.

In conclusion, the internet offers us many things but it is still important to use our knowledge and memories. We need our memories to function without the internet and we also need to know how to use the internet properly.

Tips

  1. Read the question carefully. Respond to all ideas in it or all parts of it.
  2. Plan your ideas first and then choose the best ones.
  3. Introduce your essay by restating the question in your own words.
  4. Show understanding of both sides of the argument.
  5. Use linking words to connect your ideas.
  6. Draw your conclusion from the main ideas in your essay. Don't introduce new ideas at the end.
Take your language skills and your career to the next level
Get unlimited access to our self-study courses for only £5.99/month.

Discussion

Download
Worksheet94.48 KB

Language level

Submitted by Suraj paliwal on Tue, 09/11/2021 - 15:12

Permalink

I think it become worse and dangerous for our society. We need to control it makes rules and regulations.

Submitted by OlyLavenir on Mon, 25/10/2021 - 01:43

Permalink

Todays, many people are browsing on the internet to learn or to find informations about something they already knew or not.
First of all, The internet helps people to browse any type of informations their are looking for, however to start searching what you want you have to pay for Data to have connection. Moreover you may have a Smartphone or a Personal Computer to go browse through it.
On the other hand, internet has many advantages. People can save their data Online or something they don't want to forget or loose. Internet has many other tools like online Calendar, but is it while it can replace our brain memory?
To sum up, internet helps people to find information easily, furthermore we have to be aware of those information and be able to distinguish good or bad information. In that case internet cannot replace our memory.

Submitted by Ehsan on Tue, 27/07/2021 - 13:35

Permalink
I think our body, brain and spirit are flexible and need to be challenged to grow. Otherwise they will become weak and will be destroyed. It is better to use the tools and devices invented by man as helpers and assistances, and always challenge ourselves.

Submitted by amit_ck on Thu, 22/07/2021 - 09:05

Permalink
These stars are their role models and watching them on television ENCOURAGES PARTICIPATION IN sporting activities because the young try to emulate the people they admire. Why in this the writer did not use “Them” after “Encourages”. And this sentence could be “Watching them on television encourages THEM PARTICIPATING in sporting activities” if I am not wrong. Why there is noun after Encourage? Could you please give me some examples of this kind of sentences with grammar structure?

Hello amit_ck,

Please note that we don't normally help our users with questions from other sources, as it's challenging enough for us to keep up with all the questions about our own materials.

As you can see in the dictionary, 'encourage' is typically followed by a noun (e.g. 'participation') or a noun + infinitive (e.g. 'them to participate'), not a noun + -ing form (e.g. not 'them participating').

I'm afraid we're not generally able to provide extended explanations of grammar and vocabulary that can be easily found in other online resources.

All the best,

Kirk

The LearnEnglish Team

 

Submitted by Dibesciak on Thu, 22/04/2021 - 16:00

Permalink
Nowadays, all knowledge is available in the internet. Just by searching on my smartphone I am able to find lot of information which I need. Internet for me is amazing tool because I can get useful knowlegde or learn new skill , currently needed. Instead of find information in the books or in the courses , I can get anything I need after few clicks after just take out my smartphone from my pocket. On the other hand, we can not rely only on the internet , Internet never replace human memory. We can learn many things from our parents or in the school which we will not be able to find online or is not reliable as not everything on the internet can be a true. To sum up, internet is very useful and practice tool to find knowledge, but it will never replace human brain and experiences what our parents can passed to us.

Submitted by YED on Tue, 13/04/2021 - 00:52

Permalink
The use of internet can have advantages and disadvantages as far as memory is concerned. First of all with the new IA, we can think it is easier to learn an information and we don t need to remember it , as we can look for it another day on the web. However, we have to remember with our brain how we got the information the previous time. For instance, we have to remember which key word we used , which website were more appropriate . We also have to check if the information is still valid or if it has changed. In conclusion, internet can be a support if it is used properly, But we still need our memory, otherwise we can not rememeber how to use internet .

Submitted by Hennadii on Fri, 11/12/2020 - 11:51

Permalink
I think it's obvious that our life would never be the same as in the old days - the Internet changed it completely. We use it to communicate, get information, do shopping or work and it's great. I'm old enough to remember the days when the Internet became common and spread all around the world. Day by day it became more useful and powerful and now I just can't imagine my life without the World Wide Web. But! We still have to know a lot without the Internet. How to cook, teach, work and of course how to talk to each other in the real life. Virtual life and online knowledge are great helpers but not the equivalent substitution for the human intellect.

Submitted by Beth on Mon, 30/11/2020 - 05:36

Permalink
In my opinion, it is worse for our society, also our health. We need to use our brain in everyday tasks. If we stop using our brain, that means we stop learning, and our brain will degenerate in the future.

Submitted by Yousef05 on Wed, 21/10/2020 - 16:17

Permalink
this was a bit hard but i think it was worth the hard work. People should stop looking at their phones and computers or else u wont become a doctor.

Submitted by cittàutopica on Tue, 20/10/2020 - 18:33

Permalink
It's a question too complex, for this reason it's difficult for me to formulate a satisfying answer. However, my first reply might be "worse".

Submitted by Merna on Mon, 12/10/2020 - 13:08

Permalink
I think if we actually didn’t learn anything and only search, we would eventually stop develop and become like zombies

Submitted by Alexandra kawo on Mon, 12/10/2020 - 13:02

Permalink
It was fun but a little bit hard

Submitted by Ugulhan on Thu, 08/10/2020 - 08:26

Permalink
I think I would say the internet is the result of the development of technology, but it doesn't mean the development of knowledge of the human brain. We live 21 centre, and many of us will use the internet at home or in the workplace. However, this can not be to reinforce the knowledge of the human brain. The human brain is all time more active and forceful than instead of the internet. We can remember our first dress in school and a teacher without researching online materials. This can be proved the capacity of the human brain is the likely more efficient system than internet material. If you work in any subject in science, then you look for the materials which is available online. Let's say you found out the material online but How do we know if it is accurate or reliable? For that, you begin to perceive and analyse and these knowledges you will be memorized in your brain so instead of the internet memory the human brain will be more active.

Submitted by gachatama26 on Tue, 11/08/2020 - 05:41

Permalink
Nowadays, Internet is very essential tool for us. However, I think just using the internet instead of learning something is not good. So, in my opinion, it would be worse. It’s important for us to balance with learning something and using internet. I’ll explain the reason why I think so. Of course, I can understand some good points of Internet. For instance, if we use the Internet, we can gain a lot of information easily and quickly. And we are able to know the thought and knowledge all over the world. Also, we can send information to anyone be internet. It seems to be normal, but it’s not normal. We can do them by just opening our laptop and smart phone. On the other hand, there are some bad points to just using the internet. By using the Internet, although we can get many information, we can’t acquire them as the knowledge. So, we can’t think by ourselves without internet. Also, it’s very difficult to distinguish wrong information. So, trusting the internet too much is dangerous. Conclusion, when we research something by the Internet, we mustn’t finish there. We have to learn it over the over again. So, the most important point is to balance the use of the internet with learning something. If we can do that the Internet will be the most useful tool for us. Shall we review our way of using the internet.

Submitted by SABRINITA on Thu, 23/07/2020 - 14:53

Permalink
Is coronavirus the real monster Coronavirus is a type of virus which cause health problems . It includes: lungs problems, neumonía and neulogical problems. Many of them can be cause death. The virus show up in Wuhan , China in 2019. And it has been here ,with us, since then. As soon as it has appeared , the virus spread its letality all over the world, causing million of deaths .One of the big problem we have with COVID 19 , is that it is very uncontrollable and contagious. That’s why we have a pandemia . Nowaday We can say that China had failed in warning us before the virus has spread its dead in other countries. We can accused them for denied the real problem. We can argument that they has spread the virus because we are in war. I choose to listen the virus instead of get mad at it. What do I listen ? Since the pandemia has started I realized that people tend to behave in several bad ways. There are people who really wants the other get better and there are people who want to destroy everything. In behave of the virus, economical situation get worse. Leaders all over the world has been pushing it community to death. Selfishness, histrionic leaders tend to focus only in his power. Moreover, dictators appeared like fake goddes. They are spreading ignorance and poverty. Meanwhile people are dying of hunger, they are worrying about stupid things. So, when I think about the virus, i think about what kind of message i need to hear from it. And the message i really want to hear is, that is mandatory to be good people. It’s important to stay where the suffering appears. It’s necessary to be human being. To sum up, we need to be more reliable as community. We are alone as society. We don’t need fake leaders. We need us.

Submitted by bloomy on Sun, 19/07/2020 - 21:30

Permalink
Personnaly speaking, I don't think that learning everything from the internet is a good idea, because we can't developp our brains if we don't train them to think and remember . For example , a person that used to depends on the internet to find the solutions of every problem he faced , he would never be able to help his society and he will just copy the things that he found on the internet.

Submitted by OlaIELTS on Tue, 12/05/2020 - 18:45

Permalink
My thought over the question is that human knowledge has to be in use at a time likewise there should be time for usage of internet. It would be worse if we had not learnt anything before embarking on internet usage, however internet only boosts and improves our knowledge more.

Submitted by Reza 2020 on Sat, 09/05/2020 - 13:36

Permalink
It is true that creation of internet has been brought more facilities to human life. I do believe the we can not ignore our efficiency of our brain in initiative matters.

Submitted by Kev on Thu, 23/04/2020 - 08:31

Permalink
Could someone give me their opinion on the essay? Meaning to say, what score would you give me based on the IELTS mark distribution. Q: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world. Since the invention of the internet was to fulfill various tasks, I would rather agree by saying that the internet has had much of a positive impact than a negative one. The internet as we know it is a hub of data from where we can extract information to fulfill our needs from time to time. Whether it be information based on sports, climate change, or the upcoming 2020 presidential elections of the United States, the internet has it all. People have made great use of the internet to voice their opinion and to bring basic amenities to impoverished societies. Moreover, many rights such as the right to education are made a basic amenity since the evolution of the internet. Because of the internet one can go into deep learning of any topic; the internet has mapped every corner of the world and has made life so much easier. For example by introducing online shopping. Now, one can shop for clothes, furniture, even groceries. In addition to that, the internet has helped connect physical objects to various electrical devices, thereby making difficult tasks take place with the push of a button. In conclusion, the internet has helped in the development of cities and countries and has helped in shaping our future and will continue to do so in the future.

Hello Kev

Thanks for your contribution and I hope that you get some feedback from other users. I just wanted to point out that this is not a service that we provide here.

You might want to consider joining the Understanding IELTS - Writing course on FutureLearn. It starts in a few days and could be useful if you're planning on taking the test soon.

All the best

Kirk

The LearnEnglish Team

I'd say your writing level is B2-C2 depending on the time it took to write it and whether you used a dictionary. So I'd expect IELTS 5.5 minimum. The vocabulary shows evidence of C2 and academic common words. The accuracy of the grammar has to be B2, because B1 has many errors. The lowest part of the writing is probably the grammar complexity. Most the grammar complexity is not above B1. Hope that helps.

Submitted by Magedelabd on Thu, 16/04/2020 - 19:44

Permalink
My opinion that using the Internet is very useful and interested to search for information. Because you can find varieties of data and information to read .

Submitted by Rawaha on Mon, 02/03/2020 - 13:16

Permalink
Internet is an added advantage if you used it in a productive way. But addiction is bad. As per the researches conducted in varies universities, excess use of phones and computers lead to a sleep apnea and behaviour changes. If you have the ability to manage it’s use effectively and in a productive way than its supplement you in attaining the required knowledge. Advantages and disadvantages of internet is so many and it depends and varied person to person. I used internet for seeking the things of my personal interest. So many course of leading universities including MIT are available free of cost. Pearls of wisdom are spread. If you cannot chose content wisely than internet is worse thing. Social media sites drag your attention and de focus you.

Submitted by Cristy67 on Sat, 18/01/2020 - 13:54

Permalink
The advantage of having technologies like the Internet nowadays should not take off our strengths as humans. The Internet is a great tool to improve how we function. For example, our basics skills as reading and writing should grow to the next level of analysis and comprehension. Nowadays, information is accessible for most of us and that gives us the responsibility and the advantage to use the resource, to filter the sources and ponder the information in order to share with others our conclusions. Our current interaction with technology advancements always will represent an opportunity to improve or deprive our human status; the Internet is not an exception. The opportunity to get information from the Internet can shape (get fit) in a positive way our minds when we exercise our reading and analysis skills, or it could end shaping our minds in a negative way when we only repeat what others say or choose information according to our mind biases. It is important to work responsibly with the advancements of our time; the Internet offers us a great opportunity to improve our minds. Let's exercise our basics human skills looking to help not only ourselves but also our communities in general.

Submitted by dan on Mon, 08/07/2019 - 06:15

Permalink
First of all, thank you for this helpful courses. We must need to improve our knowledge with classic learning. The internet help us but we must to continue to learn reading, writing like 30 years ago. The school is important because it offers us the membership in society.

Submitted by Eliana Pereira on Thu, 04/04/2019 - 04:04

Permalink
In my opinion, it would be worse if we never learned anything and just used the internet. We have an amazing brain that gives us the capacity to think. If we just used the internet and never used our mind, this will be damaged. We would be wasting the ability to produce knowledge and to think, which is our main characteristic such as humans being. If we used the web to look up everything we need to know, we will be more passive and lazier every day. Moreover, the information online is not always trusty. For instance, it is very common to find fake news and mistaken information on the internet so, we have to be careful and critic when we were searching on the web. Finally, although the internet is an excellent tool, it should be a complement of our own capacity to learn and not a replacement for this.

Submitted by Asaph on Thu, 28/03/2019 - 05:18

Permalink
In order to respond to our reading and use the internet, we need to construct our responses and new ideas. Then, if we want to try taking our learning further we must approach the internet with our new ideas so that we may ask appropriate questions as a means to search for answers and more information. Thus, it is very important we are learning before going to the internet.

Submitted by Azzarine on Thu, 14/03/2019 - 12:03

Permalink
I can't use only the internet to find something I already know. If we didn't know to read, to write, to count, how can we find something on the internet ? No, we have to send kids at school, and they have to learn reading writing and counting, at least, to be good adults.
Reading, writing are very basic things to know- I mean to be literate. Only a literate person can browse internet to be more informative, if necessary. If a person selects a subject or a topic to learn about it he has to read it first in a book and in course of his study if he needs more informations he should go to internet to gather more knowledge- going through different reliable websites. Needless to say, the saddest part of internet is that it is used widely without any sufficient purpose. To use internet properly one must have sufficient ability to run a computer and net surfing ,otherwise one may be trapped in suspicious sites.